Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true horror film
Thanatomorphose is a truly disturbing, claustrophobic modern horror masterpiece. An exceptional performance from the lead, Kayden Rose, who plays a struggling artist, literally rotting. Skip if you're looking for fast moving glossy horror, this is a slow paced, intelligent, brooding trip. I've been following Éric Falardeau's cinematic journey from his early shorts...
Published 9 months ago by Yrsinia Pestis

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH
This film has become notorious and my curiosity got the better of me I'm afraid. After 10 minutes I put the fast forward on as I have never been so bored. OK, so the effects are what the money was spent on and certainly not the plot or the acting. To me it looks like a cheap student film. I put it on sale on E bay which says it all really.
Published 4 months ago by John Elsdon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I feel this has a hidden message, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thanatomorphose [DVD] (DVD)
I really can't think what to write about this film ,it seems to be about a couple that don't seem to have any clothes and the woman slowly starts to rot ,probably symbolising some sort of inner turmoil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the dullest films you will ever watch, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Will (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thanatomorphose [DVD] (DVD)
If you buy this film then the only reason you will watch to the end will be due to intrigue as to how it will end. And honestly, nothing happens. This is one of the slowest paced and dullest films I have ever seen, if it was at 30 mins it would feel too long never mind 3 times that..

It starts with a girl having sex and then she starts to rot. And that's it. End of film. This is one of those 'artsy' films and there is no story or plot of any kind whatsoever. The two reviews below are pretty much spot on, other than the 'why didn't she go to the hospital' point. My guess is that she couldn't care less whether she lived or died, she was obviously depressed and dead inside. The rotting aspect just symbolized her depression.

For the gore hounds forget it. There are two deaths both of which are very tame and non graphic. The rest of the film is just on this woman rotting. And it really isn't anything disturbing. The effects are ok but the film is so dull and so focused on this girl rotting (and nothing else) that you won't care about her. She sure as hell couldn't care less what was happening to her and as there is no story or plot of any kind why should we.

Don't waste your time or money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true horror film, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Thanatomorphose [DVD] (DVD)
Thanatomorphose is a truly disturbing, claustrophobic modern horror masterpiece. An exceptional performance from the lead, Kayden Rose, who plays a struggling artist, literally rotting. Skip if you're looking for fast moving glossy horror, this is a slow paced, intelligent, brooding trip. I've been following Éric Falardeau's cinematic journey from his early shorts to this twisted, slimy offering. He's most certainly a director to look out for in the future. Comes highly recommended from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent body horror flick, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Snaggletooth (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thanatomorphose [DVD] (DVD)
Let's face it, some people like to think they're horror fans but in reality if a film requires an ounce of intelligence or insight at all they get lost. Some of the reviews here are pitiful to say the least. Thanatomorphose features the slow, yes I said slow, bodily disintegration of a woman who's everyday routine becomes harder and harder as she tries to cope with her condition. The movie is meant to develop at a crawl as the viewer is there to experience her ride to the ultimate conclusion. Something which one person declared here but still didn't understand.

The film is not perfect, the few vocal parts are average to say the least, but what it sets out to do it does fantastically. It really miffs me off though when horror blow ins spout off as if knowledgeable about the genre when they're plainly not. I have my strong suspicions that these are the same fools who wouldn't watch a subtitled film because they maybe can't read, when ironically, the best horror films of recent times have not been in the English language.

If you're of average or above intelligence and understand that some horror films don't feature a man in a mask chasing stupid teens through a forest, then check Thanatomorphose out. One of the best body horror films in years. I would have given it 4stars but to counteract the totally uncalled for one star votes it's getting a five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disgusted and deeply disturbed, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Thanatomorphose [DVD] (DVD)
This is an experimental blend of graphical body shock and presentable madness
one of the nastiest mind f***s I have seen in recent months, defiantly not one for the faint of heart or those with a nervous disposition. The horrifying levels of sick and vile bodily gore are pulled off with fabulous details, perfection and the lead actor gives her harrowing and frantically frightening performance. This is a satanic PowerPoint of cruel and horrifically brutalized obscene artwork that only the most prepared fans of sickening cinema will enjoy.
Special effects/ make up effects look almost worryingly real.
Its sad, its naturally cruel, its over the top, its quite brilliant.
This will keep you disgusted but gripped for a very long time even after the film finishes you will feel uncomfortable!
Bloody good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sickening and disturbing, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Catherine (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thanatomorphose [DVD] (DVD)
An avid horror fan I came across this film which I thought would be interesting as well as original. I really wish I could give this film no stars. It is utter rubbish. True it is horror, in the real sense of the word. It contains no story, no dialogue, no plot and no acting. I really think anybody could walk around like that mostly naked and covered in what seems to be like mud smothering them at first. It begins with bruises, hair falling out, nails breaking off. What is obvious in the beginning however, since we don't know what caused this to happen to the woman, is that there is no cure and that the speed in which it occurs would make medical intervention impossible anyway. It is a disgusting film, obviously the work of a warped imagination. There should have been some idea as to why it occurred to this woman. The character herself is not likeable, just an ordinary woman, highly sexed and why any man would give into her advances whilst she is in that state is beyond me. The music is eerie, advisory caution should be given to epileptics because of some of the strange lighting photography and those of a nervous disposition and certain mental illnesses should avoid this film at all costs. It's one of the worst films I have seen. And yet it is also compelling viewing for all the wrong reasons, it will play on your mind for a long time afterwards watch out for her piercing scream at the end which is the most chilling I have ever heard in a film. If like me, you like horror films to have a story, a decent script and decent acting, avoid this. If on the other hand you are looking for involuntary bowel movements and vomiting and graphic rotting matter, this film is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire and boring attempt at a horror., 21 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. T. Solley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thanatomorphose [DVD] (DVD)
Read some good reviews about this film. Must have been people associated with it.

Poor script, poor acting, poor affects, it has them all.

The idea of a person decomposing whilst still alive you'd think is a good horror theme. Sadly, this film manages to turn it into a bore fest.

Warning as well, some domestic abuse scenes which don't add to the film at all and are not needed.

Hopefully this pile of stinking mess will decompose into history soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thanatomorphose [DVD]
Thanatomorphose [DVD] by Éric Falardeau (DVD - 2013)
£8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews