Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howard Kendall
Excellent biography. Covers all the periods I remember. A must for all blue boys of a certain age. COYB and again COYB
Published 9 months ago by Mr Peter J Bond

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars superficial
As a factual account of Howard Kendall's career as footballer and Manager this is a good read but i found the book too vague and superficial to be able to give it more than 3 stars.At the end the man remains an enigma and i didn't feel i knew him any better than at the start, it left me with the feeling of only getting half of a story. Certain things are alluded to but...
Published 8 months ago by norton57


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars superficial, 16 Dec 2013
As a factual account of Howard Kendall's career as footballer and Manager this is a good read but i found the book too vague and superficial to be able to give it more than 3 stars.At the end the man remains an enigma and i didn't feel i knew him any better than at the start, it left me with the feeling of only getting half of a story. Certain things are alluded to but never explained, 'i know i wasn't perfect'?Howard Kendall remains a legend on Merseyside and a book about his life and achievements is a worthy subject of interest but with more balance and depth than was evident here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howard Kendall, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent biography. Covers all the periods I remember. A must for all blue boys of a certain age. COYB and again COYB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insightful read, 19 Sep 2013
By 
Cm Williamson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Affairs and Marriage: My Life in Football (Kindle Edition)
Reading through this brought back loads of brilliant memories of the football I remember as a yoof. When players would ride tackles without diving, a match day squad was 12 players, when Everton won the league using only 15 players or so all season, and money didn't rule the game and ensure the best bank account won the league each season, while paying people an obscene amount of money to be good at a hobby. ANY team had a chance of having a good season. Ohhhh what Sky have done to ruin the beautiful game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Filling in the blanks!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Affairs and Marriage: My Life in Football (Kindle Edition)
Thanks Howard for a great read. Your passion for our club shines through and as Bally said "once you are touched by Everton you are touched for life" is the reason why we love the club so much. Thanks for filling in the blanks for us supporters such as Andy Grays departure and Gary Speeds 'true' reason for leaving. But a massive Thanks to you for gracing the Goodison turf with your superb professionalism and then transforming the club into as the great Cloughie said "a team with the potential to be a major European football giant for many years to come"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Everton, 25 April 2014
This review is from: Love Affairs and Marriage: My Life in Football (Kindle Edition)
As an Everton supporter I guess I never wanted it to end but I just felt that I wanted more depth to each season, more passion in the read from Howard, started really well but got a bit shallow during Evertons glory years in my opinion considering he was our most successful manager
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and clear, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Affairs and Marriage: My Life in Football (Kindle Edition)
The story of a football man, told with clarity and honesty. Kendall is revealed as a thoughtful, intelligent, strong, fallible man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Affairs and Marriage: My Life in Football (Kindle Edition)
Good book to read, easy to read and the way that Howard Kendall describes his life in football was a pleasure to read about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars football, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Affairs and Marriage: My Life in Football (Kindle Edition)
book not as good as I wanted it to be . nothing in the book to excite you .just another run if the mill football book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Howard Kendall What A Life In Football, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Affairs and Marriage: My Life in Football (Kindle Edition)
I already own a previous autobiography on Howard, and this is an excellent addition. Truly a great player, and manager, and totally devoted to Everton as the title no doubt describes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hero of Harvey, Ball, Kendall, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, full story, well written and will be loved by all Evertonians, especially those who adored the three best mid-fielders ever to wear a blue shirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews