Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and hard hitting
Having had the pleasure of meeting Shin personally last year, I bought this dvd as soon as I seen it was due for release. I have read his book and have travelled to North Korea and therefore have a great interest in the place and the people.

The documentary itself is very slow moving, with long pauses, abstract shots and segments without any accompanying audio...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. A. Ferris

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously self-indulgent
A bad documentary, which this certainly is, tells you far more about the filmmaker than its subject. Perhaps it's not clear unless you read the book on which it's based, but the filmmaker has left out a huge amount of important information, that would have contributed so much to our understanding of North Korea, and what do we get instead? Endless lingering shots of the...
Published 8 months ago by Roger Mortimer-Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and hard hitting, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. A. Ferris "Escaped from Muckamore Abbey" (Muckamore, County Antrim) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camp 14: Total Control Zone [DVD] (DVD)
Having had the pleasure of meeting Shin personally last year, I bought this dvd as soon as I seen it was due for release. I have read his book and have travelled to North Korea and therefore have a great interest in the place and the people.

The documentary itself is very slow moving, with long pauses, abstract shots and segments without any accompanying audio at all. Obviously featuring Shin's story mainly, there are splashes of animation and some graphic footage smuggled out from NK appearing every so often.

In addition to Shin, two ex-prison camp guards, now based in Seoul, appear throughout giving their experiences and stories, which made me wonder, with them being so open and honest about what they had done, how come they aren't tried and convicted for such heinous crimes? As I watched them tell their stories, I never seen the look of much regret in their faces, although one did state that he is plagued by guilt.

Shin is obviously very uncomfortable retelling his story, it is still very raw with him, it still hurts and still causes nightmares. I understand that he politely refuses many requests to tell his story. During this documentary, the cameras do follow him to a few meetings where he is testifying, in one occasion at a human rights convention and another at what looks to be a church gathering.

I would suggest reading Shin's book before watching this as the book covers more ground. This is an hour and a half of dark and harrowing detail from the most oppressive country on earth. It is a story which will shock many and raise awareness for what is happening to hundreds of thousands of ordinary Korean people today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings to life the horrors of North Korea, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp 14: Total Control Zone [DVD] (DVD)
I had read the book and was tremendously moved and horrified. This DVD just brought it closer and convinced me that North Korea must be the most evil place in the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp 14: Total Control Zone [DVD] (DVD)
Read this book. It is harrowing but just read it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling !, 29 April 2014
By 
Makka-Pakka (Lausanne, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp 14: Total Control Zone [DVD] (DVD)
Have always been interested bytotalitarian regimes...the live interviews are really chilling, these are not human beings !, the cartoons are very well done, how can a place like this still be on our planet, the mind boggles..A film to be seen by everyone,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Camp 14, 21 Mar 2014
By 
L. Greinke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp 14: Total Control Zone [DVD] (DVD)
This film is pretty good for people who don't know that much about the Camp. The book "Escape from Camp 14" goes in more detail. I recommend both for this particular subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Camp 14: Total Control Zone (DVD)
Brilliant film. People can be so cruel and yet we can accept the cruelty. A must see documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously self-indulgent, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camp 14: Total Control Zone [DVD] (DVD)
A bad documentary, which this certainly is, tells you far more about the filmmaker than its subject. Perhaps it's not clear unless you read the book on which it's based, but the filmmaker has left out a huge amount of important information, that would have contributed so much to our understanding of North Korea, and what do we get instead? Endless lingering shots of the subject's face.

No doubt this seems clever to the people he was at film school with (and not that long ago, I suspect) but it's a criminal waste of an opportunity to tell a vitally important story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Camp 14: Total Control Zone [DVD]
Camp 14: Total Control Zone [DVD] by Marc Wiese (DVD - 2013)
9.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews