Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social and Personal history at its very best!
The phrase "Couldn't put it down" truly applies to this book, and anyone who buys it certainly won't be disappointed.

A true insight into the social and personal turmoils of the early(ish) 20th century, as related through the diary of a South London wife and mother, this read will, I think, make you realise just how easy we have it today. I doubt...
Published 10 months ago by Wendus

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars didnt enjoy
This was not a good book for me. Found it really long and boring I'm sorry to say it's got to be on of the worst books I've dowoaded
Published 8 months ago by dragon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading., 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maisie Pops - 1913-1965: happiness, hardships, health and histrionics (Kindle Edition)
I think this is an excellent book. It is the memoirs of an ordinary woman who was born in 1913 so it covers the middle of the twentieth century. It is very interesting and very well written. The writing style is very pleasant to read with enough detail to be interesting without becoming boring. It reminds me of so many of the little snippets of information that my own mother would tell me about her early life. It has brought the mid-twentieth century to life for me. I'm very glad I've read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maisie is an inspiration in an age of excess, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maisie Pops - 1913-1965: happiness, hardships, health and histrionics (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this personal diary. Maisie's ability to face whatever obstacle life throws her way and carry on is inspiring. It is also quite sobering in an age when we have so much that few of of seem to achieve her level of contentment. I'm so glad that the lovely Maisie has achieved some recognition and immortality in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humbling read, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maisie Pops - 1913-1965: happiness, hardships, health and histrionics (Kindle Edition)
Being a distant relative of Aunty May I had not realised she had had such a difficult life with such sadness and anxiety. On the times that I met her walking up from Grove Park station she was absolutely adorable. Such a humbling read and made all the more real reading about my Great Aunt Ivy and Great Uncle Harry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maisie Pops - 1913-1965: happiness, hardships, health and histrionics (Kindle Edition)
Read this in a few hours. A lovely nostalgic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maise pops, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maisie Pops - 1913-1965: happiness, hardships, health and histrionics (Kindle Edition)
History written in a way that tells fact and feelings. The ups and downs of family life. The struggles of financial hardship. The strength of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maisie Pops - 1913-1965: happiness, hardships, health and histrionics (Kindle Edition)
Informative but homely sty of writing, a nostalgic trip down memory lane and well worth the read in every way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars maisie pops, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maisie Pops - 1913-1965: happiness, hardships, health and histrionics (Kindle Edition)
it;s a funny name for a book.but you understand why when you read it .very sad at first but has a good ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maisie Pops - 1913-1965: happiness, hardships, health and histrionics (Kindle Edition)
Thankyou for letting me into Maisie and Les's life, I read the whole book in one, so wonderful, such lovely people. God Bless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one woman's life, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Julie Vanberkel (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maisie Pops - 1913-1965: happiness, hardships, health and histrionics (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this biography. It reminded me, in a way, of the film:Housewife 49.
A very ordinary women telling her story as it unfolded; the up's and down's
and everything else in between. Well worth a read if you like to read this type of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars maisie pops and les---lovely couple, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maisie Pops - 1913-1965: happiness, hardships, health and histrionics (Kindle Edition)
Thank you to Maisie's family for sharing this. Maisie can really describe people and events so that the reader sees them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews