Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A miser
I'm a miserable git when it comes to music sometimes...... However....this is a refreshing piece of musical artwork with some surprising 80's undertones that remind me of Go West, Simple Minds with a twist of grunge and nostalgic 'i'm 16 again cheese'...... Not my favorite album ever but still.......some nice melodies and a handful of tunes that you 'll want to listen to...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. R. Watson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lyrics?
Like the album a lot, but cant decipher 80% of the lyrics! Good blend of pop/indie and its my year of birth so just had to have it!
Published 7 months ago by Mr M J Lawrence


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A miser, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. R. Watson "Richard Head" (Sheffield . UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1975 (Audio CD)
I'm a miserable git when it comes to music sometimes...... However....this is a refreshing piece of musical artwork with some surprising 80's undertones that remind me of Go West, Simple Minds with a twist of grunge and nostalgic 'i'm 16 again cheese'...... Not my favorite album ever but still.......some nice melodies and a handful of tunes that you 'll want to listen to again and again. Not 1975 but more 1985......!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not (quite) a masterpiece, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1975 (Audio CD)
The 1975 come on like New Model Army but sound like Prefab Sprout, overlaid with Muse minus the histrionics. On paper this does not seem like a particularly edifying proposition but, confoundingly, it very much is for the simple reason that the tunes are great.

Lazy and snide comparisons with such '80s shockers as Duran, Simple Minds, Mr Mister and Cutting Crew don’t really hold up: The 1975 may be many things but AOR isn’t one of them. Equally, while generic Blue-Eyed Synth Soul is rightly deplored, there were in fact a handful of credible acts in this mode, e.g. Blue Nile, Scritti Politti and the aforementioned Prefabs. Those slightly artier leanings are, to my ears, far more discernible on this album, alongside other perfectly acceptable period influences such as Orange Juice, Talking Heads and Prince, with the latter’s groove-based method especially informing The 1975’s song writing style (you won’t find many profound chord changes on this record).

Lyrically The 1975 also set themselves slightly apart – while the indie staples of small town boredom, dissolution and yearning are all present and correct there is also a refreshing strand of young masculine gender politics, wryly conscious of the broken contract that is ‘have-it-all’ feminism. Without this final element there might be reasonable grounds for suspecting it’s all a bit too good to be true: a finely calibrated jumping-off point for the captive market of girls about to outgrow One Direction.

The 1975 is an accomplished and hugely enjoyable album containing at least six irresistibly catchy pop tunes, an eminently likeable vibe and an interesting new slant on what it means to be young and male in the second decade of the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plays on the ears...sensual and smooth!, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: The 1975 (Audio CD)
This album speaks to me, as a 19 year old, somewhat strongly. Its themes of sex, relationships, the thoughts of an individual etc, are all extremely relevant to the youth of this day. A lot of it I find somewhat hard to listen to as it evokes memories and experiences of the past - in a good way, but a lot of the songs are nostalgic in this way.

The best songs on the album for me are She Way Out, Chocolate, The City, Heart Out, Settle Down, M.O.N.E.Y., Girls, and Robbers. Even the shorter minute-long instrumental excerpts are relaxing and atmosphere-bursting to listen to. I'd say it stands together best as a whole album, a collective emotional experience, better than listening to individual tracks but I'm sure I'm not in the majority.

It's a great, innovative and sensual album - very strong to me. Really nicely presented too. I love the image this band have - it perfectly fits to their sound, their video for 'Girls' being completely unexpected but it's shown me a happier side to the track, which I am grateful for.

The deluxe version contains all their past EPs too, more often than not, the songs as their appear on the actual album sound different to how they originally appeared on the EPs. I'd recommend it simply as it extends the experience, with more of something that works well on the album.

The Deluxe version is a lovely product - and I bet the standard CD is too. Wish I'd bought the Vinyl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1975, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: The 1975 (Audio CD)
Best album Iv brought in years have not stopped listening to it, my favorite song is robbers but not a bad song on the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kicks Ass!!, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1975 (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant - love Chocolate which is why I bought the album. Fantastic tracks on there The City, M.O.N.E.Y., Heart Out, Settle Down - Particularly Great. Brilliant album, can't stop playing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lyrics?, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1975 (Audio CD)
Like the album a lot, but cant decipher 80% of the lyrics! Good blend of pop/indie and its my year of birth so just had to have it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1975 (Audio CD)
This CD album lives up to expectations. The music is as nostalgic and brusque as the name suggests, and I would recommend to any fan of Alternate or Rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 15 Oct 2013
By 
J. Russell (Grimsby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1975 (Audio CD)
I'm not usually a massive fan of alternative rock (dont shoot me if this isn't the correct genre) but after hearing The City, Chocolate, and Sex i gave them a more intensive listen on Youtube. After i heard Menswear half way through i decided i needed this album, i didnt even listen further at that point i just ordered it and downloaded the MP3 versions of all the songs and gave them a proper HD listen on my computer. Amazing album, the lead singer has an amazing voice.

Take the punt and get this, so many good songs which i know will slowly filter into my most played playlist, like im sure 90% of other listeners will be thinking. Some great meanings and lyrics in here too, this isn't just catchy alternative music, this is good meaningful stuff if you decide to listen with a careful ear. A nice change, get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant hit with room to grow, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1975 (Audio CD)
The singles hook you in and then the whole album builds into a catchy, enjoyable and excellent piece of work.
80s all over this but also something new.
Will be playing this for a few years. Top stuff.
Oh and Menswear is a genius track!!!

WARNING: After a few listens it is addictive and you will be hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly excellent, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 1975 (Audio CD)
While I had been captivated by the singles Chocolate and Sex, the album proved to be one of the best of the year, from start to end there is no filler (even the interludes add a sense of atmosphere). Overall I could not praise this album more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 1975 [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews