Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most fascinating book on bike racing!!!
this book i could not put down, as every page was filled with great stories on how maria made her male biker rivals look stupid and how they had a chip on thier shoulder by gettin defeated by a female rider!....constantly!! from the isle of man tt to the north west 200(ireland) and to how she achieved an 'MBE' and how her parents disapproved from day one of her...
Published on 9 Dec 2010 by Brendan Heffron

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good read.
Not a bad book, a good insight into the world of motorcycle racing for female racers but the editing is awful!!! No book should have spelling mistakes!
Published 7 months ago by rubbish if it was free awesome


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
Have to say I'm a fan of Maria's career, she's done amazing on the road racing scene. This book is great insight into her life off the roads. She real goes into depth about her struggles in life. I really enjoyed it and look forward to a follow up book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great insight into a talented, committed lady, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
Well done Maria - you are an inspiration to many people, both bikers and members of the public. We need you commentating on MotoGP!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
this book is not only fantastic but it is so inspirational! it shows you the true meaning in a motorcycle rider and also gives you more reason to become a female racer. I wish to follow in Maria's footsteps one day and hopefully I will meet her one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good book enjoyed it very much, a must read if your a bike fan.
Brilliant Maria Costello autobiography about racing life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an inspiration on wheels, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
Maria Costello is an inspiration to anyone who rides bikes, not just girls. Her determination & commitment to her career is something to be admired by everyone. As a female bike rider she is an ideal idol for me and someone who deserves support in her continued racing career and endeavours to encourage girls to enjoy their bike riding and racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For bikers, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
I m not a rider but a follower and found this a good read because I was interested in Maria as a person and the life that she has led. The world of biking from a woman's perspective especially in a world that still has brolly dollies! It is not a work of literary worth but ignore that and it's really interesting and my admiration of Maria and her achievements has definitely increased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
A good insight into the world of motorcycle racing from a female point of view. A frank and honest account of the highs and lows that Maria encounters in a male dominated world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a fascinating read this is!, 28 Jan 2014
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
This is the best book I have read in years and I am not even a fan of motorcycle racing! I'm going to read it again in the next few days! Get it as you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
I read this book in a day, I couldn't put it down. A realistic insight into the ups and downs of the life of a female bike racer. An amazing, inspirational lady both on and off track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended-anyone who has raced at IoM or Uk circuits will identify with it, 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
I know Maria from racing in the same class in '97 and '98 (Honda CB500 cup and Honda Hornet cup) and also from her racing at the Manx grand prix in the same era.
I was always impressed with her ability to bounce back from set backs and her perseverance in seeking recognition/support/sponsorship. The book reveals more about Maria's own inner feelings and self doubt than most would know from spending time with her, and it's this that makes the book such a genuine story that makes you want to keep reading. Despite crashes,injuries and the resulting knocks to confidence (which most racers will recognise) Maria has returned to a sport she clearly loves and developed her talent both on the track and later in encouraging more women riders to track days and circuit riding.
In doing so she shows a deep seated tenacity that we often take for granted in top sports people. Funding and organising racing and machinery in the uk is very difficult if you don't have family in the industry, especially as we seem to have numbers of talented riders coming through the club racing route, and looking for dealer support. Maria shows not only resilience from set backs but an ability to self promote and network that has made her popular and worthy of recognition.
The book has clearly had very little editing, as it reads almost like a diary, but this makes it all the more real and captivating.
Her memory for detail, conversations with fellow racers from decades ago makes this a trip back through the last 15 years national level racing for anyone that had anything to do with BSBK events, Manx or IoM TT's wether on track or as a fan.
Well done on writing it Maria, most people won't ever race a bike, never mind do that and write a published book!
Bring back great memories for me personally, I hope others like it too
Martin Smart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews