Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard working actor.
Richard Ayoade and Noel Fielding might have been tempted by the millions to be made appearing on so called comedy panel shows. Here, though, is a guy who has stuck to what he knows best - Acting. Lets hear it for Steven Toast - An Actor!
Published 7 months ago by Mark Butler

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really funny
Funny in parts ,I do come from the North East so that could be the reason .I only bought it because one of my favourite actors was one of the characters .
Published 6 months ago by Joan Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard working actor., 28 Nov 2013
By 
Mark Butler "Fell Troller." (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
Richard Ayoade and Noel Fielding might have been tempted by the millions to be made appearing on so called comedy panel shows. Here, though, is a guy who has stuck to what he knows best - Acting. Lets hear it for Steven Toast - An Actor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toast Mr Berry, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Sc Richards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
I had the pleasure of meeting David Arnold in Soho. I was over the moon meeting the Bond composer but then couldn't believe my luck that Matt Berry was with him. After speaking to Mr Arnold I asked Mr Berry "any more snuffbox" Mr Berry replied "I've got something coming up". That was in 2012 and after the best pilot of the channel 4 comedy showcase this got a series. It is sureal to an extent but hilarious. We have a infamous Bruce For-syyth episode. We have Toast and an embarassing escort situation and for me one of the best James Bond spoofs with Mr Arnold involved and a great opening title sequence with the brilliant Michael Ball sending himself up as a villain. I hope that Arthur Mathews and Matt get a second series (man down gets a xmas special?) as this as the others have said a slow burner but gives Matt Berry the chance to be the main solo lead with a great support cast as opposed to a character like in the brilliant IT crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow starter, but brilliant series., 19 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Ken J. Eakins "Journalist" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
I'm in a rush, so I'll have to use single words to describe this excellent series from Matt Berry:

Funny
Sports Vest
Fandango
Purchase
Plough
Forsyth
Submarines

Favourite series of the year, and will fit nicely next to Snuffbox, and Berry's other work on your DVD shelf.

Sorry, I have to shoot off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Jamie (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
V funny, mighty boosh style humour, would recommend, good acting and good scripts. My best bit is the woman who has had failed plastic surgery and now looks like Bruce forsythe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woodpecker!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
Matt Berry plays Matt Berry in this Matt Berry show, starring Matt Berry. Matt Berry excells at doing that voice that he does. Somehow, it never gets old even though he's been doing it for at least 10 years. This is not a sarcastic review though, I could watch this all day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A national treasure, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
Toast - I mean Matt Berry - is fast becoming a national comedy treasure. From what I've seen of it on TV this has been great fun; worth it for the brilliant opening credits alone. Episode 3 with the Alan Ford cameo was particularly good. While I'm here can we please have some more Garth Marenghi?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
Better and better with every viewing. Cannot wait for the next series! Berry is in his element and a talent to watch. Wonderful!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedies ive ever seen..., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
This is up there with league of gentlemen and mighty boosh. Matt Berry and his amazing voice stars in this very well written and very funny almost sitcom about a failed actor and his galavantings ! Many brilliant moments,where we were laughing out loud and rewinding again and again. Funniest bit is the bruce forsythe special feature !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes...yesss..yeeeesss., 31 Dec 2013
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
This must have been a fairly hard sell:

"Well, you see it's about an actor. A pretty bad one, actually. He's appalling pretentious. He's currently in the worst play ever. And he does lots of bad voiceover work too. Oh, and his agent's a total bitch."

"Right...."

The best sitcoms work for many reasons. sometimes it's about relationships (think Steptoe & Son, Arkwright & Granville), sometimes it's about putting an ensemble into fully-formed world (like the Young Ones). Toast kind of falls into the latter camp, but beyond that it's hard to categorise.

Berry himself is wonderful, with that fruity, rather louche voice being put to the best use possible. The running voiceover jokes are just priceless (the phrase "Yes, I can hear you Clem Fandango" is now a tone on my phone) and they are just one part of a beautiful mix. What makes it eve n better is the supporting cast of characters: his agent, Ray Purchase, Mrs Purchase, the parade of faces in the voiceover booths. In plotting terms it reminds me a lot of the little regarded Labrats: a succession of seemingly tangentially connected events build up to a final, preposterous set up with a winning pay-off every time. The use of the repetition devices is also very...Harry Hill. But it takes those influences and runs somewhere new with them.

Others have mentioned it was something of a slow burner and this is indeed true, but stick with it. That repetition beds in very quickly and those themes pay off week after week. Each episode has something to recommend, though it is true the later ones are just a little stronger.

Roll on series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Berry is gold, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Paul Vernon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toast of London [DVD] (DVD)
I love Matt Berry and this show is fantastic! At first it felt a little too nuts but then it just smashes it with so many quotes and stuff. Yeah just brilliant. Fans of Garth Marenghi, Snuff Box etc. can add another alternative pretty crazy show to their list of cult favourites. Also, the design and music is fantastic too, it gives a real sense of a romanticised London. This adds layers to it's sometimes absurd humour as Toast deals with all manner of crazy s*** as a RADA trained acTOR in the capital. I want to mention some of my favourite parts but that'd ruin the jokes - go and buy it, support this great show *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toast of London [DVD]
Toast of London [DVD] by Michael Cumming (DVD - 2013)
11.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews