Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book - Still breathing review
I read this book because i'm interested in crime books and fashion. What I didn't expect to learn about was the dedication, heartache, love, loss and well downright cheek of the Donnelly brothers and their life time.

I could not believe how difficult yet interesting a family from Wythenshawe could be. I was captured from the introduction of the book and living...
Published 8 months ago by Antony Vaughan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read
Interesting read about two pioneers of the rave scene, though personally not a fan of the label you can't help but admire what the guys achieved and how many people they touched through clothes or music
Published 1 month ago by Iain McMillan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book - Still breathing review, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book because i'm interested in crime books and fashion. What I didn't expect to learn about was the dedication, heartache, love, loss and well downright cheek of the Donnelly brothers and their life time.

I could not believe how difficult yet interesting a family from Wythenshawe could be. I was captured from the introduction of the book and living not far from the area and learning that the brothers built a fashion empire, instantly had me intrigued.

The book starts off with the up bringing of the brothers and their family life. It goes on to detail the love, loss and commitment towards their love of fashion. The brothers started Gio-Goi and made it a hugely successful fashion brand, the images and celebrities they managed to get into their clothing is amazing. The books mentions how the brand became a 40 million pound a year company and then due to a few suits and bad decisions it comes crashing down. There is an exciting twist to this but I'll leave you to read that for yourselves.

The book then moves it focus to the new Brand ,YO (Your Own) which is booming and involved in Music, Management, Events and is exploding into the fashion industry.

This really is an excellent purchase and if you want something to relate to then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic if it was cake I would eat it every day, 17 Nov 2013
Id it was cake I would eat it every day - it is not a book you start reading and put down. It grips and holds you tighter than a lover from the first pages of a tough childhood through the madness of the ecstatic late 80's; via the crashing loss of the whole gio empire - to the tough childhood coming back in the form of grown men who would not take being knocked down lightly, and came back bigger, better, brighter. C & A Donnelly you are fantastic and an inspiration to anyone who thinks because they are not from the typical background in this area, they will not succeed - you have proved a million people wrong. Keep it up. In anticipation of part two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly good!, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could not put this book down. I was completely gripped from start to finish. Some truly shocking stories together with some very funny ones too. I would highly recomend this book to anybody from around the "Madchester" era. Great work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think I gasped in horror and laughed out loud in equal measure at the stories of the Donnelly bothers' early life. This is not another gangster story. It's the true story of a couple of lads from a council estate in Wythenshawe who see opportunities where most don't and who take massive risks - with amazing results. This book is gritty and honest and at times, completely laid bare. They pull no punches and it makes for a fabulous read. It was surprisingly very funny. I was utterly gripped right to the very last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mint, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A trip down memory lane through the heady days of the Madchester era. Brilliant and brutally honest.. The Benchill boys have done us proud..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Breathing: The True Adventures of the Donnelly Brothers - From Organised Crime to Kings of Fashion (Kindle Edition)
Interesting read about two pioneers of the rave scene, though personally not a fan of the label you can't help but admire what the guys achieved and how many people they touched through clothes or music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top book, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read. Couldn't put the book down. Great ylto see what you can achieve if you have the nerve and balls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab!!!!, 25 May 2014
By 
S. J. Barlow "sam369" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Breathing: The True Adventures of the Donnelly Brothers - From Organised Crime to Kings of Fashion (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book, couldnt put it down, defo worth a read! The world of gio goi really intrested me I alway thought it was japan, how little did I know lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent adventure of how two Brothers succeed in business.., 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Breathing: The True Adventures of the Donnelly Brothers - From Organised Crime to Kings of Fashion (Kindle Edition)
From early in the book you knew they were adventurous and had a goal to make money and have lots of fun.
The family support was a great backing for the Brothers especially the Sister who was always their to help and support them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 3 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Breathing: The True Adventures of the Donnelly Brothers - From Organised Crime to Kings of Fashion (Kindle Edition)
Fab story about these 2 brothers who gave birth to the clothing label gio goi highs and lows interesting reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews