Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believing My Ears
'Samson & Delilah' is not so much a re-emergence as a reinvention.
VV Brown (Vanessa to her friends), in her previous incarnation as
perpetrator of the execrable 2009 debut album 'Travelling Like The
Light', has bounced back after her sojourn in the land of haberdashery,
with a recording so distinctive and gob-smackingly good that I shall now...
Published 13 months ago by The Wolf

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing
While V.V Brown first album was full with energy, her second outing was, well, quite boring. Nearly all the songs are drown in a kind of soup reminding more of modern day opera pieces than pop songs. What's worse, nearly all the songs are in the same mold. I did listen the whole album 4 or 5 times just to see if it would grow on me, but it was sometimes quite painful.
Published 12 months ago by Son75


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson & Delilah (MP3 Download)
One of my favourite artists I bought it as soon as it was out and didn't stop listening to it for weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars V V Brown Strikes out again, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson & Delilah [CD] (Audio CD)
If you like modern blues style music this is worth listening to. Samson and Delilah is a well recorded mixture of the groups styles. The first track 'Beginning' is a gentle intro which contrasts beautifully with the second 'Friends' and then a switch again to the third 'Faith'. I feel that this compilation extends V V Brown's singing styles with backup and mixing to emphasize the quality of the band. .Why a four star rating?- Though a great set, I didn't feel it hung together as an album, in fact I prefer playing this on 'mix' as a set of single tracks, thereby picking out each tracks personal quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunning., 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson & Delilah [CD] (Audio CD)
played this constantly. can't put into words how good i think this album is. stunning slick & raw buy buy buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars samson and delilah cd, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson & Delilah [CD] (Audio CD)
Wonderful music - has come a long way since we first saw her at Glastonbury (I think).
Well done V V Brown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little 'artsy' but still interesting, 29 Dec 2013
This review is from: Samson & Delilah [CD] (Audio CD)
Most of the reviews on here sum it up rather well. It's nothing like her previous album at all. When I first heard 'Samson' on my laptop I thought it was awful. Then I heard 'Substitute for love' but this time on proper speakers and that's when it hit me how amazing this song it. Yes it's self indulgent but not in the typical way usually heard by indie artists whining. Its more a dramatic explosion, some of the tracks on here would make great soundtracks for James Bond-esq movies. Though others could have just as easily featured on dramas such as Skins.

As mentioned by another reviewer it really does make a difference on the sound system you listen to it with. Usually I laugh this off as a fan trying to explain a poor album but the tracks sound a lot weaker and with too much bass on your average laptop, where as on a good speaker it sounds crisp and your drawn in by her dramatic lyrics.

Substitute for love, Knife, Faith, Igneous & The Apple are superb songs with Nothing really matters and Looking for Love being my least favorite but you can still appreciate the effort and as an album over all it doesn't feature any fillers. Defiantly a good album, just don't expect to hear the old VV Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top album, 11 Dec 2013
This review is from: Samson & Delilah [CD] (Audio CD)
What an amazing album and truly unique music. Really impressed with this album - normally I find that I only enjoy a couple of songs on an album, but this one I love them all. Thank you and well done VV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Son75 (Paris France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson & Delilah [CD] (Audio CD)
While V.V Brown first album was full with energy, her second outing was, well, quite boring. Nearly all the songs are drown in a kind of soup reminding more of modern day opera pieces than pop songs. What's worse, nearly all the songs are in the same mold. I did listen the whole album 4 or 5 times just to see if it would grow on me, but it was sometimes quite painful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreary, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson & Delilah [CD] (Audio CD)
Not a good album, dreary and miserable all sounding the same. Can't understand a word she is singing about.
Wouldn't recommend.
Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear............, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson & Delilah [CD] (Audio CD)
Sorry, but this album is a huge disappointment. If you are buying this based on the first album DON'T. The first album was fun and happy, this is self indulgent rubbish.

I give it 1 star as it is well produced, other than that it has already gone into the bin. If you are still thinking of buying this try and listen to some samples first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Samson & Delilah
Samson & Delilah by V V Brown
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews