Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not like the movie!
When reading this massive work it has to be remembered that Dumas wrote it as a serial for a newspaper (rather like Dickens) so the main plot is dragged up side roads for long stories which eventually have a relevance to the main action. This version is an American translation from the French and when reading about France in the early 19th century one is sometimes...
Published 19 months ago by Myrtle

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An epic - in other words too long
There are sections of this that are fascinating and absorbing, described in illustrative detail. The whole section where Dantes is imprisoned sets the scene so well. But then Dumas just seems to take his foot off the gas and the next 10,000 pages limp past in such slow, over egged detail that the whole book just becomes an endurance. Knowing that his revenge must come...
Published 16 months ago by David Nugent


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An epic - in other words too long, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete) (Kindle Edition)
There are sections of this that are fascinating and absorbing, described in illustrative detail. The whole section where Dantes is imprisoned sets the scene so well. But then Dumas just seems to take his foot off the gas and the next 10,000 pages limp past in such slow, over egged detail that the whole book just becomes an endurance. Knowing that his revenge must come does keep you reading, but by the time it does the initial injustice seems so long ago that it doesn't seem to matter any more and your mind will instead have wandered onto what you'll be having for dinner tomorrow. Cut this book down by at least half and it might do itself justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not like the movie!, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete) (Kindle Edition)
When reading this massive work it has to be remembered that Dumas wrote it as a serial for a newspaper (rather like Dickens) so the main plot is dragged up side roads for long stories which eventually have a relevance to the main action. This version is an American translation from the French and when reading about France in the early 19th century one is sometimes surprised by modern idioms. However, it takes nothing away from this great story which has been made the subject of more than one film, non of which come near to reflecting the actual book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read spoiled., 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete) (Kindle Edition)
The story is obviously very good, but the presentation is not. Firstly there is a lot of american spelling which completely ruins the pleasure normally obtained, and then there is the punctuation whichis not up to scratch. Speech indicators in particular are badly handled so that it is sometimes difficult to decide which person has "spoken".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant writing, 26 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete) (Kindle Edition)
After having watched the movie years ago, I decided to read the book to find that the movie does not do it justice. The book is written in an amazing English that completely divulges the readers interest! It is amazing how the sub plots intertwine to the main story and how the author has managed to keep the readers in the dark from the protagonists strategies! For anyone who likes classic novels and would certainly recommend this book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very hard book, 29 May 2015
This review is from: The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete) (Kindle Edition)
I think that this book starts off quite easily but by the 5th chapter it gets pretty hard. It changes from one person to another which is very confusing. I'm only 9 but (if I must say so) a very experienced reader. This book was just too much for me. I'd recommend it for around 10 - 16 age readers. Also the language was quite hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Good Plot, Badly Dragged Out, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete) (Kindle Edition)
The first quarter of this novel is brilliant. The conversations are a bit long at times, but overall the pace is masterly done, the plot has everything that a great adventure ought to - I was impressed and I thought I'd actually found a classic that was deserving of being a classic.

Then, the author changes tack. The protagonist Dante is featured from a distance as the Counte, through the eyes of an uninteresting character; the pace and gripping events vanish; pointless conversation dominates the pages between needless characters. Frankly it becomes awful.

This book was written in installments for newspaper publication, which might explain why everything is drawn out ridiculously - but it could have been done so much better. What was a great story becomes torturous. I gave up and saved those hours.

The first 25% is classic writing, and it is that which must have made the name of this book. Overall it isn't a well written novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete) (Kindle Edition)
Although this is an old classic book I have seen the film but never read the book - what a mistake as I couldn't put the book down even though it is very lengthy - The twists in the story and the intertwining of the various characters, plots and sub plots were magnificent.

Highly recommended if you haven't read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this story as a child (I am 62) and ..., 20 April 2015
By 
SandraPlitt (Colchester Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this story as a child (I am 62) and I have to admit I am still as enthralled by this as I was then.. It was a hardback copy in my schools` library and this one I had to fork out the very princely sum of.. wait for it!!!!! 49p OUCH!! 49P For one of the greatest prison break stories ever told, I FULLY recommend this ebook!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Much too long, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete) (Kindle Edition)
I've been wanting to read this classic for a while so ordered this version. I didn't realise it was the full version. After reading it for several weeks and still not even reaching half way through, I'm afraid I gave up. There are other versions out there that are shorter, wish I'd have bought one of those instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SLOW START BUT STICK WITH IT!, 23 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete) (Kindle Edition)
I think The Count Of Monte Cristo is very slow to start, lots of romantic scene setting, a bit like what I imagine a Mills and Boone book is. But if you stick with it the story spreads out like a smorgasbord of adventure, intrigue, betrayal and revenge. A scintillating, exciting and surprising book - unputdownable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Count Of Monte Cristo (Complete)
£0.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews