Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toast Mr Berry
I had the pleasure of meeting David Arnold in Soho. I was over the moon meeting the Bond composer but then couldn't believe my luck that Matt Berry was with him. After speaking to Mr Arnold I asked Mr Berry "any more snuffbox" Mr Berry replied "I've got something coming up". That was in 2012 and after the best pilot of the channel 4 comedy showcase this got a series. It...
Published 20 months ago by Sc Richards

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I thought this banal without any redeeming feature. I ...
I thought this banal without any redeeming feature.

I found this banal without any glimpse of redemption.
I have definitely overrated it but it would seem that to post this comment it is compulsory to give it an inflated one star which it certainly does not deserve.

i
Published 17 days ago by Michael Wm. Shepherd


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
Better and better with every viewing. Cannot wait for the next series! Berry is in his element and a talent to watch. Wonderful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 7 May 2014
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
I love Toast of London, I've watched it literally a dozen or more times - it really is that good. Matt Berry leads an excellent supporting cast, including the wonderful Robert Bathurst as his house mate. It has an almost old fashioned 'Hancock and James' companionship coupled with Peter Sellers 'old actor stories', topped off with Mighty Boosh style surreal comedy.

Genius! Can't wait for series 2 in the Autumn 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Weird British Show in Finest Tradition, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
The Brits make some weird telly, and this is a great example. Berry is a deadpan actor, indulges in venal occupations in frustration with his lot in life and says some of his words with a bizarre enunciation that is very enjoyable to hear. He's been a "great" actor, albeit second fiddle to Marenghi in "Garth Marenghi's Darkplace", an overbearing bully in "Snuff Box" and a horrible boss in "The IT Crowd", but in this one, he's a plain loser who can't get a break. His musical interludes are great to hear, as I've recently discovered that the man can sing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes...yesss..yeeeesss., 31 Dec. 2013
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
This must have been a fairly hard sell:

"Well, you see it's about an actor. A pretty bad one, actually. He's appalling pretentious. He's currently in the worst play ever. And he does lots of bad voiceover work too. Oh, and his agent's a total bitch."

"Right...."

The best sitcoms work for many reasons. sometimes it's about relationships (think Steptoe & Son, Arkwright & Granville), sometimes it's about putting an ensemble into fully-formed world (like the Young Ones). Toast kind of falls into the latter camp, but beyond that it's hard to categorise.

Berry himself is wonderful, with that fruity, rather louche voice being put to the best use possible. The running voiceover jokes are just priceless (the phrase "Yes, I can hear you Clem Fandango" is now a tone on my phone) and they are just one part of a beautiful mix. What makes it eve n better is the supporting cast of characters: his agent, Ray Purchase, Mrs Purchase, the parade of faces in the voiceover booths. In plotting terms it reminds me a lot of the little regarded Labrats: a succession of seemingly tangentially connected events build up to a final, preposterous set up with a winning pay-off every time. The use of the repetition devices is also very...Harry Hill. But it takes those influences and runs somewhere new with them.

Others have mentioned it was something of a slow burner and this is indeed true, but stick with it. That repetition beds in very quickly and those themes pay off week after week. Each episode has something to recommend, though it is true the later ones are just a little stronger.

Roll on series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Matt Berry, 7 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
Love Matt Berry! As soon as I saw that he would star in this I had to check it out. Got the DVD for my last birthday :) Hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Berry can do very little wrong in my eyes ..., 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
Matt Berry can do very little wrong in my eyes, and this, which I missed on telly, is glorious in its daftness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Berry is gold, 19 Dec. 2013
By 
Paul Vernon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
I love Matt Berry and this show is fantastic! At first it felt a little too nuts but then it just smashes it with so many quotes and stuff. Yeah just brilliant. Fans of Garth Marenghi, Snuff Box etc. can add another alternative pretty crazy show to their list of cult favourites. Also, the design and music is fantastic too, it gives a real sense of a romanticised London. This adds layers to it's sometimes absurd humour as Toast deals with all manner of crazy s*** as a RADA trained acTOR in the capital. I want to mention some of my favourite parts but that'd ruin the jokes - go and buy it, support this great show *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surreal Brilliantly Funny Comedy, 10 May 2014
By 
John Hamilton (Dronfield, NE Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best new British Comedy of 2013. End of Review!

Berry has constructed a character and a comedy that just works. You'll laugh your socks off.

I can hear you Clem Fandango!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the man from delmonte..., 25 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
This will be marmite for alot of people, you'll either love it or hate it and get it or not get it.
Nearly as surreal as garth merenghi's dark place which matt berry steals, this is just out there, inspired comedy.

Arthur Matthews - one half of father ted co wrote this yarn and its some of the most brilliantly written comedy since the office and pheonix nights.

The opening episode with Bruce forsyth.... please just watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from the Channel Four stable, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
Something about Matt Berry that he steals the scene in whatever show he's in the IT Crowd, House of Fools etc so it's great to see him heading up his own series. As well as the lead himself there's a great array of characters, both regulars and on-offs, with imaginatively daft names like Clem Fandango, Dinky Frinkbuster, Martin Aynuss and Kikini Barnalam that made me chuckle. I wont go into summarising episodes. However, if you like off-kilter comedies with a surreal edge - .e.g. Father Ted, Black Books, Catterick, Mighty Boosh, Brass Eye, Garth Marenghi etc - this should fit the bill nicely. Berry doesn't have to do much to make you laugh one of the funniest recurring things being the way he stresses the wrong syllable when saying words like Fors-SYTH, nuclea-AR. Channel Four still proving it leads the other stations in producing quality comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toast of London [DVD]
Toast of London [DVD] by Michael Cumming (DVD - 2013)
£10.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews