Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2013
When is this going to be released in the UK? It's music to make you smile and goodness knows we need a bit of that. Wife and I were lucky enough to do a mini road trip to the deep south of the USA in March 2013 and whilst there we visited the Grand Ol' Opry; not particularly into country music but amazing how good it sounds when you are actually there (and we've listened to loads since the trip) - one of the acts on the show (which was a fantastic experience) was a young duo that the younger sections of the audience went crazy for; they played 3 songs including 'Cruise' and 'Get your shine on' and they lit the place up. Back at the hotel we Googled them and discovered that they are the latest rising stars of country music and we determined to download any album they might have out so we ended up with 'Here's to the Good Times' and what a slice of feelgood music it is - yes it's country but also rocky and rappy, produced by the same person who produced Nickelback and is a good summertime soundtrack. All the tracks are excellent and name check lots of Americana (cars,booze and places) in a Beach Boys kind of way. Next time it's raining, grey and your creeping through traffic on the M25 play this album and I promise you will be cruisin' Route 66 in an open top Ford Mustang (or some such), the sun will be shining and you will be 20 years old again.....and not on the way to/from work haha. Enjoy.
22 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
INTRODUCTION:

Florida Georgia Line is a male country vocal duo formed in Nashville, Tennessee: Brian Kelley (from Ormond Beach, Florida) and Tyler Hubbard (from Monroe, Georgia). From the names of their respective states, one can figure out how the group’s name came about.
Florida Georgia Line released 2 EPs: Anything Like Me in 2010 (uncharted), and It’z Just What We Do (C&W 18/2013). On July 16, 2012, Florida Georgia Line signed with Republic Nashville, part of the Big Machine Label Group, and released the current album Here’s To The Good Times. The five songs from their second EP were included in the current album.

CONTENT:

This set has 11 tracks plus 2 exclusive bonus tracks. The highlight of this wonderful album has to be the song “Cruise”. Besides currently sitting at Number 1 on the Billboard Country Chart, “Cruise” has the unique achievement in reaching Number 1 on 3 separate occasions, and on two separate years. “Cruise” first reached Number 1 on the Billboard Country Chart on December 14 2013 for 3 weeks. Contrary to most cases when one drops out of Number 1, it will quickly drop out of Top 10, “Cruise” returned to Number 1 on January 11, 2013 for 2 weeks. Amazingly, “Cruise” returned to Number 1 again the third time on April 12, 2013, and has been firmly entrenched at Number 1 for 8 weeks and counting, with 48 weeks on the chart, and still Number 1! Amazing feat! Their follow-up hit “Get Your Shine On” peaked at Number 5 and failed to dislodge this amazing song “Cruise.”

The song listing (with chart position and year) is as follows:

HERE’S TO THE GOOD TIMES – Florida Georgia Line (Republic Nashville 178950) peaked at Number 1 on Country Album Chart and Number 4 on Billboard 200 (2.1 million copies sold):
01 Cruise (C&W 1/2012; 1/2013)*24 weeks at No. 1 – all time No. 1 Country Hit; Pop 5/2013)*3 million copies sold!
02 Round Here (C&W 3/2013)
03 Get Your Shine On (C&W 5/2013; C&W Airplay 1/2013)*1,008,000 copies sold.
04 Here’s To The Good Times (C&W 33/2013)
05 It’z Just What We Do
06 Stay (C&W 1(6)/2013)
07 Hell Raisin’ Heat Of The Summer
08 Tell Me How You Like It
09 Tip It Back
10 Dayum, Baby (featuring Sarah Buxton)(C&W 49/2013)
11 Party People (featuring Jaren Johnston of the Cadillac Black)
Bonus tracks:
12 What Are You Drinking About
13 Country In My Soul

Like most country albums, the audio is simply excellent and very well remastered, clean, crisp and vibrant. Great job!

AWARDS:

In the Academy of Country Music Award, Florida Georgia Line won New Vocal Duo or Group of 2013 and New Artist of 2013. In 2013 Billboard Music Award, “Cruise” was nominated for Top Country Song. In 2013 CMT Music Awards, “Cruise” won Duo Video of 2013 and Breakthrough Video of 2013. Also, as noted above, “Cruise” will occupy a very unique position in Billboard Top Country Chart as the song with the longest stay at No. 1 (24 weeks).

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The entire album is thoroughly enjoyable, especially the song “Cruise.” The sound is simply superb! Just sit back, turn up the volume and enjoy your “Cruise” on the Florida Georgia Line. This album is highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Great new talent certainly one too keep a watch on. Would love too see them in concert. Love the whole album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
This is 100% the best cd I have ever bought, every single track is 10/10. They all got a great sound with rock/hip hop and good bass with cruise featuring Nelly however every song still has that feel good country roots concreting the song. Even if u are not a fan of country I would definitely consider listening to some of their songs especially "cruise" and "get your shine on". Been listen to this cd in the car, on my MP3 and in the house for about 5 months now and no matter how many times I listen to I cant bring myself to change the cd its that good, Hooked on Florida Georgia Line!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Very good, I like current country music still keeping some old style flavour(not like Ms. Swift who is mostly pop). All songs are very well crafted but the way they sing is a little over the top so at some point it becomes tiresome, but still very entertaining. I want to see their next work because it will be very difficult to match this success without getting worn out soon. In any case their achievement is outstanding: Nr. 1 in the country chart for 24 weeks, half a year¡¡. Now they hold the al time record. Congratulations FGL and thanks for the good times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Give them a go, really good music. Modern country western with a twist, Nelly appears on one track to give an idea of the type of twist. Great
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
This album is fantastic, Absolutely amazing. Give it 5 out of 5, Not a bad thing I can say about it. The best CD I've listened to in a while.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I choose the star rating because it's fabulous. I would recommend this to everyone on the planet best cd I've ever bought.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Excellent CD if you like country music with a touch of pop thrown in. Every song is very good. Listened to daily.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
A good album. Not all songs are on the best level but I guess that happens to all albuns unless they're something like a "greates hits" or similar.
FGL have brought my attention to a new kind of perspective about country music and made me find other artists alike.
I was not the biggest fan of country music but this more "pop" approaches bring some fresh air to it in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£4.74

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)