Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE reference work for brewing from scratch.
Some people are content to brew with other people's recipes. For those that are not, this book represents a breakthrough, not only in brewing how-to manuals, but in the whole spectrum of manuals on creating things to ingest. This is not a beer cookbook, id est: pick one of these that looks good, buy these ingredients, mix like so, cook like so... This book takes...
Published on 6 May 1998

versus
38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book
First off, it should be pointed out that this book is concerned with creating recipes. It is not an introduction to home brewing and doesn't have any information on technique. If you're looking for an introduction to brewing, or an introduction to full mash brewing then John Palmer's book, How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time, is...
Published on 19 May 2009 by L. Wall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book, 19 May 2009
By 
L. Wall (Oxford, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First off, it should be pointed out that this book is concerned with creating recipes. It is not an introduction to home brewing and doesn't have any information on technique. If you're looking for an introduction to brewing, or an introduction to full mash brewing then John Palmer's book, How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time, is excellent, and also free on the web.

This book is split in to two parts. The first part, which accounts for about a third of the book deals with brewing calculations. Things like how to estimate your mash efficiency, hitting your target OG, and calculations for minerals additions to your water.

This section is quite good. Some of the material is covered in other sources, for example John Palmer's book, but not all of it.

In part two, each chapter covers a beer style, and there are 14 chapters in total. (Some chapters sneak a couple of related styles in.) The styles covered are mostly British and German. Within each chapter there is a historical overview of the style, some discussion of where the style is now, and lots of statistics. The stats are things like how much of a given grain or hop is used on average in commercial examples of a style, and in beers which have made it to the second round in NHC beer competitions.

Part two is useful if you want to brew closely to style or for competitions, but I don't often use it. I'll try to explain why with an example. On the page 165 there is a table of the incidence and proportion of specialty Malts used in NHC second-round pale ales. In the table we see (among other things) that almost all of them use crystal malt, at up to about 20% of the grain bill but at an average of 8%. A few used Munich malt, but most didn't. Well, that's great to know, but what are we going to do with that information? Probably we'll use around 8% crystal in our pale ales, and leave Munich malt out. This is my problem, despite the book's title there is not really a lot here about designing recipes, it really just guides you towards the style average. I'm sure "average pale ale" is perfectly nice and will do very well in competition, but it's just not what I usually want to brew!

In summary, if you want a book which will help you brew some major styles closely, then this is the book for you, but when you want to go a little off-piste there isn't much here to help you. That said, there is an impressive amount of information in there, and even though I only consult it once in a while I'm glad it's there on my shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE reference work for brewing from scratch., 6 May 1998
By A Customer
Some people are content to brew with other people's recipes. For those that are not, this book represents a breakthrough, not only in brewing how-to manuals, but in the whole spectrum of manuals on creating things to ingest. This is not a beer cookbook, id est: pick one of these that looks good, buy these ingredients, mix like so, cook like so... This book takes the process one step farther: what do you want to brew? this is typically how that style is brewed. this is what is typically in that style of beer....and the general instructions necessary to create the recipe for the beer you want, with all sorts of reference information to help the brewer achieve that goal... A reasonable understanding of brewing is a pre-requisite. This book is for creating beers with particular characteristics with regard to the brewer's particular process. If there are any shortcomings, it would be that certain common styles, such as German Dark Lagers, Belgian Trappist Ales, are not addressed. But the design process laid out allows a brewer, even without the benefit of anything more that basic parameters, to make a beer that will approach those parameters. I own or have read several texts on homebrewing, this is the only book to which I refer when I set out to brew a batch of beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comprehensive book!, 16 Oct. 2007
By 
K. Møller (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A phenomenal book for designing your own all grain recipes. Very easy to read as you can read just the chapter you need for brewing a specific type of beer and get some useful hints. Also it is highly recommended for European readers as the metric system is consequently used thorough the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much use of American homebrewer statistics, 8 Nov. 2008
By 
L. G. Howarth "Les Howarth" (Saffron Walden, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent book with much useful content and advice. However, it is let down in my opinion by the significant use of statistics from the American Homebrewers Association competitions. I am sure that AHA members brew some fantastic beers but are the ingredients they use in brews aimed at winning competitions really a reliable indication of what defines any given beer style? For example, in the discussion of ingredients used in English Pale Ales Table 16.10 shows that commercial brewers almost always use English hops with Goldings, Fuggles and Challenger dominating as might be expected. However, the statistics shown in Table 16.11 show that AHA members tended to use Goldings, Cascade or Fuggles in that order. The distinctive American Cascade doesn't get a mention in table 16.10 while Challenger isn't used at all in Table 16.11! This tendency to refer to AHA statistics renders a large part of this book irrelevent to me which is a great shame because the rest of the book is very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Comprehensive Guide, 24 May 2005
By 
This is a great in depth book. It is not really for the occaisional home brewer though. Only for those with serious nerdity.
I would suggest it is for those who have progressed to all grain brewing or as a text book for the micro brewer.
It is full of top quality information.
A complete brewing formulation spreadsheet design is probably missing, though there are plenty of these on the web.
Watch out for the 'american gallon' linked weights an measures though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great ... but complicated., 6 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Upon opening the book and first glance the book is scarey. But then again it is not made to be a book of recipes for you to follow, this is for you to set your creative juices going and design a brand spanking new beer.

The book goes into great detail on the different types of beers and how to make them.. fruit, IPA, old ale, bitters, wheat etc. the different ingredients and their sub-catagories e.g Yeast and what the different kinds do/act like and the taste they contribute to giving. There are a lot of mathmatical calculations to understand also. The book though is clear and well written.

If you want recipes for different beers to try out, this is not a book for you.

If you are a beginner to the world of brewing, this is not for you... just yet.

If you have experience at brewing from ingredients (not the brewing kits) and want to create something that is truely yours, this book could be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, even if it wasn't what I expected, 30 Jun. 2011
By 
D. Watson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is wonderful, firstly it deals with successfully making beer such as the principals behind water chemistry and all of that which is useful but nothing new, the second section however is the truly wonderful bit. It spends a chapter on each variety of beer, detailing the history of its production, its changes over time and then gives a statistical analysis of the ingredients that go into it. This it turns out is quite powerful, it lets you know the upper limits of the style for certain malts and adjuncts so you can push boundaries while keeping the style true.

To be honest this book is worth it just for background on each style, an invaluable addition to the homebrewers shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but incomplete, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A valuable reference for any intermediate to advanced home brewer's library though the work is not without it's limitations, some relatively trivial, others more serious. The book essentially consists of two complimentary sections: the first is a scientifically and mathematically rigorous treatment of such brewing parameters as enzyme activity, colour, hop constituents, and water treatment. It is here that the book really shines, and the home brewer will doubtless find himself repeatedly referencing these chapters in formulating his recipes. The only complaint with this section is that, as another reviewer has noted, Daniels is not always consistent in translating his English units to metric. A forgivable, if occasionally annoying oversight.

The second part of the book consists of detailed histories, descriptions and formulations of particular beer styles. The historical background appears to have been meticulously researched, and one can find little here to complain of except, again, a certain inconsistency in the use of units, particularly measurements regarding gravity, which makes comparisons difficult. While for some, the use of NHC contest winners as paradigms of what a particular beer style should be like may seem a bit parochial, I suppose this is as good a yardstick as any, and will at least eliminate recipes that have strayed too far from accepted style parameters.

For myself, the most glaring omission was the complete absence of any mention of the Belgian styles. Since one of the few mentions of Belgian ale was to completely mischaracterise WYeast 1388, Belgian strong ale yeast, as an "Abbey style yeast", one can only conclude that Daniels' lack of familiarity with the the genre has led him, perhaps wisely, to avoid a topic on which he is not well-versed. Nonetheless, should the homebrewer choose to pair this book with Tim Webb's work, "Brew Like a Monk" dealing exclusively with the Belgian beers, he will find himself in possession of the perfect two-volume set detailing virtually all the major beer styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Brewing Resource, 29 May 2014
By 
Mr. J. P. Atherton "mr_road" (London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and researched. This is an excellent book and a wonderful resource for anyone who is creating and brewing their own recipes. Also, a great read for anyone interested in the world of beers, has a lot of information on the origin and definition of styles.

I read the book cover to cover when I first got it and still regularly use it as a resource when creating recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great explanations, 27 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly what you need, a friendly informal writing style and easy to understand explanations. Definitely worth a read for any home brewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews