Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars88
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 22 January 2014
I love the album , a real mix of smooth music ( Emeli Sande ) with great poetry and rapping combos . Listen to the story-line lyrics about the hotel and its guests , so cleaver and meaningful . I just wonder where track 4 fits in with this quality story-line , its just a mashup of bad language from wiz Khalifa , a real shame it had to be included . Well Mr Khalifa I have deleted your track from my album so that I can enjoy the quality without your abusive language. Lots of guest appearances from lots of top artists like Ed Sheeran , Emeli and George the poet. Buy It !!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 28 August 2013
Well after playing Rudimental non stop since I bought it I was really surprised to find this album as addictive as Home,I am 57 and grew up when the best music was around and I am happy to say that I think we have finally turned the corner and have totally smashed it with this album,I am so excited about the future if music is going in this direction,awesome
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 27 August 2013
Hotel Cabana is the début studio album by British producer 'Naughty Boy'.

Having quit university to follow his dreams of music production, Shahid Kahn cuts a modest and unassuming figure. Perhaps it was his humble approach that warmed the Prince's Trust to offer him a grant in 2006. In his own words: "The biggest thing I did was take a risk. If you take a risk in something you believe in, it can pay off". It also helps to have a bit of luck along the way; in that same year Shahid took home £44,000 on Deal or No Deal, money that allowed him to eventually progress out of his parent's garden shed and into a proper studio in Ealing. Kahn's move into the spotlight came when he co-wrote and produced Chipmunk's 'Diamond Rings' in 2009 which featured the then unknown Emeli Sandé. He then became the unsung hero of production behind her début hit album.

Ironically, Hotel Cabana is a concept album that deals with the pitfalls of fame and stardom.

Kahn's endeavour to "direct" this towards Hotel-California-type imagery speaks of the producers ambition and desire for the peculiar and unique; this will be something that stands him in good stead for the future. Ultimately however the individual tracks stand out on their own more powerfully than together as a concept; manifested by the success of 'Wonder', 'Never Be Your Woman' and the infectious 'La La La' (now the best-selling track by a British artist this year)

'Hotel Cabana' is a (mostly) UK infused conveyor belt of singles; each one (aside from the shorter concept tracks) worthy and capable of chart success. Naughty Boy's production is refined and well articulated - radio-friendly but quirky. A surprise release and a highly enjoyable record if not necessarily profound in its philanthropic intentions.

Forthcoming single 'Think About It (feat. Wiz Khalifa & Ella Eyre)' is the highlight alongside the fabulous 'Lifted'. If you like what you have heard so far from Naughty Boy this album will not disappoint you. It's also an unambiguous purchase for any followers of Emeli Sandé who appears on a third of the album.

Listen To: 'Wonder', 'Lifted', 'Think About It', 'La La La', 'Pluto', 'Never Be Your Woman'
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
I purchased the album today so I thought I would give you guys a rundown of what it is like song by song :)

---------Normal Tracks------------

* Act I - Quick intro, speaking, not much to say about it, not really a song
* Welcome to Cabana - Great mix of a clean rap by Tinie Tempah with a great beat, and the amazing voice of Emile Sande, again quite a short song
* Wonder - Really catchy song, quite upbeat and gets your foot tapping, slightly different to the songs Emile Sanda usually sings in and I think it makes a nice change
* Think About It - Its an okay song, not really one of my favourite, a bit simple and not too catchy, cool rap by Wiz Khalifa but there is nothing special about this song
* Hollywood - This song starts off pretty slow but it picks up well into a great song, great rhythm and sounds great
* Act II - Another talking bit, again not much to say
* La La La - This is like my favourite song of all time! Its so catchy, amazing and just wow! Its the reason I bought the album, its such a good song!
* One Way - I wasn't expecting this song to be that good but I was really surprised. It is actually a great song, strong message behind it and a great mixture of rap and the voice of Maiday. This is one of my favourite songs on the album, very good
* Pluto - I love Emeli Sande and Wretch 32 and its an amazing rhythm and everything, the lyrics don't make that much sense, but the song sounds so good that I don't even mind, a an awesome quite beat in the background
* So Strong - I think the song is just pretty average, its the kind of song a lot of people would like but personally I just think its quite good, although the music by Naughty Boy is amazing
* No One's Here to Sleep - Its a really slow song and not very upbeat, sort of a winter song, but its an amazing song. I love Bastille and so glad he is on the album, if you have listened to the Bastille album you will clearly recognise the style of Bastille
* Lifted - A great song, another with Emile Sande and personally I think Naughty Boy and Emile Sande work so well together, another great single that has been put in the album, a really nice song
* Top Floor - Ed Sheeran is an awesome song, this song is so typical of him and if you like Ed Sheeran you will love this song song too. For me its perfect and one of the best on the album, only complaint is it should be longer ;)
* Epilogue - Just another bit of talking to end the track, sorta sums up the idea behind the CD

---------Bonus Tracks -----------

* Never Be Your Woman - I won't lie here, I think this is a really weak song and just doesn't have much going for it, I don't like the lyrics, rhythm, beat or singer to be honest
* Daddy - Pretty dang typical of a remix, doesn't make much sense at all coz its remixed badly if you ask me
* Get Lucky - Its slower than the original and more expression behind the vocals, I actually really like this, more than the original, which I already like, but slower and more expressive
* Lifted (with Professor Green) - No different from the original apart from with a little bit of rap from Professor Green, I don't think it adds that much to the song, but it definitely doesn't take away from it :)


To be honest I actually love this album, its really great and an amazing mix of singing but every singer and song all work in the album. Its like they all give their own perspective on things and I just think its this album's charm. Its got some stunning songs on it as well, and although everyone won't like every song on there, there are lots of songs on there for people, its definitely worth the money to buy it. I think this should keep me going for a long time because of the great variety. A great buy! (^_^)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
I picked up the CD for a few tracks as I didn't want to get the compressed to hell MP3's. Having played this several times now it grows on me more and more. A great selection of music, well produced with a wide variety of sounds and styles. (Was FLAC'ed the same day).

My favourite by a country mile is the cover of 'Get Lucky' with Tanika on vocals. Her voice is glorious, when she grows in volume and pitch it doesn't get scratchy or strained. The track has lazy summer chillout at 3am on a neon lit strip written all over it. (Also a good track to make love to).

This CD release would be amazing as a 45rpm 180g vinyl special edition.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 30 August 2013
Was looking forward to this album for a while and it did not disappoint. Naughty Boy has an incredible sound and I find the theme of the album and the links between the tracks refreshing and very modern. Anyone who features on each song seems like they are there for a reason, and each bring something different to the album, not just a name drop etc. I can easily listen to this album on repeat and not get bored, I find that each time I listen to it I get more out of it. Brilliant, well worth the buy :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
I have to say I knew the whole album before buying and decided to have one copy cause I consider Naughty Boy one of the greatest artists of this era. However I was a bit disappointed as this version does not include my most favourite songs Home and Never been the same and Pardon me. My fault, should have read the ttack list carefully but I would just never thought that these tracks are only on the us version. Such a shame. :( This version is a great album but lacks that 'creme de la creme'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
Naughty Boy is an inspiration, he just loves what he's doing & it shows. From the looks of it, he isn't going to run out of steam any time soon. I'm looking forward to following his career. He has a very unique approach to production, influenced by his Asian heritage, his music is very progressive albeit not over done. Bollywood have a tendency to over produce, but Naughty Boy has found the perfect blend, everything is just right- not too much or too little, something of perfection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
People say it's got too much Emeli Sande on but it really doesn't! Even if it did how van that be a bad thing? There are some top up and coming British artists and the established ones as well. It really is a showcase of all that's good about British music at the moment and it's real music at that, not all these artificial artists produced by TV. Genuine music right here. If you're a lover of all music YOU MUST HAVE THIS ALBUM.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
A great concept album with the star track being La, la, la. but don't expect the rest of the album to follow this format. Nevertheless the are some great tracks to listen to including the Daft Punk "get Lucky" version by Tanika, "Lifted" by Emelie Sande, "Hollywood" by Gabrielle and much, much more. This album needs to "listened too to really appreciate it because not all tacks are "instant"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

La La La
La La La by Naughty Boy

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
$259 Rooms. Save Up To 50%. 729 Sw 15th Ave., Portland
Over 3000 Luxury Hotels and Resorts Worldwide.