Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chelsea Bird
This debut novel was first published in 1964. Subtitled, “confessions of a sixties chick,” it is a tongue in cheek look at sixties London, seen through the eyes of eighteen year old art student Harriet Bennett. Harriet has a boyfriend, Tom Robertson, who works in television and orders meals for both of them without consulting her about her choices and a...
Published 8 months ago by S Riaz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was not a fan of this book
Synopsis

Chelsea Bird follows young art student Harriet Bennett as she traverses life through London in the swinging sixties. We are privy to her observations about life, love, sex, drugs and rock and roll.

Review

This is going to sound terribly blunt but I did not like this book. The storyline was weak (to the point of non existence), the...
Published 6 months ago by LJBentley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was not a fan of this book, 4 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Chelsea Bird (Kindle Edition)
Synopsis

Chelsea Bird follows young art student Harriet Bennett as she traverses life through London in the swinging sixties. We are privy to her observations about life, love, sex, drugs and rock and roll.

Review

This is going to sound terribly blunt but I did not like this book. The storyline was weak (to the point of non existence), the protagonist was annoying, a flibbertigibbet and in no way strong enough to carry the narrative without the reader getting distracted on more than one occasion.

The only real saving factor is that you could argue its validity as a social text highlighting the attitudes of both men and women in arguably the most society changing decade of the 20th century. Other than that it was just kind of boring.

However, this is all just one person’s opinion. Give it a read yourself and let me know what you think

Chelsea Bird by Virginia Ironside is available now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chelsea Bird, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chelsea Bird (Kindle Edition)
This debut novel was first published in 1964. Subtitled, “confessions of a sixties chick,” it is a tongue in cheek look at sixties London, seen through the eyes of eighteen year old art student Harriet Bennett. Harriet has a boyfriend, Tom Robertson, who works in television and orders meals for both of them without consulting her about her choices and a friend, Ann Hopkins, who is a fellow student and who bores her silly. Harriet is, mostly, bored. She loathes college, but is concerned when she might be thrown out for not attending; she skips from party to bar seeing the same old people and enduring the casual sexism of the men around her. Wisely wishing to sing, “From Me to You,” when visiting her aunt and uncle, we are aware that it is still the early sixties and Tom is more a fan of jazz and classical music than the ‘pops’ he disparages. Her own likes are dismissed by Tom and his friend Nick and the music she wants to listen to, the food she wants to eat, and her own opinions, are relegated because of her age and her gender.

You really get a sense of sixties London in this novel. Times are changing and everyone is going to great lengths to be ‘In.’ It is smart to be young and to have an accent – preferably a cockney or Northern one (their music may be sneered at, but the Beatles influence in clothes, accent, etc, is already being felt). People are pretentious and concerned about clothes and image. Harriet wonders about which brand of cigarettes to buy which will impress her fellow students and friends. She craves romance, but this book also finds her illusions dampened by the reality of feeling used , the discomfort of single beds and the appearance of drugs. Harriet is a young woman feeling her way in a changing world and trying to find her place in it and we aware of both her journey and her basic good sense. Overall, this was an interesting and evocative novel and one which I enjoyed very much. Lastly, I received a copy of this book from the publishers, via NetGalley, for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shallow '60s people, 5 Dec. 2014
By 
Douglas Kemp (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chelsea Bird (Kindle Edition)
Written when she was just 19, this novella (just 119 pages) has been republished and is very much a quintessential novel of the 1960s. Harriet, aged 18, lives in London as an art student in the early 60s, and is cool, hip etc as you would expect. The language is fully redolent of the era. The characters are rather shallow and not particularly likeable, and I do wonder, as I was just too old to remember the 60s, whether the reality was that, in fact, the decade was filled with similarly trivial and unpleasant people. It certainly did not provide me with a sense of nostalgia or a regret at times now lost irretrievably
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Glad I finished it!, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chelsea Bird (Kindle Edition)
I lived in Chelsea during the so-called swinging sixties and hoped I would be able to identify in some small way with this book. I didn't. It was all about people trying to impress others and trying to pull. Written from the perspective of Harriet who is a lackadaisical student at Pimlico school of art it was endlessly depressing with no humour. Nothing ever seems to happen. Wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dated, but readable., 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chelsea Bird (Kindle Edition)
A good reminder of what the sixties were really like. Well written with an authentic flavour of the area and the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chelsea Bird (Kindle Edition)
Ok...enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chelsea Bird, 30 Aug. 2011
By 
S. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chelsea Bird (Hardcover)
Fantastic read for all those born in the aftermath of WW2, reminiscent of the youth in the 1960s. Took me right back to the carefree days of being 18 again. Lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chelsea Bird
Chelsea Bird by Virginia Ironside
£4.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews