Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars It was good on VHS
I remember my brother watching this time and time again in the mid 90's.

It was good on VHS, but even better in digital quality with extra unseen videos.

Good for old fans and young fans who want to see what all the fuss was about
Published 5 months ago by D. I. Jones

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An uneven release from an exceptional band
As a fan of Nirvana's work for the last 20 years, "Live and Loud" at Seattle's Pier 48 has always been, for me and many others, a show held in very high esteem. MTV had broadcast 40 minutes of this show fairly regularly in the mid to late 90s, and this footage showed a band at the height of their powers - self-destructive, charismatic and angry. With the internet, fans...
Published 15 months ago by R. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An uneven release from an exceptional band, 23 Sep 2013
By 
R. Morris (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nirvana Live & Loud [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
As a fan of Nirvana's work for the last 20 years, "Live and Loud" at Seattle's Pier 48 has always been, for me and many others, a show held in very high esteem. MTV had broadcast 40 minutes of this show fairly regularly in the mid to late 90s, and this footage showed a band at the height of their powers - self-destructive, charismatic and angry. With the internet, fans began to discover that Nirvana had actually performed a far longer set than was originally broadcast. We KNEW the complete footage existed, but at that time were unable to get a hold of anything more than the 40 minutes officially broadcast and (later on) the leaked rehearsal footage. When I heard "Live and Loud" was finally being released, I was ecstatic. Finally an opportunity to see this show in its entirety. I bought the full Super Deluxe box set (with this DVD included) and I have to say with regard to this DVD, I was very disappointed. Those songs excluded from the original broadcast - for the most part - were justifiably scrapped. "Sliver" features an uncomfortable outro, for example, while "All Apologies" looks pretty but sounds pretty bad. The same can be said for stalwart tracks like "School" and "Blew" which feel lacklustre and uninteresting compared to the footage already broadcast. "Endless Nameless" is very poor indeed, and drags on way too long (12 minutes in before the destruction sequence we know and love). Unlike the MTV Unplugged DVD, this DVD does not offer the option of watching the concert as originally broadcast which is a real failing here. Thankfully the extras are first class and go some way to making up for this rather less than captivating DVD. Overall, a mixed bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was good on VHS, 28 July 2014
By 
D. I. Jones "David Jones" (Stourbridge, WM, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nirvana Live & Loud [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I remember my brother watching this time and time again in the mid 90's.

It was good on VHS, but even better in digital quality with extra unseen videos.

Good for old fans and young fans who want to see what all the fuss was about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Nirvana show ever captured!, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best Nirvana live show i have ever experienced. The sound is refined and we get to hear the full wall of guitars of Cobain and (fortunately) Smear in equal left-to-right doses! Novoselic's bass is raised to the appropriate level and when the camera turns to the mighty Grohl, we can sense the beastial torture that his drums take.
This was long awaited and it's worth the wait! Put in in a BIG screen and in LOUD volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing,, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
EDIT: After listening to the new mixes for a while they've grown on me a bit, so I've changed my review to 3*. It definitely could have been mixed much better, but I'm someone who listened to the original broadcast for many years - if you've not heard it before you'll probably love it!

Live and Loud has been my go-to performance when it comes to Nirvana for a long long time now - I've listened to it more than all the studio albums combined! As you can imagine, I was nothing short of thrilled to learn that the other half of the show would finally see the light of day.

However, the downside...

Having listened to the show all the way through several times, I have unfortunately drawn one conclusion alone - the "REMASTERED" audio, to my ear, sounds completely and utterly dreadful! To the point that it sounds like a completely different show. They took out what made Live And Loud so great and replaced it with this tinny, compressed sounding distortion.

Blew, Scentless Apprentice and Sliver are actually mastered pretty well - Blew is very true to the original sound. But for example, listen to the amazing version of Lithium on the broadcast, then the thin, rather dead sounding Lithium on this "remastered" version. There is absolutely no comparing them.

If they had released the broadcast without having remastered anything, this would probably have gotten 5*!

I've take the newly released tracks and mixed them in amongst the original broadcast recordings, which I have gone back to.

The extras were all already circulating - these are slightly higher quality but nothing more, from what I can tell.

On the plus side...

The video quality is absolutely FANTASTIC! It's dead nice to see the extra camera source (that's not Pro #1a/#1b/#2a/#2b or similar) in there too. The video and previously uncirculated tracks are the only reason this got stars at all from me!

My advice - listen to the Live and Loud audio from spotify or similar (they're available on there now on the In Utero Super Deluxe Edition) and if you dig the remastered version, go for it. But the horrid mastering on this has left a long time fan severely disappointed.

In my opinion, Andy Wallace should have been the one doing the remastering, since his version of Scentless Apprentice on The Muddy Banks of Wishkah sounds nothing short of fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete show!, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nirvana Live & Loud [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Everyone who loves Nirvana probably has seen parts of the live & loud show. Great to see the complete show at last. A must have for all nirvana fans. Apart from Live & loud also a lot of extra's. A must-have.

No 'smells like teen spirit', that's the way it should be, given how much Cobain disliked that song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Nirvana concert out there on DVD!!!, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nirvana Live & Loud [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great show, the band in top form, great setlist, just perfect, one of those shows where you can see that Kurt cared, great energy, great songs from start to end.If you like Nirvana, you hav to have this in your collection, simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. C. Long - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nirvana Live & Loud [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I just read a few reviews about this DVD being average, in my opinion its amazing, i find the remastered audio so much better than the broadcast version as you can actually hear the moment Kurt turns on the "tech 21 Sans amp" guitar pedal, also you can hear when he turns on his small clone and polychorus pedals, its plain as day! you can even hear the crowd quite plainly during breaks, both things were absent during the MTV original broadcast, which is why i cant fault the sound quality.

I do sympathize with the 4:3 video output, but you must bare in mind that it was MTV and the year was 1993. One plus side is that it is much better video quality than the original broadcast

Extras: These were just a bonus for me, i have already seen these on the net, but i spose its nice to have a hard copy if they ever get taken down

I waited years for this DVD to be released and it did not disappoint one bit, really nice to see the point when Kurt took the head of the In Utero angel off aswell, which for some reason was cut originally. If you have always wanted to see the uncut version of this show, i urge you to give it a try!

Cant wait for the next DVD to be released!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware., 1 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nirvana Live & Loud [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Yes, this has 27 songs on. But be warned. The show itself is the full show, but presented in a harsh new audio mix. All video material is 4:3 and much of it is obviously (at best) VHS quality. The soundcheck/rehearsal for "Live And Loud" is a single camera, hand-held footage and the audio is taken only from the video cameras microphone, so it looks and sounds like a 20 year old videotape. The extra TV broadcasts are generally OK, but the Munich performance is single camera. The video on this entire set is 4:3, so black bars at either side of the screen, and much of it looks fuzzy. Maybe we're spoilt by BluRay these days, but this looks aged and fuzzy, with sound that is often poor. You have been warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb live recording!, 15 Oct 2013
By 
This Live and Loud DVD is absolutely fantastic and one of the best Nirvana shows I have ever seen! I had only seen clips of the 1993 MTV performance on You Tube etc and was excited when I heard it was being released on DVD along with the 20th anniversary reissue of In Utero.

The picture quality is very good and the performance is just brilliant. The band had started to refine their sound at this point with the addition of Pat Smear on guitar and it just sounds superb. Endless Nameless is a barnstorming finale and shows the punk roots of the band with the distorted guitar noises and mayhem, the band are clearly having fun. Then at the end Kurt chops the head off the In Utero model with his guitar and claps sarcastically at the crowd and walks off. Fantastic.

One thing I did notice was that in the crowd there were loads of jocks with basball caps on, I read that this used to irritate Kurt because these were the people he didn't particulary want as fans. And during the show he also faced a few heckles. For instance at one point you can hear an idiot shouting "smells like deodrant" which is a poor attempt at humour with a nod to the song. Interestingly 'Smells like teen spirit' isn't played as Kurt got sick of playing it by this point.

The extras are also superb! You get the directors cut video of 'Heart Shaped Box' (which is better than the original in my humble opinion) where Kurt lies in a field of poppies, which is disturbing as he looks like a corpse. It's really spooky when you think about it. You also get some TV appearances from 1994 which are cool, especially the Paris show as the band appear geeky wearing suits and bow at the end of the songs, and through the middle of 'Drain you' Kurt spontaneosly drops his guitar to the floor, grabs the microphone and sings. Awesome. The extras also include footage of Nirvanas last ever show at Terminal 1 in Munich, Germany with an interesting cover of The Cars `My Best Friend's Girl'.

So along with 'Live at the paramount' this is my personal favourite Nirvana live dvd and will be played for many many years yet! All proper Nirvana fans should have this in their collection.

N.B Also I wonder why they didn't consider a Blu Ray release like 'Live at the paramount'? Maybe it's a technical thing. (not my area) Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nirvana Live & Loud [DVD] [2013]
Nirvana Live & Loud [DVD] [2013] by Nirvana (DVD - 2013)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews