Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets go to Mexico baby!
This album is fantastic, thank you Motorhead for delivering this great rolicking album! It starts off brilliantly with 'Heartbreaker' an uptempo piece that features great riffing from Phil, a nice solo, good drumming from mikkey and the standard gruff vocals from Lemmy!

All of the songs are great! No filler here! 'Going to mexico' is a great rocking tune that...
Published 9 months ago by Man Of Leisure

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
Disappointed. I'm a fan of Motörhead but I have to be honest, nearly every track is identical. It feels very uninspired and repetitive.
Published 22 days ago by T. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets go to Mexico baby!, 21 Oct 2013
By 
This album is fantastic, thank you Motorhead for delivering this great rolicking album! It starts off brilliantly with 'Heartbreaker' an uptempo piece that features great riffing from Phil, a nice solo, good drumming from mikkey and the standard gruff vocals from Lemmy!

All of the songs are great! No filler here! 'Going to mexico' is a great rocking tune that serves up images of an outlaw going to Mexico to escape the police, or perhaps to evade the woman in 'Queen of the damned', to live a life of drinking in bars and living in brothels... only to get the whorehouse blues! (perhaps I have an overactive imagination). 'Do you believe' is a superb rock n roll anthem ("rock n roll do you believe"!? growls lemmy) that contains a sublime riff from Phil and some great solos. The track 'Silence when you speak to me' contains an almighty riff (sounds almost like an AIC/Jerry Cantrell type riff) and sees Lemy at his most cynical where he declares "we are all liars" maybe aimed at the government or beurocracy in general. And 'Keep your powder dry' is another nice anthem that contains a wonderful guitar solo!

The album finishes on a high with another up tempo number in 'Paralysed' where Lemmy tells the allegory of him chasing gold in the jungle (surely a metaphor of the career he's had where he has no regrets) where he quips "You'd do the same if it was you"? indeed in his position I would have tried to bed 10,000 Queens of the damned, with an ugly face or not, who cares, even though we might end up with a knife in our backs! It would have been worth it, goddam :) but there is always the whorehouse in Mexico to fall back on...

Even though all of the tracks are strong I do think that the stand out tracks (for this listener) are the slow paced songs 'Lost Woman Blues' and 'Dust and glass'. The former is a wonderful bluesy ballad (about a lost love) which towards the end shifts gears and bursts into life with an up tempo rock blast that ends the song magnificently! The later is both poignant and reflective, which shows off Lemmys philosopical side in his lyrics: "Born in Pain/end in grief/remember this and... die".

In addition I must also mention the Album artwork! It is terrific! On the front sleeve the War Pig floats amongst the wreckage of WW2 tanks (reflecting Lemmy's love of WW2 armaments etc) with one eye menancingly open, about to wreck carnage and chaos once more, like the death machine it is! Also The back sleeve features two old abandoned war jeeps caught up in the sand of the desert, like relics of a forgotten time and place.

Lastly I recommend you buy this album with the fanzine magazine as it contains new interviews, a history of the band, car sticker and a double sided poster! This adds a nice touch to the overall package! So, thanks Lemmy, phil and Mikkey in continuing to make great music and in keeping this cynical old dog happy, even if it's just for the 49 minutes that this CD lasts, but at least I can play it again, and again, and again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars legends do it again!, 17 Nov 2013
to produce one of your finest albums after 38 years is quite remarkable
but lemmy and the boys acccomplish just that, top n otch stuff with phil cambell
playing out of his skin with fine riffs and stunning solo's
great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Head album ever?, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. G. J. Andrews "Archie" (Southampton. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic album! I am deeply rooted in old school Motorhead - Golden Years EP was the first metal record I owned - so its taken me a few years to get my head around anything past Orgasmatron. Catching up has been fun but this album just tops it all. There will be better reviews on Amazon and they will no doubt go for track by track critiques but I will just say this - this is now my favourite Motorhead album ever so buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of there best ., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have followed Motorhead since 1978 and for me this is one of there best Album after the Ace of Spades. As all motorhead albums you know what your going to get so don't expect anything different.This is Motorhead at their best and they Play "Rock n Roll".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars because my husband and me love it, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband loves motorhead got it for christmas from me we both really enjoy it we think its great thankyou from mrs alison millsxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aftershock (Jewel Case) (Audio CD)
Bought for my step-dad as a birthday present. Arrived in good condition and sounded great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 7 July 2014
By 
T. Jones (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aftershock (Audio CD)
Disappointed. I'm a fan of Motörhead but I have to be honest, nearly every track is identical. It feels very uninspired and repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motorheadbanger, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loud & Raw!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for a Motör fan, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb fan magazine that every fan must have and every rock'n'roller should have
The album is one ofthe bands best in years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly Brilliant!, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, just fantastic from Lemmy and the guys! All the tracks are great listening - Motorhead at their best. CD was nice bonus but the album is was worth it by itself. Aftershock has it all - tracks that are reminiscent of early classic Motorhead and other tracks that are more blues in title and sound. Pure Rock & Roll. Warn the neighbours, crank up the volume, sit back and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aftershock (Jewel Case)
Aftershock (Jewel Case) by Motörhead (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews