Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cult Classic
I'll get this out of the way immediately, this is not a film that will appeal to everyone. It is what could be only described as a 'marmite' film. Some will adore its comic irreverence, and some will quite frankly 'not get it'. To me personally this is my favourite comedy of all time, and quite possibly my favourite film in general. I will attempt to not use any of the...
Published on 17 April 2006 by Daniel Mathews

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars beware
Wouldn't run. Repeated the first 8 seconds over and over. I asked for a refund, which I got, but only after they said this:
"You can cancel Amazon Instant Video orders from Your Account within fourteen days of purchase, only if you have not streamed or downloaded the video. Otherwise, Amazon Instant Video orders are not returnable after purchase. We provide this...
Published 10 days ago by Louis Rogers


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cult Classic, 17 April 2006
By 
I'll get this out of the way immediately, this is not a film that will appeal to everyone. It is what could be only described as a 'marmite' film. Some will adore its comic irreverence, and some will quite frankly 'not get it'. To me personally this is my favourite comedy of all time, and quite possibly my favourite film in general. I will attempt to not use any of the classic quotations from this film as it will spoil the brilliance of hearing them for the first time.

The story is set in a sexist news studio in San Diego, America. The lead anchor Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) falls for a woman at a party, and she incredibly, to Ron, rejects his not so subtle advances. The next day that very woman, Veronica Corningstone is appointed as a journalist in their very newsroom. Cue brilliant pick-up attempts, witty one liners, emotional breakdowns and scenes that don't leave the mind for weeks. Brick is the lovable fool, who interrupts with odd - yet hilarious - lines at random parts of the movie, he is the weatherman. The sports commentator Champ Kind, is a more roguish persona, who suffers a mental breakdown after Ron decides to go on a date with Veronica instead of attending their monthly pancake breakfast. Yes it's that irrelevant. Bryan Fantana is the 'man on the scene' and is the typical ladies man. All the acting in this film deserves to be noted, they all convey the different personalities of the charchters superbly and somehow without laughing.

All in all I thoroughly recommend this film to anyone with an irrelevant humour or in need of something up-lifting, which this film oddly fulfils. A cult classic in the form of Zoolander. Do watch out for the battle scene and a cameo from Jack Black. Pure comic brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ferrells best, 6 Jun 2007
ultimately my favorite ferrel film. The jokes are exactly spot on for the level of humour that you expect from one of his films. The character of ron burgendy is genius as he plods along through life trying to retain his role as the best of the best in a world that is trying to change. equality in the work place is not his idea of progression or that of his best friends, a mixed up bunch of odd balls that follow ron down a path of hilarious childish antics all aimed at one thing...The dreaded woman co-anchor. His friends are extremely funny in there own right not just a bolster for the male lead. All of the characters are sweet deep in there gooey centre and the whole message of false male brovado for brovado's sake is lovingly displayed through the solid friendship that the men have for each other.

The female rival is no victim though and gives as good as she gets which makes this film a true battle of the sexes rather than an ultimate chauvinist fest..if anyhing the exact opposite is true.

I laughed the whole way through sometimes in tears at the characterisations and will never part with this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's made with bits of real panther so you know it's good...., 6 Mar 2007
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Anchorman is one of the funniest films ever to come out of the States. Will Ferrell plays the obnoxious Ron Burgundy, an egocentrical prime time news anchorman who is horrified to learn he is to be partnered with a female co-anchor. Burgundy struggles to come to terms with his feelings for the lovely Veronica Corningstone whilst at the same time philosophising with his demented channel 4 news team buddies and avoiding the scheming evening news team.

Anchorman is Ferrell at his very best, with bonkers improvised script ('i'll punch you in the ovaries) and surreal, meaningless conversation ('i love lamp'). Add bad 70's wigs and moustaches, dog homicide and a gladiatorial street battle with rival news teams and you have the funniest film in years.

Like this? Try: Old School
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANCHORMAN = GENIUS, 27 April 2005
By A Customer
This film is by far the best since Smokey and the Bandit 2. Will Ferrell is the new and improved Jim Carrey (although they've probably been around the same amount of time).
"Ron Burgundy has a voice that could make a Wolverine purr and suits so fine he makes Sinatara look like a hobo!" The film is filled with brilliant and quotable material such as "I have many leather bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany" - That's a chat up line from the legendary news anchor!
Best character in the film has to be "Channel 4's man on the street" Brian Fantana! Brian has a wonderful array of aftershaves which prompts RB to ask - "What cologne you gonna go with? No wait, let me guess - London Gentlemen or blackbeards delight?"
I love this film so much it gets better everytime you watch it. How many people do you know that can read the news AND play Jazz flute???
If you like this, you'll also enjoy the best of Saturday night live with Will Ferrell. Hilarity guarenteed.
I'll leave you with this - "I WANNA BE ON YOU!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars beware, 18 Dec 2014
Wouldn't run. Repeated the first 8 seconds over and over. I asked for a refund, which I got, but only after they said this:
"You can cancel Amazon Instant Video orders from Your Account within fourteen days of purchase, only if you have not streamed or downloaded the video. Otherwise, Amazon Instant Video orders are not returnable after purchase. We provide this information at the time of purchase and in the Amazon Instant Video Terms of Use (http://www.amazon.co.uk/dv/tou). 

However, because of the circumstances, I've made an exception and issued a refund"

Damn right you made an exception amazon, you sold me a dud. I wouldn't tolerate it in the real world, why should you get to imply you have done me a favour by refunding my money because I attempted to stream online and your fine print says in magic amazon land the constitutes successful viewing? And that, ladies and gentlemen, is why I will not be paying for Amazon prime. Free trial cant end soon enough.

Thank you.
Merry Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so stupid, 15 Feb 2005
By 
but in an excellent way. the anti feminist plot is asking for hilarity. i thought this was the funniest movie in the last 10 years. after dumb and dumber. it is filled with lovable characters like brick. steve (bruce almighty) carell. the most random bloke you will ever witness. he is the funniest character by far but what makes the film so good is that will ferrell plays an excellent part of a big headed anchorman. even baxter the dog is brilliant. this film is sheer class and i will watch it again and again. the cheesy one liners, the street fights, and the slapstick humour is all i would want in pure comedy. well worth the money i paid for the cinema. the cameos from ben stiller, luke wilson, vince vaughn, tim robbins and jack black made it even more worth while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this film, 4 Jun 2006
I watched this at the cinema a few days after watching Dodgeball and was originally disappointed by it in comparison.

However after buying it on dvd and re-watching it, over and over again (far more times than my Dodgeball dvd) I've realised what a real gem of film this is.

The script, characters and everything else in this movie is brilliant, and as mentioned earlier this film is soooo wacthable especially considering the amount of subtle jokes, background activities and cameos.

The extras on the disc are equally as funny and the commentary is hilarious.

Buy this film, if you don't like it the first time round give it a second chance before bad-mouthing it.

:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'd rather eat my own eyeballs, 5 July 2014
This review is from: Anchorman - The Legend Of Ron Burgundy [DVD] (DVD)
Thankfully bought this online so at least it's not in my dvd collection. Along with Office Space and Dodgeball, the worst films you could have force your brain to endure. Please don't waste 90 mins of your life watching this. On the other hand, if you find Mrs Brown's Boys funny you will probably love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY good loopy character comedy, 30 Aug 2010
Re-watching this film is a far funnier experience for me, since the first time around, at the beginning of the heyday of this kind of movie, I didn't quite 'get it'. Now, after having adjusted to the quirky nature of the 'Pineapple Express' and 'Zack and Miri Make A Porno' new generation of comedy which is all about bizarre characters pushing the taste boundaries with bizarre and funny behaviour and dialogue, I finally get it, and so viewing 2 was hilarious. Ron Burgundy is a terrific creation into which Ferrell pours his heart and soul, giving a performance of tremendous effort and humour. All of the cast work similarly hard, but Ferrell's scotch loving, dog infatuated chauvinist is a fully rounded walking creation, as sweetly befuddled and charming as he is monstrously egotistical and childish. Great laughs are wrung from the vastly inappropriate behaviour of him and his peers in the male dominated 'playground' of the '70s newsroom.
A sense of unreality pervades the whole film, with Newsreader Gang-on-gang violence a daily event, and Fred Willard's studio head trying to cope with a son who seems to be trying to go postal on half of San-Francisco in an amusing off-screen running joke.
Paul Rudd is very funny and the butt of one fantastic aftershave gag, and Steve Carrell is great as the man-child weatherman who blindly follows everyone else due to an almost brain-dead but sweet lack of IQ.
But this is Ferrell and Christina Applegate's film, and she gives an amazingly sassy performance as a newswoman fighting to be a national station 'anchor', and giving as good as she gets in many astoundingly barbed comedy lines and even a few crazy punch-up scenes. Much of the dialogue goes WAY beyond what you're expecting its boundaries to be in an attempt to shock, and many of the laughs come from the leads saying things that are so far over the boundary of unacceptable that you gape somewhere inbetween laughing and astonishment, but luckily it's all framed within a scenario of such absurdity that it's clear it's not meant to be taken seriously or offensively, since nothing else is meant to be taken seriously either.
The plot is also unexpectedly sweet at times, and you can't help rooting for even the villains of the piece. It's a great effort in screenwriting, which is funny, endearing, ludicrous, fantastical in the most bizarre way, and heart-warming.
"You stay classy, San Francisco." "And thanks for dropping by."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly What You'd Expect, 2 Aug 2007
Will Ferrell heads up another silly comedy, with many of the jokes in the same weird vein as films like Dodgeball and Zoolander, with as many zany catchphrases, perfect for a t-shirt or to fire off at a friend once in a while.

While it's not the most intelligent comedy in the world, it never fails to make me laugh, although it's the kind of guilty chuckle normally associated with dirty jokes overheard in the office.

The cast are all spot-on, with Steve Carell really stealing the show with his mentally challenged weatherman character and Fred Willard acting every inch the flustered manager. Christina Applegate, too, captures the indignant feminism of the up-and-coming 1970s career woman, used to having to break down barriers of chauvinism at every turn.

It's one of those films you can watch over and over again, too, but it only gets the 4 stars because I need to be on the floor laughing to give anything 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anchorman - The Legend Of Ron Burgundy [DVD]
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews