Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars52
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2014
The book started really well with hints of strange events that will be revealed as the story unfolds. This does indeed happen, but the ending is so contrived, so artificially dramatic and implausible, with all the loose ends being tied up, that I got the impression that the author had got tired of writing it and just wanted to get it over and done with. This was disappointing as the author writes well and evokes lovely memories of the days before we spent our lives slumped in front of the television.
Female authors often seem to have trouble writing the dialogue of male banter, and this was no exception with clunky comments about sex and girls that no man would say in real life. The obsession with alcohol got a bit boring and some of the detail was irritating - e.g. Tom gets back from Italy to a remote part of Scotland a couple of hours after getting a phone call, which was necessary for the plot but a bit incredible.
Take the book on holiday for a light read and then leave it behind.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Lovely book about rural life in Scotland. The ups and downs of living in a close community. The background darker side gave the story a mystery which kept you guessing. The characters were engaging and endearing. Nice read.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
really enjoyed reading this book, don't read to often but couldn't put this down . started reading half way through holiday spent most of it laying in Sun reading.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
Nice easy read. Mentions of tunes and gala days brought back memories of growing up in the sixties. Had to keep focusing and reminding myself it was set in west of Scotland as it seemed to me more reminiscent of rural Ireland especially with so many Irish names! A good story with a good mix of ages. And enough twists and sub-plots to keep it interesting. A good light read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
I have really enjoyed this book. It is an easy read and you can pick it up and put it down without loosing track of the story. I really felt I knew the characters and enjoyed it being set in South West Scotland which is one of my favourite places. I will look for more books by this author.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Light hearted story filled with mischief of youth. Believable putting yourself in their shoes. No repetative explanation of clothing, scenery or decor, just a gripping story. Thoroughly enjoyable to the end.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Very good short story, easy to read, couldn't put it down as wanted to know what was happening. Would recommend to any one and to read the authors other books
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Have never read any of Anna Smiths books before and loved it
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I would like to recommend this book to any person who likes a good read. It was a fantastic read. I was glad that it had a good ending and that it had several stories going on at the same time.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Brilliant exceptionally well written will definitely be reading more of this author. I thought it was going to be more for women I could not be more wrong thoroughly enjoyable read
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.