Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing band you've never heard of, 7 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild Opera (Audio CD)
I cannot believe I have ignored this duo for so long. Listening to this album is pure joy. Every song is so totally unique. Tim Bowness' voice has a beautiful hypnotic whispering quality to it. Go out and buy this CD and the 5 other albums they have made which no one has heard of. You will get no finer music for your money. Make 2002 the year No-man are recognised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time Travel in Texas', 12 May 2010
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wild Opera (Audio CD)
Loops, trip hop and pop this is a superb album and to me its madness that this album has been overlooked should have been Mercury nominated in the year of release. No-man definitely one of music's most overlooked groups.

The organ and loops of `Dry cleaning Ray' the down and dirty `Time travel in Texas' the sinister `Housewives Hooked on heroin', there is not a bad song on this album.

However what makes this reissue even better value is the addition of the hard to find `Dry Cleaning Ray' EP and some rare and previously available bonus tracks. `Hit the ceiling', `where I'm calling from', `housewives hooked on heroin (alternate version)' `my rival Trevor (alternate version)'' `time travel in Texas (radio session)' and `pretty genius (radio session)'.

When you see the original versions of this album reaching 100 or more on a popular internet auction site you know you are picking up a bargain here. One of my favourite albums from the 90's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compellingly disturbed art-pop/trip-hop hybrid., 21 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild Opera (Audio CD)
The fourth studio album by the criminally underrated No-Man sees them navigating a slippery, light-footed semi-surreal path between art-pop and trip-hop via menacing night-time songs of obsession, disillusion, mortality, the pangs of corroded love affairs and the victimhood of fame. Multi-instrumentalist Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree) and sensuously vulnerable singer Tim Bowness are occasionally joined by Richard Barbieri (Japan, JBK, Porcupine Tree), Robert Fripp and Mel Collins (King Crimson) on a moody, fragmented odyssey through dark hours of the soul. Even if there's no particular homecoming in sight, and no obvious answers to the plaguing questions and doubts, the journey's studded with unforgettable, bleak lyrical imagery and graced by persistently excellent music. If Tricky had hankered to be Scott Walker, if King Crimson had locked horns with Massive Attack, if AR Kane had eaten ABC; if the Wu-Tang's RZA had hatched plots with Bowie, or if "Dummy" had been made by Can with David Lynch in the producer's chair... well, they might have come up with this record, but I doubt that they would've done it as well as No-Man have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dry cleaning Ray', 13 April 2010
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wild Opera (Audio CD)
Loops, trip hop and pop this is a superb album and to me its madness that this album has been overlooked should have been Mercury nominated in the year of release. No-man definitely one of music's most overlooked groups.

The organ and loops of `Dry cleaning Ray' the down and dirty `Time travel in Texas' the sinister `Housewives Hooked on heroin', not a bad song on this album.

Go and buy it while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different Packaging! - Very Good Album, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Opera (Audio CD)
Firstly The package I received was not the hard-back 'Digi-book' style album advertised (see picture), I received a 'super jewel-case' style package instead; I would've paid extra to receive the advertised product had I known. Just a word of warning for those who care for such things!...

The album itself is very decent by-the-way, however no-man went on to produce better albums and refine their style in a way similar to later day talk-talk. This album is very unlike their later ones, incorporating such elements as dance-like beats, trip-hop and electronica; which may alienate those familiar only with Steven Wilson's other major projects, porcupine tree and his solo output. Still, it is perhaps No-Man's most diverse album, and the addition of the now very hard to find 'dry-cleaning ray' EP makes for a very worthwhile purchase for those looking to delve deeper into the No-man Cannon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinister jazz, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wild Opera (Audio CD)
Loops, trip hop and pop this is a superb album and to me its madness that this album has been overlooked should have been Mercury nominated in the year of release. No-man definitely one of music's most overlooked groups.

The organ and loops of `Dry cleaning Ray' the down and dirty `Time travel in Texas' the sinister `Housewives Hooked on heroin', not a bad song on this album.

Go and buy it while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation, 16 May 2011
By 
Mr. Anthony Moses (DURHAM United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Opera (Audio CD)
The most forward-facing, creative, imaginative album I've heard for
years. The fact that this was recorded in 1996 makes this work even more
astounding!

If you are considering buying this record just buy it - you won't be
disappointed. Also, this CD will reward you for having decent sound system or
headphones but is probably too subtle for in-car listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-man, cool sound., 20 Mar 2010
This review is from: Wild Opera (Audio CD)
Love anything Steven Wilson is a part of. Love Tim Bowness' voice. Recommend their new DVD, Mixtaped. Buy all No-man, Porcupine Tree and Blackfield works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Opera
Wild Opera by No Man (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews