Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a novella with a big messsage
On the surface, it's another 'action movie' kinda book from the Dan Brown, Jason Bourne school.

On a whole other level, it's a salutory reminder that the 'old days' are never far away if we let fear-full thinking gain a foothold.

Well done for encapsulating so much of a point in a book that takes less than a day to read. Am heading to Budapest next...
Published 9 months ago by Tom Evans

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not for me!
Thought this sounded good read however this just didn't do it for me! Keep reading thinking it would get better but unfortunately it didn't.
Published 7 months ago by snow white


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and emotive, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. V. Bradley "bookaholic" (Kidderminster, Worcs., England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day In Budapest: A Thriller (ARKANE Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Having visited Budapest on three separate occasions I was able to relate very well to this story. I also knew something of its troubled past. This novella begins with the killing of a Catholic priest and the subsequent stealing of a holy relic. As on so many occasions in Hungary's history the Jewish population are being persecuted as rumours and lies spread that this holy relic was stolen by them. The story moves on at a fair pace and parts of it are definitely not for the squeamish. Nonetheless it makes for an interesting take on what could happen again in Budapest's unhappy past. The characterisation was strong and the story believable. I was particularly impressed with the author's notes at the end and the numerous links to the city's history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a novella with a big messsage, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day In Budapest: A Thriller (ARKANE Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
On the surface, it's another 'action movie' kinda book from the Dan Brown, Jason Bourne school.

On a whole other level, it's a salutory reminder that the 'old days' are never far away if we let fear-full thinking gain a foothold.

Well done for encapsulating so much of a point in a book that takes less than a day to read. Am heading to Budapest next year as it happens and my itinary will be guided by the places in this novella. Big thanks for the history lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Day In Budapest, 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: One Day In Budapest: A Thriller (ARKANE Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I've started reading more novellas recently, and the more I've read, the more I've enjoyed them. A novella is great if you have a couple of hours to spare one afternoon or evening and want something you can complete in one go. That's exactly what I did with this novella.

This is the kind of story I've come to expect from Penn--well researched, with a depth of history that really makes it come alive. The plot of One Day In Budapest looks at the possibilities of where right-wing nationalism might lead eastern Europe in the future. Don't be put off by the political references--I'm not a fan of anything highly political but I absolutely loved this.

Although One Day In Budapest is more political than the ARKANE books (which err more towards the supernatural than the political), it features Dr Morgan Sierra from the series. It can be read as a standalone story, however, so if you've never read anything by J.F. Penn, this novella is a great place to start. I'm sure as soon as you've finished reading this, you'll be desperate to get stuck into the ARKANE books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thoroughly Rewarding Read..., 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day In Budapest: A Thriller (ARKANE Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Condensing a well plotted narrative into novella form is an art, one which Joanna Penn has clearly mastered.

I must admit I haven't read a great many novellas, but those I have read have sometimes left me with the impression that something is missing. That `something' might be lack of story, or character depth, or background research, but none of that applies here.

What `One Day In Budapest' delivers is a fast paced narrative which brings this vibrant Eastern European capital to life. Pretty soon we're immersed in a world of murder and intrigue, and as the plot thickens the menacing shadow of fascism looms ever larger.

On the face of it Dr Morgan Sierra and her associate Zoltan Fischer are in a race against time to find a stolen relic, but they soon become embroiled in a darker world altogether, where political machinations are conspiring to ease the re-emergence of far right dictums.

Many will find it quite chilling, and some may argue that the author has overplayed her hand, but scratch beneath the surface of many `respectable' European governments and you will find those who are itching to blame others for their woes... and they're poised to prey on vulnerable targets.

History ought to provide shelter from such extreme philosophies, but the danger that some will forget how frighteningly easy it was for the Nazis to wheedle their way into authority have a timely reminder here.

This story will keep your intrigue and provide unsavoury food for thought. Some of the settings are most vivid and bring the old and the new of Budapest into sharp focus. A Thoroughly rewarding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly researched, exciting and thought provoking novella, 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: One Day In Budapest: A Thriller (ARKANE Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
"For a moment she felt utterly bereft, with a stunning realization that humanity had always tortured and murdered and always would."

Chilling words that I feel really gives an insight into the theme behind this gripping novella. Despite the horrors of World War 2 there are those still one step from repeating similar atrocities. This novella presents an exceptionally well researched fictional account of someone taking that step. This story contains a strong element of truth, making the subject of this book even more chilling (and very exciting).

Research aside, it's another gripping story about an explosive day for Dr Morgan Sierra in Budapest.

I am a fan of J.F.Penn's writing. This novella is a great addition to an exciting body of work. Don't forget to go watch the video about her research when you've finished.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling!, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: One Day In Budapest: A Thriller (ARKANE Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great novella which really makes you feel that you are actually visiting Budapest. For a short read, this has a real depth of research and intricacy with believable characters and a fast-paced storyline.

It's great to find Morgan Sierra off on another adventure, and this novella will not disappoint! The plot is full of history, religion and story expertly blended together.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drip feed!, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Day In Budapest: A Thriller (ARKANE Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Just what I needed, a drip feed until the next Arkane book is released. I don't usually go for short stories however I am pleased to have taken the plunge. Not only is this an excellent read, it draws one's attention to the hatred that lies just between the surface in the human mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Day In BudaPest, 23 Aug 2013
This review is from: One Day In Budapest: A Thriller (ARKANE Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Once again Joanna has really nailed it!

A fantastic fast-paced story line left me unable to put it down, with the ending only leaving me wanting more!!!

Congratulations Joanna, a definite win!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 22 Aug 2013
This review is from: One Day In Budapest: A Thriller (ARKANE Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this novella. Fast, packed with background, great characters. My only issue is that it was too short! More, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Day In Budapest, 20 Aug 2013
This review is from: One Day In Budapest: A Thriller (ARKANE Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
The novella was very enjoyable, I read it in one sitting. Story moved along at a good pace with new interesting characters added to another great adventure for Morgan. My only complaint is that, since it is a novella, it ended to quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews