Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars130
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2013
Having paid only £5 for the DVD I was expecting only the film to be on the DVD.

You get three bonus features on th DVD which was a pleasant surprise.

These consist of:

"The making of" featurette
Two short cartoons, Clock cleaners and Donalds crime
Sing-along with "the worlds greatest criminal mind"

Basil helps a little girl whose toymaker father has been kidnapped by Rattigan in a plot to overthrow the queen of England. With his trusty assistant Doctor Dawson at his side, it will take his finest detective work ever to locate the toymaker and reunite him with his daughter Olivia.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2007
I remember watching Basil The Great Mouse Detective at the cinema when I was six and absolutely loved it. Now some twenty or so years later I still love it for it's sheer relentless pace of adventure and the true Holmes-like quality it brings to the cartoon world.

Quite simply this is one of the very best Disney films ever and to my mind a very undervalued classic which is extremely enjoyable for children and adults alike. If a sequel is ever made I just hope they can do justice to the original.

My advice is to buy this DVD and see how good it is for yourselves, you won't be disappointed!.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
My kids (3 & 5) think it's great, cannot remember how many times we have seen it.
Animation is somewhat dated when compared to Cars and all the other marvelous Pixar films. What is interesting is the "how they made it" film, it was one of the first animated films to feature computer animation. When you see/hear how they did, you begin to realize how far we have come in the past 30 years...

In summary, good story, great characters (Vincent Price is excellent) and a good 90 minutes of fun for a rainy Sunday afternoon, which we seem to have had plenty of lately.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The 80’s are not known as a great time for Disney animation. And that decade did bring us the worst Disney animated movie of all time. But there are also some fun movies from that time that are often overlooked. One of those is The Great Mouse Detective (rereleased as The Adventures of the Great Mouse Detective. Don’t be confused, it’s the same movie).

As with many Disney movies, this one is based on a book or series of books. Those books follow the adventures of Basil of Baker Street, a mouse who just happens to live at 221 1/2 Baker Street. While I have never read the books, this movie is fun. The connections between Basil and his human neighbor Sherlock Holmes are quite striking, and any fan will be thrilled to notice them all.

The story opens as Dr. David Dawson (voiced by Val Bettin) is trying to find a place to stay after returning to London. He happens to stumble across Olivia Flaversham (Susanne Pollatschek) who is trying to find Basil (Barrie Ingham). Seems that her father, the toymaker Hiram (Alan Young) has been kidnapped.

Basil has no interest in the case until her figures out that Hiram was kidnapped by Professor Ratigan (Vincent Price), his arch nemesis. And Ratigan’s plan is truly evil, involving a plot to kill the mouse queen at her diamond jubilee and take over mousedom. Will Basil track him down in time to stop him?

Just in case there was any doubt about Basil’s inspiration, there are a couple of scenes where he takes the smallest clue and deduces correctly information from it. There’s also a voice cameo by the late Basil Rathbone as the real Sherlock Holmes.

But this movie doesn’t forget that the primary audience is kids, so it features lots of action. The plot follows logically from what came before. It may not be the most complex mystery, but it works for the 75 minute movie. It certainly keeps you entertained as you wonder just how Basil will save the day.

There are three songs here, two of them given to Ratigan. Frankly, those are some of the greatest Disney villain songs. You just can’t help but laugh at them. The song in the bar is also fun.

Yes, you read that right. In their quest to track down Ratigan, Basil and Dawson head to some of the bad parts of London. While that may bother parents with very young kids, I think most everyone will get the implied lesson that this is a part of town you avoid. Besides, apart from some drinking, nothing truly bad is portrayed.

On the other hand, parents might be more concerned with Fidget, the bat sidekick to Ratigan. Both he and Ratigan can be a little frightening. On the other hand, they can also be comic characters. I think most kids will be okay with them, but parents might want to watch it first themselves.

Apart from Vincent Price and Alan Young, I don’t recognize any of the names in the main cast. But everyone is great in bringing these characters to life.

The animation is mostly flat backgrounds and characters. It’s still a few years away from the rebirth that would happen at the end of the decade. But I quickly lose myself in the story and forget about that. The opening shot of the fog in London is pretty impressive. This movie is also notable because it features the first use of computer animation in a full length movie. This happens in the climax as the hand drawn characters interact with computer generate gears. It’s seamless, so you won’t know.

The Great Mouse Detective isn’t the best of Disney animation, but it certainly deserves to be better known than it is. If you’ve missed this movie, track down a copy today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Basil The Great Mouse Detective (the name Basil was omitted for the international release) was one of the first VHS tapes that we owned, and consequently was run around the clock for many years to come. Unfortunately, I missed out on any subsequent DVD release and almost forgot about the film entirely as it is rarely broadcast on TV.

So I was delighted to find out that it had been released on Blu-ray in the U.S, and that it was also region free!

I own about a dozen Disney Blu-rays and this one is up there as one of the most faithful restorations, along with The Little Mermaid. Thankfully, Disney chose not to scrub the film to death or enhance it in any way, so what you're getting is a very filmic presentation with original grain, photographed artefacts and colours. The definition is fantastic! All the details in the background artwork and cel paintings really pop out.

It's a pity that there are virtually no extra features - given the movie was released at a turning point for the studio - but I'm just happy to have the movie in HD for such a good price.

I have no hesitation in recommending it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Excellent blu ray..
Shame Disney UK. Don't supply it.
Another plus side I prefer American boxes slightly thinner. I only want the blu ray not the DVDs. That come with American blu ray. DVDs don't work unless you have a region 1 player. Personally I am replacing all DVDs to blu ray. Where possible.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
This has to be one of my favourite films as a child. I bought this for my two children who seem to be enjoying watching it just as much as i did when i was younger.
I would recommend this film to anyone who has children or who has the "disney bug".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 September 2004
Among the selections of movies in the excellent Sherlock Holmes reference book `Sherlock Holmes on Screen: The Complete Film and TV History' by Alan Barnes is this 1986 Disney concoction that is equal part musical, comedy, thriller, suspense and children's movie. In fact, as Barnes points out, this feature has many more Holmesian elements than many live action movies that happen to have the character Sherlock Holmes among its cast list.
Indeed this clever animated movie owes a great deal to its literary roots and is based on Eve Titus' book `Basil of Baker Street.'
Living underneath the apartment of the famous Sherlock Holmes at 221 Baker Street is a mouse named Basil. Shaped primarily on the Rathbone interpretation of the character, Basil is the most famous detective in all of mousedom and is determined to track down his evil nemesis Prof. Ratigan (wonderfully played with obvious relish by Vincent Price).
Basil's chance comes when he is approached by the daughter of a kidnapped toymaker named Flaversham. Initially uninspired and uninterested in the girls search for her abducted father Basil becomes decidedly more interested when she reveals that one of those responsible is a bat with a peg leg.
The bat is a known as a henchman for Ratigan and soon Basil races off into another adventure to chase down the evil genius.
The animation in the movie is top notch, the songs lively and the humor - well funny, but where this movie falters a little is in pace. I would say it is just a little too long and slower paced than I expected. It's a very satisfying movie certainly, and a `must-own' for Sherlock Holmes fans (Basil Rathbone's voice is even heard in one scene), but there are moments where it seems to drag and other moments where you wish the characters would stop singing and just get on with developing the plot.
Great fun for the kids and people who are still a kid at heart/
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2009
This is a largely forgotten Disney classic. Never seen on television and only bought on DVD on a whim! But my children absolutely love this! It goes on again and again and even I never tire of it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
This film used to scare me silly when I was little, in a thrilling sort of way, so I bought a copy whilst Christmas shopping. It's still fun. It was released during Disney's pre-renaissance era and I can see why it doesn't have mass appeal, it is a little dark and creepy but I thrived on that as a child and still do. Great for children who want something more than the brain dead Disney channel type of fluff being churned out so much at the moment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)