Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Bach
Janine Jansen is a very fine violinist and I like her work very much. Even allowing for this, I was surprised by how very much I enjoyed this disc. There are many excellent recordings of these works and this stands with the best of them while feeling very fresh.

The works on this disc are Bach's two recognised violin concertos in A minor and E, the double...
Published 8 months ago by Sid Nuncius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by indifferent recording
This recording is, surprisingly, rather dull. Ms Jansen's playing is sensitive but the somewhat woolly sound quality of the disc lets her down.
Published 1 month ago by D A De Saxe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Bach, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bach Concertos (Audio CD)
Janine Jansen is a very fine violinist and I like her work very much. Even allowing for this, I was surprised by how very much I enjoyed this disc. There are many excellent recordings of these works and this stands with the best of them while feeling very fresh.

The works on this disc are Bach's two recognised violin concertos in A minor and E, the double concerto for violin and oboe BWV1060, and two of the sonatas for violin and keyboard. To be honest, I nearly didn't bother trying this disc because these are all so well-known and I have several well-loved recordings already, but I'm delighted that I decided to give it a go. Jansen has a wonderful lightness of touch throughout which gives all these pieces a real zing and a sense of light and air while never losing any of their intellectual weight. She shapes the phrases beautifully and her wonderful technique allows everything to sound effortless.

It really is a delight, and the oboe playing of Ramon Ortega Quero is equally good, making the double concerto a highlight for me - and the finale, one of Bach's most toe-tapping movements, has a terrific spring in its step. The ensemble is very small (four violins, two violas, cello and double bass) and very good, so they have a fabulous, chamber-like flexibility while being able to give it all the necessary welly in the more vigorous passages.

Jansen herself is just as good in the sonatas, although if there is a weakness on this disc it is in the harpsichord playing of her father Jan, which I found a little plodding compared to, say, Ottavio Dantone with Viktoria Mullova or Richard Egarr with Andrew Manze. Nevertheless, these are very enjoyable recordings.

The recorded sound is excellent. The notes are a little pedestrian but perfectly adequate and the presentation is nicely done. Even if, like me, you have several recordings of these concerti and sonatas I would suggest giving this a listen - I find it hugely enjoyable and recommend it very warmly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bach CD to live with, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach Concertos (Audio CD)
Janine Jansen has moulded the Baroque approach with modern instruments beautifully. It is also quite clear that she is accompanied by friends rather than just other professional artists. They understand each other perfectly, and blend together as one unit. The result is a superlative CD worth 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bach Violin Concertos, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach Concertos (Audio CD)
Lovely pieces of music played beautifully. I am so pleased that Janine Jansen was able to retrieve her beloved violin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by indifferent recording, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach Concertos (Audio CD)
This recording is, surprisingly, rather dull. Ms Jansen's playing is sensitive but the somewhat woolly sound quality of the disc lets her down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing grace!, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach Concertos (Audio CD)
This young and skilful lady has the ability to handle her instrument with body AND soul.
The compassion for the music and the performance is amazing.
I get really good vibrations of this CD.
Look her out an enjoy her productions, 4 Seasons by Vivaldi just to mention one.

Thank U, Janine, for your lovely work of art!

Regards/Sten E.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
By 
Mike Jenks "Mike Jenks" (Either Cheshire or Oslo) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bach Concertos (Audio CD)
Fantastic. 6 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach Concertos
Bach Concertos by Janine Jansen (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews