Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Detective Corrigan Short Story
Luke Delaney has the knack of writing a short story that seems like a full length novel. This is a superb demonstration of this talent. DI Sean Corrigan has gone undercover and infiltrated a gang who have a lorry full of stolen laptops. They are renowned for robbery but have avoided apprehension. Corrigan uses his guile and instincts to try and capture the culprits...
Published 7 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So So ..
Not Mr Delaneys best work , didn't really like the subject matter , much prefer a good serial killer book . Still it was well written and worth the read , 3 stars from me .
Published 3 months ago by elizabeth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Detective Corrigan Short Story, 18 Jan 2014
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Network: A DI Sean Corrigan short story (Kindle Edition)
Luke Delaney has the knack of writing a short story that seems like a full length novel. This is a superb demonstration of this talent. DI Sean Corrigan has gone undercover and infiltrated a gang who have a lorry full of stolen laptops. They are renowned for robbery but have avoided apprehension. Corrigan uses his guile and instincts to try and capture the culprits.

His next assignment is tougher as he has been asked to infiltrate a paedophile Network ring and find out where the Sanctum is where the filming takes place. Not only is this dangerous but his decision is personally painful with memories of his own childhood abuse. He agrees to take on the undercover operation that puts him in violent confrontational situations as he attempts to nail the main man in the organisation. Again, bluff, quick-wittedness, reading a situation and working the minds of his adversaries are gifts Corrigan possesses and he really needs them in this thrilling and cleverly written story that focuses on extreme perversion, childhood exploitation with psychological overtones.

Luke Delaney has delivered a masterly short story in the Detective Sean Corrigan series. Compulsive reading. An extract from the next Corrigan novel 'The Toy Taker' is included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A series to read and become a fan of, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Network: A DI Sean Corrigan short story (Kindle Edition)
NO SPOILERS

I enjoyed this though the writing is still raw and needs the refinement that comes with experience. Some parts were too unbelievable so these led to me making it a 4 star not a 5 star. That said it kept me hooked and I bought the follow up and will stick with Luke Delaney I think.

Whether he will rank in the crime hierarchy time will tell but there is potential definitely potential.

The story takes you to some dark places and there are some shocking insights into the sickness of humans, some people will no doubt find it too disturbing. It isn't graphic as such but it is heartfelt overview which is somehow worse/better.

Crime readers who like to get into the nitty gritty you should definitely read this and the follow up. Be patient with a new author though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bit slow., 16 Jun 2014
By 
Brian M. Matsell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Network: A DI Sean Corrigan short story (Kindle Edition)
Can't say much more. Started it and haven't finished it as I am currently engrossed in the wonderful DCI Banks novels by the wonderful Peter Robinson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., 9 May 2014
By 
Lynne Coulson (Bromley, Kent. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Network: A DI Sean Corrigan short story (Kindle Edition)
Can't wait for more by this author. Love the main protagonist. Sean Corrigan is an excellent written character. More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So So .., 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Network: A DI Sean Corrigan short story (Kindle Edition)
Not Mr Delaneys best work , didn't really like the subject matter , much prefer a good serial killer book . Still it was well written and worth the read , 3 stars from me .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Network: A DI Sean Corrigan short story (Kindle Edition)
I love Like Delaney and I love Sean Corrigan
I did feel that there could have been so much more to this book the story was good but far too short
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Network: A DI Sean Corrigan short story (Kindle Edition)
I don't believe in telling what the story is about ........ suffice to say that it is very good. I couldn't put it down and have read the other two of his books as well......brilliant !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 April 2014
By 
Cari Percy "creative bookworm" (Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Network: A DI Sean Corrigan short story (Kindle Edition)
This is a sort of prequel book to an excellent series, all of which I would recommend to anyone interested in crime thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Network: A DI Sean Corrigan short story (Kindle Edition)
Here's another great read....although it's a short story it does fill in the gaps that are missing in his full novels. Brilliant again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, but sucks you into the plot straight away., 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Network: A DI Sean Corrigan short story (Kindle Edition)
Having read several Peter James books, this appealed, as it had a similar theme. I found it gripping, if a little uncomfortable in subject matter at times. Having said that, overall it was enjoyable.
This would definitely be a recommended read for anyone who enjoys a gritty, gripping and realistic police drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews