Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT !!!!! Very Highly Recommended
Ok, I admit it, I'm in my 60s. But I absolutely love this series.

I was originally put on to watching a couple of episodes on TV by the grandchildren and was hooked from the start.

From the acting to the styling to the direction to the production......(I could go on) in every respect, this programme is top notch. I am a lover of history anyway, but...
Published 24 months ago by Aremess

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Histories
My granddaughter thought these were okay but I think she preferred the histories in jigsaw form though she did ask for the books.
Published 5 months ago by Dodie Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT !!!!! Very Highly Recommended, 11 July 2012
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, I admit it, I'm in my 60s. But I absolutely love this series.

I was originally put on to watching a couple of episodes on TV by the grandchildren and was hooked from the start.

From the acting to the styling to the direction to the production......(I could go on) in every respect, this programme is top notch. I am a lover of history anyway, but if it had been taught in any way as good as this when I was at school, I would have been even more hooked.

How would I score it? - 8/5 (ok, my math is not quite as good as it was)
Recommended? - Absolutely, emphatically YES
Suitable age group? - 6 to 106
Other comments? - Whether you have kids or not, if you have the remotest interest in history, BUY IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing series, 3 Nov 2013
By 
R. Adams "rick1138" (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horrible Histories - Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
If you have never seen horrible histories you need to! Not only is it educational but it is done in a very entertaining and funny way. Perfect for kids and big kids! The Boxset has each series in it's own slimline case and they are housed in a card sleeve which is lovely for anyone wanting the whole collection in one Boxset, like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, 16 July 2012
My kids (7 and 10) absolutely loved this. And it has sent them off to the library to get all the books out to read for more in depth information - and of course the books are also great. The songs in particular are excellent, and the high degree of humor makes it a very bearable watch for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way for children to learn the important points in history, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horrible Histories - Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm looking forward to giving this to my daughter for Christmas, she will love it! It teaches children about history in a fun way. Great box set, the sleeves are thinner than usual so it doesn't take up as much space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 6 Jan 2013
By 
L. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very education but fun and easy watching and learning my daughter loved this will be looking to get further series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great! I learnt so much in a light-hearted way. Brilliant., 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is definitely way better than textbook in terms of introductory History. A great way for adults and kiddies to get acquainted with history I guess? I highly recommend this to any parents and their kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horribly Hysterical, 5 Sep 2012
By 
K. Bywater "On The Razza" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
HI, I'M A SHOUTY FORTY SOMETHING YEAR OLD AND I'D LIKE TO TELL YOU ABOUT HORRIBLE HISTORIES! I was introduced to this series by my 30 something year old brother. History was never this cool or funny!!! The series includes cartoon and live sketches which cover every aspect of history from the Egyptians, Saxons and Vikings right up to the Victorian age. The actors are great and really complement each other. It also includes cameo appearances by Terry Deary who wrote the original books from which these are devised. I hated history at school but this is just the ticket for any kids who hate it as well...the songs are brilliant! In a nutshell, watch it, laugh out loud and learn!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very popular, 3 July 2012
By 
M. Blunn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my grandchildren who visit me and cannot play outside because of the weather! It is very popular even if they have seen it before. The list of all the kings and queens of England is watched and many other episodes are learned and recited with enjoyment. Suitable mainly for children 7 to 12.http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007JG5IIC/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this show, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horrible Histories - Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my son, for Christmas.

Horrible Histories is a brilliant show for children and adults!

Essential viewing!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter laughed all the way through this, and so did I.

2 discs in each series, 3 cases, nicely packaged.

Cheaper to buy as a box set than individually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Horrible Histories - Series 1-5 [DVD]
Horrible Histories - Series 1-5 [DVD] by Steve Connelly (DVD - 2013)
18.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews