Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A definite change for Avenged Sevenfold
Avenged Sevenfold's influence passed through my music taste a few years ago, but still I find myself intrigued whenever they bring out new material, so, around once a year I still put a new Avenged Sevenfold on the speakers and see whats new.

The first notable thing is that this is the first album where Jimmy 'The Rev' Sullivan's influence is no where; he was...
Published 22 months ago by Helix

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, just not great
Like many other people have already mentioned, this album sounds more like a mis-matched collection of tributes to their heroes, rather than a single piece of work by the band.

When you compare this album to their previous output, I'm sorry to say (in my opinion), it doesn't come close. No tracks really jumped out of the speakers and gripped me, and after 3 or...
Published 22 months ago by thetincanman


‹ Previous | 114 15 1619 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail To The King (Audio CD)
Great new album glad I got the ltd edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail To The King (Audio CD)
Awesome album couldn't be better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail To The King (Audio CD)
Excellent album brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail To The King [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Came on time and perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New style, great outcome., 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail To The King (Audio CD)
Avenged Sevenfold's main intention for Hail to the King was to make it sound more simplistic, but heavier at the same time compared to earlier work such as City of Evil and Waking The Fallen. They listened to music of those who inspire them, "Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath" and obviously more rock/metal gods. They used that and applied it to what A7X are commonly used to writing and performing. You could hear sounds of self-titled Metallica and even GnR from their Appetite days when listening to this album. Personally, Planets is the track that stands out, it would've been great to close the album with that. Matt's vocals are stronger than ever, the riffs/solos are still powerful and innovative and Arin was excellent in following the direction they planned the album to sound. What comes with the deluxe version is bonus track "St. James", described by Avenged Sevenfold as the light to "So Far Away's" dark and a celebration of Jimmy "The Rev" Sullivan's life. You could say this track is closest to the A7X we're all used to hearing. 4.5/5 or 9/10, I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 10 Sept. 2014
By 
Mrs. L. J. Foden-bonnar "Lyndy" (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail To The King (Audio CD)
Some really good songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull is an understatement, 7 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Hail To The King (Audio CD)
So you liked Avenged Sevenfold's previous intelligent, unique and energetic albums, and want more? Well, you've come to the wrong place. This album is the most awful disappointment an Avenged Sevenfold fan could expect from a new release.

Prior to Hail To The King, Avenged Sevenfold's music was thoughtful, technical and really quite progressive within its genre. Here, however, we have none of that whatsoever. Listening to the word 'boring' repeated for a boring 60 minutes in a boring monotone voice would be less boring than the songs on Hail To The King. There is not a shred of Avenged Sevenfold's innovative edge here - instead we are treated to the most boring riffs from Metallica's 'discard' pile, dull song structures a la Justin Bieber, and, every now and then, a helping of Synyster Gates recycling his old solos. Every now and then they try and do something different, such as the choral Latin intro of Reqiuem, but it just comes across as so awfully cliche it is embarrassing, it almost sounds as if they're parodying themselves.

If you can find anything of interest on this album, I applaud you. I for one could not. As I am writing this I am listening to Save Me from Nightmare, a song into which Avenged Sevenfold managed to fit more material of any worth than if they wrote another 1000 'Hail To The King's. I am hoping this is nothing more than a lull in Avenged Sevenfold's otherwise shining discography, but it seems with Nightmare they have peaked. Perhaps it is the absence of the song-writing genius The Rev, perhaps they just got lazy. Either way, this album is dreadful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail To The King (Audio CD)
Fantastic album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail To The King (Audio CD)
Pleased with CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail To The King (Audio CD)
Another triumph
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1619 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hail to the King
Hail to the King by Avenged Sevenfold
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews