Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars In Which Marianne Simmons Requests a Favor of Lacey
Captain Lacey's former neighbor and Grenville's mistress, Marianne Simmons, comes to visit Lacey as he is packing up his living quarters in preparation for his wedding to his Lady Love, Donata Breckenridge. Marianne, who is kept very well by Grenville, no longer needs Lacey's candles, snuff, bread, etc., but she does want him to use his detective skills to track down her...
Published 3 months ago by Judge Tabor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The captain
Same as previous review
Published 2 months ago by F. Whitham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars In Which Marianne Simmons Requests a Favor of Lacey, 23 July 2014
This review is from: A Disappearance in Drury Lane (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Captain Lacey's former neighbor and Grenville's mistress, Marianne Simmons, comes to visit Lacey as he is packing up his living quarters in preparation for his wedding to his Lady Love, Donata Breckenridge. Marianne, who is kept very well by Grenville, no longer needs Lacey's candles, snuff, bread, etc., but she does want him to use his detective skills to track down her missing actress friend, Mrs. Collins, and as usual, the manipulative Marianne will have her way.

Apparently Mrs. Collins is a leading actress at the Drury Lane Theatre and she has been missing for several months. At first Captain Lacey tries to put Marianne off because he is to be married two days hence and he must be up and away. Of course, it doesn't work, so he takes on the task and begins to make inquiries. He soon realizes he must involve our semi-scary, underworld king, James Denis, and things go a little crazy as the storyline progresses to include Lacey getting a hard beating and the reveal that some explosives that are intended to kill, scar and maim are being manufactured and being delivered with impunity.

This story takes us through Lacey's and Donata's wedding, then on to Bath to further investigate the missing Mrs. Collins and eventually to Marianne's house in the country where her son lives. Grenville is there throughout the storyline, Felicity turns up to cause a little trouble, Gabriella gets to come to England for her father's wedding and to prepare for a season on the Marriage Mart, Donata is her beautiful, cool self and we are as pleased as punch for the way Lacey's life is turning out. Although Captain Lacey's marriage to Donata is going great guns, he continues to be stymied in his efforts to locate the elusive Mrs. Collins. In the meantime, we have a surly, despicable new character, a Bow Street Runner named Spendlove who is tormenting Lacey about his relationship with James Denis. When the individual who whupped up on Lacey is found dead, Spendlove decides that Lacey is the murderer and further torments our dear Lacey. At this point, we can only say, thank goodness for some of the friends Lacey has made in high and "low" places.

Eventually, everything gets worked out - of course. It's so great to read and sentimentalize about Lacey's happiness in love. Looking forward to the upcoming book due out in August 2014 which I can only assume will focus on the Derwent family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This was a very good read and a series I love., 5 Mar 2014
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Disappearance in Drury Lane (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
First Sentence: Marianne Simmons came to me on a cold December day when I was packing away my old life in order to begin my new.

While Captain Gabriel Lacey is preparing for his wedding to the lovely Donata, his former neighbor, actress Marianne Simmons, asks him to look for a fellow actress who is missing. This is not a simple request, as there are very dangerous men involved, as well as criminal James Denis, which whom Lacey has an uncomfortable connection.

Gardner’s voice, both in dialogue and text, is reflective of the period. The historical information incorporated within the story brings it to life; i.e., that different theaters were licensed for different types of performances; the spoken word and dramas versus operas or musicals; and the slave trade laws of the period. We also learn the schedule of staying out late and not rising until noon that is the life of the wealthy entitled. The descriptions put us right at Lacey’s side…”A thin dusting of snow coated the ground to either side of the wide, mile-long drive to Pembroke Court. The drive ended in front of the large manor, it’s bricks golden even n the weak winter sunshine.”

It is the characters, however, that really bring the book to life. We gain insight into Lacey’s childhood and life with his father, as well as an explanation as to why he’s marrying Donata; a woman much higher in rank and wealth. Donata is an excellent character. She is a widow, with a son who is heir to a title and estate. She both emotionally supports Lacey and stands up to him.

Lacey is surrounded by interesting characters. Marianne, who once stole candles and food from his rooms, is now mistress to his very wealthy friend. Felicity is a woman of mixed blood. James Denis is very dangerous, yet fascinating. Lacey’s daughter Gabriella, is someone of whom he only recently learned and met.

“A Disappearance in Drury Lane” is a very good read with things tied up in a way that is clever, yet not contrived. It is a series I’m glad to have found, and to know that it will continue.

A DISAPPEARANCE IN DRURY LANE (Hist-Capt. Gabriel Lacey-England-1818) – VG
Gardner, Ashley – 8th in series
JA AG Publishing, 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another brilliant book in this series, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Disappearance in Drury Lane (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
These stories engage you from the first page. Gabriel is a well rounded out character as are is friends and enemies. His stage is well set and represents the period very well. Nothing jars you out of the context. The plots are a beautiful mix of simple believable motives and the complex difficulties in uncovering them. The sleuthing is realistic and paced just right.

I started from the beginning of this series intending to pace myself, savor each book and make them last. Unfortunately they are addictive and I read them all one after the other. I couldn't put them down for long. I hope there is another soon and then another .... and another ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good story, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Disappearance in Drury Lane (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
i have really enjoyed these books and love the characters . I even rather like naughty Mr Denis. i think there is more to him than we think.!! Looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Loughran (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Disappearance in Drury Lane (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I love historical who-dunnits, I picked up a few historcial facts reading this book, enjoyed it immensely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goos read, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Disappearance in Drury Lane (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy all the Captain Lacey series of books and I am sorry I have now finished the set of books I have been able to get on my Kindle. Look forward to the next book. This I hope will be out soon for Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much waited for, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Disappearance in Drury Lane (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed the whole series of these books and this latest one did not disappoint. Recommend to any and everyone, Excellent well written stories of regency Britain. Lets have more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read., 27 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. P. Jackson (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Disappearance in Drury Lane (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
If you follow this series of books you wont be dissapointed with this one. Looking forward to the next book coming out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Disappearance in Drury Lane (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent stuff. Can't wait for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Disappearance in Drury Lane (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Book 8) (Kindle Edition)
This Author never disappoints!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews