Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well up to Laura's usual standard
Laura has always had great respect for country music's traditions, yet has managed to keep her music relevant to changing trends. This still sounds like a country album, but with some noticeable differences compared to yesteryear.

Laura wrote or co-wrote all of the songs except Beg or borrow days (written by Jennifer O'Connor). When I first saw the track...
Published 13 months ago by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A fresh, pleasant collection of original songs
Laura Cantrell has a light, clear voice and the musical arrangements of her country songs use simple, stripped-down instrumentation that avoids the rhinestone corn of so much of that genre. This is her fifth studio album and on first listen it comes across as a fresh, pleasant collection of original songs that deserves further attention. However, it appears pale in...
Published 26 days ago by MR M H NUTT


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well up to Laura's usual standard, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Way There From Here (Audio CD)
Laura has always had great respect for country music's traditions, yet has managed to keep her music relevant to changing trends. This still sounds like a country album, but with some noticeable differences compared to yesteryear.

Laura wrote or co-wrote all of the songs except Beg or borrow days (written by Jennifer O'Connor). When I first saw the track listing, I wondered if Washday blues might by a cover of an obscure Dolly Parton track (a top 30 country hit in the 70's for her in America) but Laura's recording is her own song, and very impressive it is with a plaintive mandolin, sounding like a bluesy song should do in a country setting.

After a couple of plays, my provisional favorite tracks are Driving down your street (featuring a tastefully played banjo), the title track and Washday blues, but there is plenty of great music here that should delight all of Laura's existing fans and possibly win her some new fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fresh, pleasant collection of original songs, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Laura Cantrell has a light, clear voice and the musical arrangements of her country songs use simple, stripped-down instrumentation that avoids the rhinestone corn of so much of that genre. This is her fifth studio album and on first listen it comes across as a fresh, pleasant collection of original songs that deserves further attention. However, it appears pale in comparison to her brilliant debut of 2000, 'Not the trembling kind', that John Peel famously described as possibly the favourite album of his life. It set a standard that, sadly, she is unlikely to ever achieve again. It is not Laura's voice that has deteriorated over the years, it is the quality of the songs and that is what is lacking from this latest album: great songs. That said, there is nothing to dislike here. But neither is there anything to amaze me. It needs something to add substance to the fragile vulnerability of her singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laura - - a slow burner, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Way There From Here (Audio CD)
At first hearing this is not as impactful as other LC albums. Hopefully it grows on me over the coming weeks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not mine!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Way There From Here (Audio CD)
Actually this was bought for my husband but I really like it too. He loves it! Bit of a change from her other albums - slower - what's not to like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Long Wait, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Way There From Here (Audio CD)
A brilliant return, Saw Laura at Union Chapel in London and she was perfect live as well as on record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth the wait, 2 May 2014
This review is from: No Way There From Here (Audio CD)
I always look forward to new material from laure Cantrell and this doesn't disappoint would happily recommend to anyone who likes good female vocals and song's with intelligent lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loving Laura, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Way There From Here (Audio CD)
Another great CD from Laura Cantrell - I have only played it a few times but already it is growing on me and will shortly be up there with her other greats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this artist!, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Robert Westfall (Avon, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Way There From Here (Audio CD)
Another good one from laura. Comes on the heels of "Kitty Wells Dresses." More original
Material here. She is always good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly good, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Way There From Here (Audio CD)
A am a fan, but even so this is a fantastic album. If you like her other albums, you MUST get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works for me, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Way There From Here (Audio CD)
Listen to the clips - if you like Laura Cantrell I don't think you'll be disappointed. If you don't like it, don't buy it - simple enough really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Way There From Here
No Way There From Here by Laura Cantrell (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews