Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most fascinating book on bike racing!!!
this book i could not put down, as every page was filled with great stories on how maria made her male biker rivals look stupid and how they had a chip on thier shoulder by gettin defeated by a female rider!....constantly!! from the isle of man tt to the north west 200(ireland) and to how she achieved an 'MBE' and how her parents disapproved from day one of her...
Published on 9 Dec 2010 by Brendan Heffron

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good read.
Not a bad book, a good insight into the world of motorcycle racing for female racers but the editing is awful!!! No book should have spelling mistakes!
Published 10 months ago by rubbish if it was free awesome


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To be honest, I'm no fan in principle of sporting autobiographies..., 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
...but I like this one. Normally they are vapid pieces of self promotion with few redeeming qualities; I'm a huge fan of Valentino Rossi, the GOAT, but his book was frankly not worth what I paid for it! It's true that people knock Maria for not being a female John McGuinness, and a number of other perceived 'crimes', not least her tireless self promotion, which as she herself says in the book is the only thing that brings her the sponsorship that allows her to race!

I also get the distinct impression, since this book doesn't sugar coat anything (although it is all presented from her subjective PoV as you'd expect) that like all driven people, she can be a complete PITA to live with and/or work with sometimes. But still, a good, interesting and credible life story well told!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most fascinating book on bike racing!!!, 9 Dec 2010
By 
this book i could not put down, as every page was filled with great stories on how maria made her male biker rivals look stupid and how they had a chip on thier shoulder by gettin defeated by a female rider!....constantly!! from the isle of man tt to the north west 200(ireland) and to how she achieved an 'MBE' and how her parents disapproved from day one of her motorcycling days.also tells the miracoulous recoverys she made after a serious number of accidents on /off the track, and how unlucky she was in love,a great read from start to finish for anyone interested in motorcycling well done MARIA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 3 Aug 2010
I throughly enjoyed reading Maria's autobiography.

She is an inspiration.
I hope this book encourages a lot more women to get involved in racing, even if it's car's!

No matter how hard Maria gets knocked down.

Whether through crashes, or the general mess of actually getting a competitive team together.

She just brushes herself down and gets on with it, no matter who tries to put her down.

As racing is like that there are idiots around.
Though there are lot more good people who selflessly provide support
and sponsorship.

Maria was awarded her MBE because she is an exemplary example for the sport and a great rolemodel.

So deservedly Maria gets the support of fans and people in the sport, that warrants her reputation.
Which she built up with years of hard graft.

Keep at it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Girl just knew she had to race bikes!, 12 Jan 2014
By 
David Eyre (Heald Lane; Heald Town ; Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
Great story of the shy insecure girl who just knew she had to race Motorcycles. Maria tells her story well and takes you through the trials tribulations and difficulties she had to overcome first to get started at all ,in the face of natural family resistance,and then to begin to live her dream . Injuries setbacks and disappointments mix with the achievements and growing self awareness and confidence and a steely determination Good insight into the personalities along the way and a special relationship with David Jefferies until his sad loss. A good read and hopefully more to come as Maria continues her career!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+++, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
Easy and interesting read, even if you have little or no interest of motorbikes this is an insight of a true female warrior
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very very good, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
Once I started reading I couldn't stop! Enjoyed every page. If you like bikes/racing you will enjoy it make or female A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into motorcycle racing, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
If you want to know the dedication required to be a road racer, read this book! Maria explains what is required - the problems of suitable sponsorship, the broken bones, the highs of the TT and the lows,the attitudes towards female riders in a male dominated sport, its all there. It gives an insight into a lady whose whole life revolves around motorcycling racing.
I was very impressed,its a great read you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Read, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
Bought this on Kindle a couple of days ago and read it in nearly one go, a shift at work interrupted me!
Maria is an interesting and motivated woman, determined to make her way in the still male-dominated world of motorcycle racing. She has fought for her success and deserves it 100%, she has not given in to injury or other obstacles that have appeared along the way.

This book is definitely worth a read and, if like me, you have been a racing fan for many years, it does give a small insight into their world. Particularly touching are Maria's memories of DJ, anyone who saw them at meets could see the true friendship they shared.

I hope Maria continues to inspire young women to race and that she continues to grace the paddock with her smile and experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sporting biographies I've read!, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
One of the best sporting biographies I've read. She tells it as it is, warts and all, and its a great read for that. She makes it plain that its certainly not easy being a bike racer, but I liked her honesty and openess over her failures and weakness as well as her successes. It might be difficult to be a part of Maria's life, but its a very enjoyable book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers (Kindle Edition)
Being new to motorbike riding myself, I found Maria Costello by accident after looking for inspiration on line and what inspiration Maria is!I read Queen of Bikers in one day, following all the ups and downs, highs and lows of Maria's life I could not put it down!
Maria's determination to race and succeed in a mans world and her grit and spirit is a force to be recogned with! Helmets off to her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maria Costello: Queen of the Bikers
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews