Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!!!
A friend of mine had this book on her desk and I had to have a look. It was so interesting and brilliantly written that I could not leave it down for one minute. I had to purchase a copy for myself and I have also purchased a copy for the sea cadets in my area. Anyone who loves maritime history will find that this book is a must have! it is so informative and easy to...
Published 19 months ago by Bethrick

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If its not comprehensive, it's not an "Encyclopedia"
There are many interesting and informative entries in this book, but does it really merit the title "Encyclopaedia"? Not if there are significant omissions and there are such. Here are just a few: John Paul Jones is there and his capture of the Serapis at the battle of Flamborough Head recounted, but no mention of the British Captain, (Sir) Richard Pearson, who...
Published 14 months ago by Chris Lennon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!!!, 14 Oct. 2013
A friend of mine had this book on her desk and I had to have a look. It was so interesting and brilliantly written that I could not leave it down for one minute. I had to purchase a copy for myself and I have also purchased a copy for the sea cadets in my area. Anyone who loves maritime history will find that this book is a must have! it is so informative and easy to read and makes naval history so interesting. I am so pleased that someone has taken the time to write a book on this type of history absolutely wonderful! Thank you so much Mr Bruce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If its not comprehensive, it's not an "Encyclopedia", 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Encyclopedia of Naval History (Kindle Edition)
There are many interesting and informative entries in this book, but does it really merit the title "Encyclopaedia"? Not if there are significant omissions and there are such. Here are just a few: John Paul Jones is there and his capture of the Serapis at the battle of Flamborough Head recounted, but no mention of the British Captain, (Sir) Richard Pearson, who was court-martialled over the incident, but exonerated for having saved the convoy, despite losing his ship, and knighted. Admiral Sir William Parker, Bart., has an entry, but not his namesake, Admiral Sir William Parker, Bart, Lord Nelson's contemporary and direct rival, who shared with Nelson the distinction of the action at Cape St Vincent. Nearer our own time, where is Admiral of the Fleet Sir George Elvey Creasy, who sat at the top table during WWII?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thorough and comprehensive reference book, 8 Oct. 2013
A wonderful introduction to the world of naval history. The book contains detailed entries and useful references to further reading. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 8 Oct. 2013
This review is from: An Encyclopedia of Naval History (Kindle Edition)
A great reference book on naval history. The entries are both detailed and comprehensive and the book is very well laid out and easy to read. I could find the subjects I needed to refer to with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book for browsing and reference. It has wide coverage of world naval history and is a good starting point for exploring any naval topic. It has a nice user friendly lay out with comprehensive entries. I learn something new each time I pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive survey of naval warfare, 24 Sept. 2013
Absolutely brilliant! I found this an extremely valuable reference work. I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in naval history and warfare. It covers a vast amount of ground in over 1000 thoroughly researched entries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Encyclopedia of Naval History, 3 Oct. 2013
This excellent book provides the concise introduction to the history of naval warfare that I was looking for. Wide ranging in its coverage, the book includes useful guides to further reading on many of the major topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naval Encyclopaedia, 6 Sept. 2013
Comment: A comprehensive guide to naval history since the Middle Ages. The entries are accessible and well written, with many including guides further reading.

Rating: 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, no less, 22 Aug. 2014
This review is from: An Encyclopedia of Naval History (Kindle Edition)
5 stars - superb source book - full of material on the subject.

David Cook, author of Liberty or Death (The Soldier Chronicles Book 1) and Heart of Oak (The Soldier Chronicles Book 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Encyclopedia of Naval History
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews