Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly clever & complex sci-si / cop show fusion.
In season two we re-join future cop Kiera Cameron as she continues to track down the `Liber8' group of future terrorists. She is, of course, still backed up by her increasingly confused police partner Detective Carlos and the geeky sidekick Alec.

This season, however, is not just more of the same - there is a depth and cleverness to the writing and plot that...
Published 5 months ago by Willy Eckerslike

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed after series 1
After really enjoying the first series I was looking forward to seeing series 2. I was rather disappointed and felt that the intriguing back story of the first series had been sidelined and it had degenerated into predictable good guys vs bad guys. I got bored before the end.
Published 2 months ago by Bad Golfer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly clever & complex sci-si / cop show fusion., 14 July 2014
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Continuum - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In season two we re-join future cop Kiera Cameron as she continues to track down the `Liber8' group of future terrorists. She is, of course, still backed up by her increasingly confused police partner Detective Carlos and the geeky sidekick Alec.

This season, however, is not just more of the same - there is a depth and cleverness to the writing and plot that were only hinted at in season one. Alec has thankfully moved out of his parent's barn so his rite of passage sub-plot is an enjoyable, though occasionally improbable, diversion. The Liber8 group are fracturing through internal squabbles, the splendid Kellog continues to manipulate the future in his own witty inimitable style, the Julian / Theseus thread expands satisfyingly while the mysterious Escher plays his own enigmatic game and who or what are the Freelancers?

The whole season is overall more coherent than the first with a deep underlying sub-plot centring on the whole reason for it all - who helped the Liber8 group to go back in time in the first place and why and was anything else that happened an accident?

One slight annoyance is the 2.0 stereo soundtrack - there's absolutely no excuse for that in this day and age. That notwithstanding, from its seemingly formulaic sci-fi / cop show fusion inception, Continuum has matured into a surprisingly clever, engrossing, complex and highly watchable show and roll on season three - hopefully we won't have to wait too long for a UK release as it premiered in March 2014 in the US. Hopefully, the wardrobe budget will be higher and they can give Kiera a choice of a few raincoats rather than that ghastly green thing she wears all of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best SF on TV, 14 April 2014
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Continuum - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I picked up Season 1 last year on a whim and enjoyed it a lot, so much so that I watched it again just before Season 2 arrived which I then watched (all 13 episodes) in a couple of days and enjoyed it at least as much.

The premise is superficially simple. A group of terrorists in 2077 are about to be executed but somehow escape to the present (2012) dragging along a Protector (cop) with them. Their intent is to change the past so that their future never materialises. The cop wants to stop them and get back to her own time and her husband and son.

The execution is far from simple. Our hero Kiera befriends Alec a teenage genius (who will become very powerful by her time), gets in with the local cops and partners up with good looking cop Carlos. Villains do villainous ruthless things except they think they're heroes and the problem is that they actually might be.

There's a flashforward at the beginning of each episode which gradually reveals more and more about Kiera's world which starts to look more and more like a dystopia run by and for the benefit of mega-corporations. It soon becomes apparent that Kiera was set up to go back in time, possibly by the old Alec.

The more the series goes on, the more devious it becomes. The bad guys turn on each other. Not everyone is what they seem. Not every thing is what it seems. Is Kiera there to stop the bad guys (Liber8) from preventing the future to happen as it did which does not seem to be a good thing? In which case she actually may be the villain. Or is everything pre-determined? And then, towards the end of Season 2, we get the appearance of a third party with a different agenda that suggests a different possibility.

Basically this is really good intelligent,well thought out TV science fiction. There's plenty of action, plenty of character beats, more mysteries than you can count, and it's really impossible to predict what's going to happen next as revelation piles on revelation. In at least one case -mild spoiler warning- a man who is accused of murdering millions, and actually has done that, but the situation is far from what the viewer has been led to believe.

How this series is going to end: the three possibilities.

The scenario which annoys me the most: the closed loop. Everything is self-contained. The future dictates the past which makes the future possible. See also: Dr.Who-Blink, Robert Heinlein's "All You Zombies". I absolutely hate closed loop stories because they depend on there not being a first cause which makes them logically impossible. It also makes the series totally pointless and if the series ends this way, fans will burn down the studio. I think it's the least likely option but I could be wrong.

The past is changed, therefore the future is changed. The fun with this scenario is how the future is (being) changed. It makes everything open-ended.

Changing the past does not change the future. It creates a new world with a different future; in other words, the alternate world shtick. This possibility is hinted at near the end of Season 2.

I think that whatever happens, whichever of these three happens, Kiera will end up being re-united with her son and, possibly, her husband.

I also happen to think that time travel is one of science fiction's most stupid tropes because on any logical level it doesn't make sense. Unless you accept that travelling to the past automatically creates a new alternate world. I'm not saying it doesn't make for entertaining and thought provoking stories because it most certainly does, as does the parallel/alternate world concept.

Anyway, Series 3 will be on Sky later this year and I'll be glued to it. Unless, of course, the past is changed and the show was never given the green light in the first place and you never read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DVD SHOULD BE GREAT! Piossible Spoiler!, 16 May 2013
By 
Gary E. Barnett "BLUES FOREVER" (SUGAR LOAF, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been watching, so far, the first four episodes of this series in the States and I'm even happier with this series than I was with the first one. More intrigue, faster pacing, increasingly complex storyline...I sincerely hope a third and fourth series will be coming! If you don't know series one, start there and sign up to be notified for series 2 asap if you love what you see. Plenty of surprises await you in this one. Less moaning about getting back to her future home, and Alec is becoming quite the cypher as his role in her future and the present are beginning to be revealed.

Buying both DVDs is a no-brainer for me. But I am a time travel conundrum freak to start with, so may I say that the characters are gaining depth, the show is more drama so far than sic-fi, for those hesitant to invest in that genre. Take the plunge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concentrate, here comes the science fiction bit., 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Continuum - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 2 continues the premise of a time-travelling cop after time-travelling terrorists, but things get much more complicated, and even more morally ambiguous. More factions get involved, potential paradoxes occur, the present starts to become the feared future, and the future begins to influence the present. The season ends on a cliffhanger, but there is a season 3.

It’s still snappy and sharp. Don’t leave too long between episodes, as this is definitely not a “crime of the week” series, but has a strong, and complicated, arc. Concentrate, here comes the science fiction bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Ben (Broughton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Continuum - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Continuum is a great show, with strong drama dialogue and intrigue with a sci-fi back drop. Bring on Season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy SF, 23 Jun 2014
By 
A. J. Riley (Tyldesley, Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Continuum - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes something comes along that exceeds expectations, and Continuum is one such series. It's classy and intelligent SF and holds up well for its first two seasons. Let's hope that continues into Season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm enjoying this series, 23 May 2014
By 
J. Hanika (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Continuum - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Rachel Nichols brings a lot of emotion to the part, which you don't often get with TV SyFi. Series two takes a bold move in Keira's journey, and we learn a lot about how or maybe why she ended up in the past. PLenty of twists and turns, some a little complex, but maybe that will come clear in Series three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Rate Sci-Fi/ Thriller material, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Continuum - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The plot and synopsis has been outlined by others, so I won't revisit that, accept to agree it works well. Rachel Nicholls has been a revelation in the leading role of this thrilling sci-fi series. All the acting even that of, in series 2, Rachel's previously wooden sidekick, Carlos, is excellent - the plot, though somewhat convoluted, is intriguing and there are no simple answers here, no absolutes of good and bad. Something Rachel's charachter, Keira Cameron, is just beginning to grasp - roll on Series 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 18 Aug 2014
By 
frances (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Continuum - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant show. Watched the whole season in a weekend. Bring on Season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this scyfi hokum!, 13 May 2014
By 
1602_cat (Edinburgh. Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Continuum - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Watched series one last year and really liked it. It's part time travel, part cop show with well developed and believable
characters. I would like to see more of the future story but we are treated to regular flash forwards(like a flashback but in the future. Get it!?!) Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Continuum - Season 2 [DVD]
Continuum - Season 2 [DVD] by Rachel Nichols (DVD - 2014)
£10.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews