Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic Comedy
If you look at the classic comedies over the years, there seem to be a number of common themes - in particular a number of strong and contrasting characters (even though there may be a strong central character - Basil Fawlty, Risgsby, Del Trotter etc.) and following a situation that most of us wouldn't really want to be in (either because we've been there and don't want...
Published 11 months ago by Nige

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a Disappointment
I just love David Walliams' humour but found this dvd completely dull and cannot understand what some reviewers raved about. Utter waste of money - but more importantly a real waste of talent when it comes from David Walliams and Phillip Glennister. All of the characters are far too stereotyped. Anyone who has taught in a secondary school would see this straight away.
Published 2 months ago by Rowena


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic Comedy, 26 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Big School - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you look at the classic comedies over the years, there seem to be a number of common themes - in particular a number of strong and contrasting characters (even though there may be a strong central character - Basil Fawlty, Risgsby, Del Trotter etc.) and following a situation that most of us wouldn't really want to be in (either because we've been there and don't want to go back or because the sheer idea of it gives us the shivers) - after all, who would really want to do business with Del Boy, live in one of Rigsby's bedsits or stay at Fawlty Towers?!

Big School is in a similar vein - a strong cast of dispirate teachers who we almost certainly wouldn't want teaching our kids (but who we probably recognise to a greater or lesser degree from our own schooldays)! Other reviewers have highlighted some stand out moments so I won't repeat them here (although I have to add the methane chemistry experiment to the list of favourites) but suffice to say that this was outstanding comedy.

However, Big School is a bit of a guilty secret - you wouldn't sit down and watch it with your granny and, equally, watching it with your kids may result in having to answer some uncomfortable questions. For that reason, don't open the package until the kids have gone to bed and then indulge yourself. Not everyone will appreciate the humour but as long as you're the sort of person that has a little snigger at things they shouldn't from time to time, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class !!!, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. D. L. Cleall (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big School - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic 6 part series that really made me and "other people" laugh out loud....It is set at Greybridge school which is run by "headmistress" Ms Baron (Frances De La Tour)who Loves to confiscate the alcohol from her pupils so that she can drink it.

The story is mainly about a chemistry teacher Mr church (David Walliams), and Mr Gunn (Philip Glenister) who compete with each other for Miss Postern (Catherine Tate)to go out with them which creates some really funny moments.

There is also some other great actors in this series as well...the "down trodden" constantly depressed Mr Barber (Steve Spiers) who plays a geography teacher, and Mr Martin (Daniel Rigby) the music teacher who dreams of becoming a rock star.

Every episode opens with Mr church demonstrating an "amazing" experiment to his bored pupils who are totally un-impressed by them, and this really sets the scene for each episode.

The extras on the dvd are really good and some of them should have been kept in especially when Miss Postern explains to the class that when she puts a beret on her head it makes her French and when she takes it of she is English again.....there are also some good commentaries to listen to as well from David Walliams and the Dawson brothers for episode 1 and 6 and also for the deleted scenes.

I cannot recommend this dvd enough...as it is hilarious !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's BRILLIANT!, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Big School - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is hilarious! By far the funniest thing on TV in ages. The headmistress is brilliant and the geography exam charades is a classic... It's just a shame there were only 6 episodes and I'm hoping there'll be a Second Series! Walliams and Dawson Bros have certainly come up with the goods here. If you haven't seen it yet I can definitely recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Big School - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
LOVED this show... laughed out loud so many times. Clever script and great cast. What more could you want. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big School - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Hope there will be a second series as this first one is hilarious.All the cast were great...Walliams at his best and Catherine Tate too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent from Walliams and Tate, 14 Nov 2013
By 
B. Russell - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big School - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
David Wallaims and Catherine Tate are amazing seperatly - but put them together and then you get comedy genius (also known as Big School). Furthermore, the accompany cast, including Phillip Glenister and Francis De La Tour, add to the great humour of the show.

The setting of a secondary school is perfect for this comedy, which is admired for an excellent script and an excellent cast. The adventures of Mr Church are extremley funny. My favourite episode has to be 'Talent Show' where the school host a charity talent show to find the best teacher at the school - I was in stitches.

I think this comedy is excellent and I am really hoping for another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adoring show!, 23 July 2014
By 
rslh (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big School - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely adore this show. Catherine and David are both a joy to watch on screen - TOGETHER! Their chemistry is devilishly cheeky. I'm American so after my first taste of Series 1 of The Catherine Tate Show, I couldn't really get into it. After seeing her in Doctor Who, I just couldn't get enough of her. I then picked up where I left of on the CT show and FELL. IN. LOVE! In awe with her AND the show. She's indeed a multi-talented/faceted actress. I'm very much looking forward to Series 2 of Big School this August.

At any rate, enjoy the show. It's a decisively smart/quiet (not gut-busting) and a nichey bit of sitcom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big School, 21 Sep 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big School - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A surprisingly sweet and often laugh out loud comedy set in a secondary school, Big School settles in nicely on a Friday evening.

A new teacher arrives and a fierce rivalry sparks. Mr Church and Mr Gunn rarley see eye to eye at the best of times but their exploits in trying to catch Miss Poston's attention get more and more ludicrous as the series continues. A stand out scene in a Geography exam being one of the most hilarious fight scenes since Colin Firth went toe to toe with Hugh Grant in Bridget Jones.

The characters are all a joy to watch and nobody outstays their welcome. It was also a good move to focus on the teachers rather than the pupils. We go behind the scenes in the Headmistresses' office and the staff room rather than watching the pupils in the classroom.

The laughs are plentiful with a smattering of sweetness thrown in for good measure. The relationship between Church and Poston has a natural arc which only helps to hold your interest in this will they wont they love story. David Walliams, Phillip Glenister and Catherine Tate are all fantastic.

A second series would be welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big School - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Love the programme so wanted to watch it over and over again! Never get bored of it- so utterly brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant cast!, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big School - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It is not just the great story lines but the acting is so superb that the combination is one of the best seies on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big School - Series 1 [DVD]
Big School - Series 1 [DVD] by Tony Dow (DVD - 2013)
7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews