Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!
Before you read this review, you need to know I'm not one of those fans who would review everything Lisa did with 5 stars. She's one of those artists I like, but who can deliver some vey mediocre recordings from time to time. I'm very happy to say though, that this is not one of them and it's barely been out of my CD player since it arrived at Txacoli Towers...
Published 5 months ago by txacoli

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok but not brilliant
No problem th CD but not as good as I hoped it would be. not as good as previous cd's
Published 4 months ago by Raineman


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 12 Feb 2014
By 
txacoli (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
Before you read this review, you need to know I'm not one of those fans who would review everything Lisa did with 5 stars. She's one of those artists I like, but who can deliver some vey mediocre recordings from time to time. I'm very happy to say though, that this is not one of them and it's barely been out of my CD player since it arrived at Txacoli Towers!

Lisa has delivered a stunning album of styles and musical flavours to suit everyone and to those reviewers who feel that she's phoned-in these vocal performances and that they are devoid of emotion, I'm sorry but you are SOOOOO wrong! Starting with the funky dance-pop of "Can't dance", there's an immediate U-turn straight into the finger-snapping big band jazz of "Why", which wouldn't seem out of place in one of those detective film noirs from the 1950's.

I'm not going to review every single song intimately, but even the album filler tracks are of a very high quality. The one downside for this particular reviewer is "The crown", which I'm not at all fond of. With a very strong nod to today's R&B stylings, the lyrics "You're pissing on my ground" I find a little gratuitous and unnecessary - and this from someone who can swear like a navvy when the mood takes me!! Personally, I don't think this particular style suits her, although it takes all sorts and I'm sure others will disagree with this.

Highlights on the album are many, but for sheer perfection, you can't beat "The rain". This is a big, emotional mid-tempo ballad that sounds like it was performed live, thanks to the sound of the Telefilmonic Orchestra in the background. If this isn't a single and doesn't get heavy airplay, then there's something wrong. Also worth a nod are "Stupid heart", which has some fabulous lyrics and sees Lisa chanelling Etta James at her finest and "Conversation", which is a beautiful ballad that will have you stopping what you're doing to listen.

I can't stop playing this CD. I haven't done that with a new CD since I was a teenager and that was a few years ago, although I'm not saying how many........but I was wearing loon pants and platform heels at the time! Go on and buy it. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great New Album from Lisa, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
I have all previous releases from Lisa Stansfield and was looking forward to the new release.

Overall impression, after a couple of listening sessions, is that it is very good. Mostly a bit different to her previous albums but good progression.

Can't wait for more from one of my previous favourite artists.

NOTE TO DISTRIBUTORS: Please stop using the CHEAP cardboard sleeves for CD's. You already make plenty of money so stop penny pinching by using cardboard sleeves. They rip when one tries to remove the sleeve notes or the actual CD. If I have bothered to BUY the CD instead of just downloading the MP3 files it is because I want to 'own' the physical item. Cardboard sleeves are rubbish when stacked in a collection as it is frequently difficult to read the title /artist on the spine, they tear too easily and do not wear well with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gleeful Return To Top Form., 10 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
After 2004's rather dull 'The Moment' labour Stansfield comes roaring back with the magnificent 'Seven'. Older and no doubt wiser her voice has deepened in the intervening years bringing a pathos to her voice that really suits her soulful style. Her love of the soul diva is no more evident on the highlight that is 'Stupid Heart' where she matches Bettye Swann or even Etta James for emotional impact. It's one of several highlights that include the lyrically interesting 'Picket Fence', the sweet Philadelphia soul pop of 'So Be it' and the homage to northern soul 'Carry On' . The decision by Stansfield and her husband Iain Devaney to use a full orchestra for some cuts such as 'The Rain' and 'Conversation' heighten the tension and work very well. If some of the songs are a tad derivative they are all newly written and there's not a filler amongst them. All in all its a fabulous collection of songs sung beautifully with a maturity that comes with living a few years. Some fans hoping for a 80/90s retro album will, no doubt be disappointed with only the 'The Crown' and 'Love Can' really hitting that neo soul feel of programmed drums and keyboards. The musicianship on display is superb consisting, as it does of real musicians playing together and that includes real drums!. It's the essential humanity of musicians playing together and bouncing off each other that wins for me. Honesty is the essence of soul and that what's on display here. There are a number of live bonus tracks on my copy that are current but represent songs from the Lisa canon. They include a knock out live version of 'Someday' replete with a brilliant sax break from Mick Donnelly.It's a gleeful return from Lisa Stansfield.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Return, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
10 long years since Lisa's last album, The Moment and we are gifted the truly wonderful Seven. Where The Moment seemed to lack a certain indefinable something Seven sees Lisa back at her best.

Lead single Can't Dance kicks of proceedings in fine style, a great dance floor filler showcasing Lisa's vocal range and the killer tracks keep on coming, Why is so catchy you'll be humming it all day, So Be It, The Crown and Love Can all have their drama and punch in the emotional lyrics and music, best though are the big Lisa songs, the ballads.

The Rain is as drama filled as anything Adele could deliver, Conversation stops you in your tracks and as for Stupid Heart? For me this is the best Lisa Stansfield song I've ever heard, having heard it live a few times over the last year I was really looking forward to this track on the album and it does not disappoint, a big big song both musically and vocally Lisa gives it her genuine all with that glorious voice and creates real magic - I love it.

To anyone who has ever liked a Lisa Stansfield song I would recommend you go and buy this album, it's been a long wait, but by heck it's been worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth album!, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Tomas Zahorka (St. Louis, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
At 47, Lisa Stansfield's seventh SEVEN album arrives after 10 year's pause from the world of music and immediately secures its place as a classic among Stansfield's discography filled with soul, jazz, blues and dance traks that flow effortlessly and confidently as a mighty river.
From upbeat “Can't Dance” to 70's classic soul sound of “Love Can” you are taken on journey of love, heartbreak, hope, and self respect. Stansfield may have been absent for the past 10 years with occassional gigs in night clubs but now she deserves all the accolades for her work on Seven. On the other hand, she has nothing to prove and it comes through the music of SEVEN. Brilliant Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful and spot on!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
This album glows with soulful abandon, a real treat for the ears on a cold February day!
There is a rich blend of northern soul, disco, ballad and slow burners on offer, that Lisa provides in her own unique style.
If you love Lisa Stansfield's music then buy this, you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stansfield's Super 'Seven', 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven [ALBUM] (Audio CD)
Excellent return from Lisa Stansfield after a long time. Super backing and most of the tracks are excellent. She is appearing locally in September and I have my tickets. Makes some of the modern rubbish appear very poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return from a Long Sabbatical, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
Opening with the Nile Rodgers/Chic/Daft Punk rift of "Can't Dance", "Seven" follows "Face Up" and "The Moment" by abandoning the classic Devaney/Stansfield sound from their first couple of albums that were wildly successful. "Can't Dance" has definitely grown on me from its sneak preview of several months ago. Throughout "Seven", Lisa sounds strong and confident. I just personally miss that signature sound that would probably sound dated today.
Nothing jumps out at me on my first few listenings, but, that is not unusual for me. I trust in time that it will grow on me.
The bonus tracks of some of her classic hits are a nice treat though the U.S. #1/"You Can't Deny It" is quite a bit different from the original release.
I certainly hope that Lisa does tour the states as its been well over a decade that she played New York for a one-off date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!, 16 Feb 2014
By 
A. J. Darbyshire "tonyspost" (East Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
Had the pleasure of seeing Lisa live at The Lowry Salford last summer, she was just great!

Love this album, long overdue cannot understand why Can't Dance didn't chart as it's a great song, maybe something to do with the release date of the album being put back so many times.

Lisa's voice is terrific and the production sound on this album is just the best, buy it you won't be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven is a 9/10...., 10 Feb 2014
By 
N. MUNN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven (Audio CD)
Wow so impressed by this album, her voice has never sounded better, more depth to her vocal range, the musical arrangement is a stand out feature which seams effortlessly to the quality of the songs. Not only the best album I've bought in last few years, I believe it's her best album to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven
Seven by Lisa Stansfield (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews