Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable Tale of Winston and Halfdan
This is the second book in the series to be translated into English. A pleasant and engrossing tale set in Cnut's kingdom, where once again our main characters are set a task by the King. Unfortunately, as with the first book, some phrases and wording seem to jar with the historic setting; for instance, I am not convinced that in the 11th century, Halfdan would refer to...
Published 9 months ago by Edward

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but could do with a list of characters to refer to.
Ok but could do with a list of characters to refer to. Can get a bit confusing in parts as to who is who and which side they are on.
Published 11 months ago by S. Greenwood


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable Tale of Winston and Halfdan, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in the series to be translated into English. A pleasant and engrossing tale set in Cnut's kingdom, where once again our main characters are set a task by the King. Unfortunately, as with the first book, some phrases and wording seem to jar with the historic setting; for instance, I am not convinced that in the 11th century, Halfdan would refer to his employer and employer's woman as 'you guys'. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the book and look forward to the next installment to become available in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Continued enjoyment, 22 April 2014
By 
Mark Treacher (Stratford upon Avon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) (Kindle Edition)
This, the second in the King's Hounds series continues the crime-solving. The story is based on real events. It's one of those tales that you have to finish, preferably in as few sittings as possible. As others have already mentioned, the translation does grate a little. Americanisms don't sit too well in a Medieval English tale. However, I am looking forward to the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but could do with a list of characters to refer to., 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) (Kindle Edition)
Ok but could do with a list of characters to refer to. Can get a bit confusing in parts as to who is who and which side they are on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Battle after Battle!, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) (Kindle Edition)
Perhaps being a female, I didn't appreciate the constant and unremitting battles. It felt a bit like Groundhog Day!
It is interesting though to have an insight into a little-covered period of English history and I'm sure that many people would appreciate that. The writing is clear and succinct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good story spoiled, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) (Kindle Edition)
I have now read both of the Halfdan/Winston novels they are a sort of cross between Bernard Cornwell "Warrior Chronicals" and Ellis Peters "Cadfael" only not as good as either. Like others I find the Americanisms and modern idiom grates badly and I suspect the translator knows her linguistic trade very well but is unfamiliar with the era in which the books are set.
That having been said I generally enjoyed both and will look for others in the future but I hope the publishers find a British translator or someone more familiar with this kind of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dark ages, dark crime., 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) (Kindle Edition)
Haven't read the first book so dived straight in with this. I liked the pace and the unusual setting of this dark ages whodunnit. There's a tangible feel for the time, evoced with food, fabric & social description, along with a strong grasp of the political situation surrounding King Cnut's ascendancy.

The central characters have wit and there's a sly, earthy sense of humour throughout the book. I think Martin Jensen has an eye for a tanned calf or two!

The relationship between Halfdan & his master works well, with an element of playfulness that enlivens the tale. At times the colloqial style plays to that, yet at others it doesn't quite ring true for me... that's why I gave it a 3 star, not 4.

If you like Ellis Peters 'Cadfael' series or enjoy a bit of historical drama (Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden) you might enjoy this. I'll definitely go back to read the first instalment, although you can follow part two easily without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oathbreaker, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) (Kindle Edition)
A very good book, excellent in detail and mystery. I look forward to the next mystery by this trio, I know it will be equally as good as this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) (Kindle Edition)
I like historical stories and this one is excellent. It keeps you guessing almost to the end.. It also teaches a lot about the time in which it is set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) (Kindle Edition)
I have the first two book from this author I love the characters and the way the story folds together. I fantastic medieval novel hope there are more from the fantastic, funny characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series) (Kindle Edition)
I like historical novels and this is a good one. It is only slightly spoiled (hence not 5 stars) by the translator occasionally using modern idiomatic expression which jar a bit when the action is taking place nearly 1000 years ago! It is a good read and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oathbreaker (The King's Hounds series)
£3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews