Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
10
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2001
This album is nothing like the "commercial" albums, and understandably not to everyone' s taste. However, it is a must buy if you want to learn something about Ocean Colour Scene's roots. Born of the 90s rave culture, here you can hear the Manchester influence and the indie-dance crossover vibe. If you grew up with The Blue Aeroplanes, Primal Scream and The Soupdragons then give this disc a go - you might even find you like it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2006
This album is quite different from OCS's later material and has been mostly disowned by the band, with very few of its songs ever having been played live. Its production and recording was difficult and was followed by a lengthy legal fight with their then record label Fontana so that's perhaps not surprising. Which is a shame as there are some good tracks on here particularly Do Yourself a Favour, which rocks like anything with lots of wah wah guitar. Other good tracks include How About You, Third shade of green and the baggy-sounding Sway.
Worth a listen then if you want to know more about OCS but it certainly sounds nothing like later albums like Moseley Shoals, indeed it's almost as if this album was recorded by another band.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Very nice to hear the first album and b-sides of OCS... Great Deluxe Edition and rare unreleased demo , original version,...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
An Ocean Colour Scene CD/Album that I hadn't seen before....so it was an interesting find, very early day's for the band, an unusual find, great price from a good seller, with quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Better than Muscley Shoals in my view. Jolly nice music for working to in my sunspace, building shelves or adding sheepswool insulation or feeding the cats
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Quick delivery. 5 Stars. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
Class....!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 February 2008
I came to this album already a great Ocean Colour Scene fan. I loved everything between Mosely Shoals and Mechanical Wonder and wanted this, as suggested elsewhere, to complete the collection.

If you know anything about the history of the band, you'll know all the sacrifices they made to make their first album, and I must say I'm very glad they did. However, I'm not particularly glad that they made this particular first album. Sway is the best song on here, but anyone who's listened to anything they produced in the ten years following this would be hard pressed to find a place on any of the albums that came after.

The album is far more predictable, and is before Ocean Colour Scene started sounding like Ocean Colour Scene. It fits in somewhere in early 90s indie, probably as a poor man's Inspiral Carpets.

To be honest, I can't imagine why I would put it on these days!

It's hard to believe that just a few years later they released The Day We Caught The Train.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2000
Drab, monotonic, and boring. All the songs end up the same. There is no character. Absolutely nothing special. I'd save your money if i was you. Get any of the last four, not this.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.55
£4.11
£4.60

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)