Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars98
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2014
Great transfer to Hammers go at its first Mummy film. Good extras as well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
I was in my teens when it all started with Hammer. I remember takeing my girl-friend
to see "The Curse of Frankenstein" it was all new and quite brilliant.So I wanted to
aquire ths and one or two of the early ones, I suppose for mainly nostalgic reasons.
But I really love Peter Cushing. I guess these days the younger people would consider
them to be "Old Hat", cosidering the fantastic technology and affects in film makeing
today. Then, one could use ones imajination. What did I consider before purchase?
whether or not some footage may have been cut---- but I cant really remember all the
detail. So "AT LONG LAST" Ihave "The Mummy".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Pressy for my dad...He likes the old films.... Or classics as he calls them....
He is very happy and I am happy longs I do not have to watch it... :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
The vibrant 1950's Technicolor palette really shines with the quality of this restoration simply gorgeous

Hats off to Hammer once again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
EXCELLENT!!!! Anyone who loves film restoration will enjoy this! Hammer films did a great job on this motion picture. BUY IT!!.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Great stars and good storyline.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
I agree with all the other reviews on this release Stunning is the only word and the extras are wonderfull as well. Well done to Icon for this masterpiece of film restoration. Please let us hope that more Hammer films will appear on blueray, with the same love given to them as they deserve, to all those smaller companies, if you don,t have the money to do a proper job, then don,t bother.
Dennis James Stone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
A lot of work has gone into this restoration and it shows, especially as only a ropey region 1 dvd of the film has been available for some time in this country, so a region 2 dvd plus Blu-ray version is most welcome. This Blu-ray is definitely worth the cash as the restored film is stunning plus there are a wealth of 'extras', including new documentaries 'Unwrapping The Mummy - the making of a Hammer Classic', 'The Hammer Rep Company', 'The House of Horror: Memories of Bray' plus a, well-worth listening to, audio commentary from Marcus Hearn & Jonathan Rigby.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2009
Following Hammer's initial success with The Curse of Frankenstein (1957) and Horror of Dracula (1958), Universal, the spiritual home of the classic horror film, afforded Hammer the opportunity to overhaul their entire back-catalogue of monster movies in the same vein. In response, between 1959 and 1962 Hammer made several horror films, that, whilst not exactly remakes of Universal's movies, owed something to them in one way or another. The first of these, The Mummy (1959), is one of the very few Hammer movies that is directly inspired by the Universal canon, and, unlike their strikingly original versions of the Frankenstein and Dracula myths (which bore almost no resemblance at all to the Universal versions), it is almost entirely made up of elements and motifs from the earlier series. Despite an unusually good cast for a Hammer film (Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee are joined by Felix Aylmer, Raymond Huntley, and French actress Yvonne Furneaux), and some typically late-1950s' Hammer boldness in terms of upping the ante with the sex and violence of the story, the film remains a mere pastiche of incidents and plotlines from the Universal series (the Mummy's name, the reason for his rampage, and the notion of him finding a re-incarnation of his ancient love are all taken from the older films). Whilst the film's catalogue of back-breakings and tongue-slicings might have seemed gruesome when it was first released, when viewed today it lacks the freshness of the best of the early Hammer horrors. The tone is uneven, with the middle portion of the film devoted to an unnecessarily lengthy flashback to ancient Egypt (which fails to convince, despite the relatively exotic good looks of Lee and Furneaux), whilst the comic relief is perhaps a little broader than is usual, even for Hammer. Director Terence Fisher has trouble keeping up the pace of the story, and the film really only springs to life during the athletic brawls between Cushing and Lee; even the Mummy's eventual destruction by a load of gun-toting villagers is something of an anti-climactic damp squib (and is yet another Universal device). Furthermore, the performances seem a little stifled; despite several longing looks in Furneaux's direction, Lee can't really do much with the silent, impersonal Mummy (and his awkward, unsteady walk is actually quite comical), whilst Cushing is somewhat bland and boring as an archaeologist marked for death; only in his one scene opposite religious fanatic George Pastell does he seem genuinely interested in what is going on around him.
The most telling thing about Hammer's version of The Mummy is the current certificate of this DVD release; whilst the old `X'-ratings of most Hammer horrors have been down-graded to `15' or even `12' as the decades have gone by, The Mummy is one of the very few that today sport the lowly `PG' tag.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
An all time classic from Hammer, The quality of this blu-ray is awesome with some great extra features, if you enjoy the old time classic horror with standout performances from Peter Cushing, Christopher Lee, Michael Ripper, George Pastell and many more then this film is for you, also with a fantastic musical score.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)