Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars55
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2013
I don't feel that this book had any information that wasn't in the public domain. Wish I had waited to read the girls own stories
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Poorly written book, I purchased as I was interested in what happened to the poor kidnapped girls.
Written in a school project style - jumping all over the place with facts and Mrs X said '........' etc.
The author had obviously done their research but as the girls involved have not released information on what actually happened to them it was a waste of a read.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
A boring and uninformative read. It contained little more information than is available on Arial Castro's Wikipedia page. It it also extremely repetitive. It was simply written during the hype of the girls discovery, in order to make money off the hype.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
A fairly jumbled version of events, in tabloid style writing. Doesn't reveal much at all, i.e. motives behind the sexual capture of the woman, and no accounts from the woman themselves. Wait until the woman's own version of events are published if you want a true and more accurate account.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
Please read the girls own stories if you want the truth. (Hope and Finding Me). This book is a very cheap and badly written attempt at making money from the story of the Cleveland kidnappings. The author does the girls a huge diservice - particularly Michelle Knight by portraying her as the weakest when in fact it was the opposite. She did not submit willingly to Castro and protected Gina as best she could from Castro. She also Amanda's baby in the most horrific of circumstances, saved her life AND had the courage to face Castro at his trial. Shame on you Alan Hall
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
I did not finish this book as i did not like the way it was written - it was not written as a story, more as facts and i gave up less than half way.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
I found this book to be based on a lot of speculation as it had very little in the way of the opinion of all three girls. It was also quite repetitive with a lot of the experts saying the same thing over. The book is written in the first person yet it constantly says "the author of this book was told"- got quite annoying.

On the plus it did tell the basic story of this horrible tragedy. I did like how it was not too biased, which must have been hard to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Not a reader normally of these books but wow! This book has you hooked from page one. The emotions you feel whilst reading are up and down. To think this went on for so long! Those ladies are an inspiration to many, and wish them all the happiness for the future!!

A great page turner and a must read would recommend to others. It gives a great insight to the events that went on for all those years under everyone's noses just makes you think how? And why? ........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
This was so interesting to hear all the background of the three girls kidnapped and kept captive for 10 years. Its almost unbelievable that the kidnapper got away with it for so long. Its sad to think that some people can lead such private lives and nobody feels they should interfere. If only they had these poor girls would have been rescued earlier.

A really good read but sad.

Another true story of human endurance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Boring!!! I have read many true crime books and this one was like pulling teeth. I only finished it because i was hoping it would get better all the way through. People who like these types of books enjoy shock factor and morbid detail, this book has nothing. It's just a very long version of what you might expect to read in the newspaper following something like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)