Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars45
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2014
Yet again Mr Doherty has done it,another fine and brilliant album. Babyshambles are so underrated,I think people only hear the bad things about Pete so don't give the music and lyrics a chance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Some fantastic tunes on this. Pete has really hit his stride. Only Pete could weave '3 blind mice' into a tune and make it utterly compelling. Best 'Shambles record yet? Maybe!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
It's less raw than Down in Albion, Less dark than Shotters Nation, but it's no less in quality, this is brilliant album, and gives Babyshambles softer sound to go with their wide and varying discography. Definitely another triumph in Doherty's songwriting and the packaging and items included in this have such a Babyshambles feel to them, I can't think of a better way of putting it.
Great Album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Pete doherty mad fan here so love everything he does uf solo ,with babyshambkes or libertines,if ur a pete fan ull love this cd with petes great voice,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Clear vinyl with a cd for the car/kitchen, Damien Hirst cover and poster - what's not to like?! Heartfelt, sing-a-long, and a bit sweary - perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
People seem to always write of Peter Doherty because of which the media has portrayed him in the past without even bothering to pause and think for themselves and relies that his body of work is truly excellent. Sequel to the Prequel continues this tradition and each song can hold it's own. A lot has happened since 2005 in society and in peoples lives one of them being peter and the band. You will get Babyshambles fans saying that it sounds to clean or commercial criticizing producer Stephen Street and why can't it not sound rough and raw like there first album Down in Albion. Well each to there own as much as i think Down in Albion is refreshing as was when it was released there was a lot of dead weight tracks and some should considered scraped. Also i like to add Drew McConnell really shows himself as great songwriter writing the majority of the album with Doherty.

This does seem to share similar themes and content to Shotter's Nation which was quiet dark and reflection of personal experiences and feelings of who was involved. This on the other hand does differ is lot more dare i say happier and written hindsight with more wise attitude to past events. I will not use the word mature to describe a rock n roll band this is not organic cheese were talking about here anyways to the tracks.

Fireman - The opener is a little punky short number just clocking in at 1:41 still has a edgy youthful punch that could be compared to the libertines song Horrorshow or early Ramones for the fact and is straight to the point.

Nothing Comes From Nothing - First single from the record and is a personal favorite and is the marmite of the album. You either love it like myself or hate it and it reminds me of a typical three minute 60's single which leaves you wanting more.

New Pair - Nice breather of track and really does complement the album as a whole and wouldn't surprise me if this was a Doherty solo demo kicking around for a while neither the less it is a good solid track and a great follow up to previous one.

Farmers Daughter - This were Stephen Street really pushes Doherty to sing louder and more powerful like his 2009 solo effort Grace/Wastelands pushes him further in the right direction vocal wise. This is a future classic and real crowd pleaser when played live another great track in the can.

Fall From Grace - when you listen to this you are lost to the world for the next 4 minutes and twenty seconds and is one of those pinch me i must be dreaming moments. One of the best doherty songs written in years and is proper traditional song writing which is nice to see still being recorded and released today.

Maybelline - I remember some years ago hearing this in the early stages and most likely a demo but still expressed. Well for those who purchased the Vinyl like myself this is the last track on the A side and makes you rush to play the other side eager for more. This truly is a marvelous track and glad to hear it in it's complete form.

Sequel to the Prequel - The title track is a strange one of which i like lot but falls a tad short of the last 5 tracks. It is a similar but more upbeat than Sweet by and by of Doherty solo effort but still is a good track.

Dr.No - I find myself skipping this one already and that is never good sign and is the weakest on the album. I still listen to it but it does seem to kill the albums form. It has a ska feel to it and I love the track I Wish from the Blinding EP but sadly this does not compete but still worth a listen time to time.

Penguins - A totally inventive track and it really sticks out on the track listing and luckily it is a total gem and after listen after listen gets the album back on track with another highlight.

Picture Me in A Hospital - This is clearly about bassist Drew McConnell accident that left him critically injured in a road accident if i stand corrected. The song it's self could be labelled folk but it is a strong track but is a grower but keeps the consistency going.

Seven Shades - This i really do hope gets some attention and is played live and doesn't get ignored. The band is tight and deliver musically and lyrically it is top notch.

Minefield - This could be on Shotter's nation and be a perfect fit. This track is haunting and screams a warning to anyone who plays around in a dangerous world of drugs. It is a brilliant track and a brilliant way to end an album.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Brilliant album, Babyshambles are back and better than ever. Favourite songs have to be Maybelline and Nothing Comes To Nothing - top album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
you will love his C.D ....... great mixture of techno work with brilliant vocals as is the norm for this band, truly a great band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
This album is superb, full of catchy tunes and great sounds, definitely Babyshambles finest! A Must buy for any Babyshambles fan!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Un normale lavoro dei Babyshambles, potete trovare quello che vi aspettate ma niente di nuovo, interessante il Bonus Disc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)