Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poetry of transformation...
N.T. (Tom) Wright (previously Bishop of Durham and currently Chair of NT and Early Christianity at St Andrews) is always worth listening to, and this book is no exception. He makes a personal and passionate case for a greater emphasis on the Psalms within the liturgy of the church and the spirituality of Christians. His case is rooted in an understanding of the original...
Published 10 months ago by John Goddard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars For the theologian
Not easy to read .Requires study and therefore probably better understood by those studying theology.
Final chapter was in terms which were much easier for the average individual.
Published 8 months ago by JOHN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poetry of transformation..., 17 Dec 2013
By 
John Goddard (Saffron Walden, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
N.T. (Tom) Wright (previously Bishop of Durham and currently Chair of NT and Early Christianity at St Andrews) is always worth listening to, and this book is no exception. He makes a personal and passionate case for a greater emphasis on the Psalms within the liturgy of the church and the spirituality of Christians. His case is rooted in an understanding of the original context of the Psalms (especially in the Temple worship of Israel) but is far from being simply a study of history and context. Rather he sees the Psalms as transformative: 'The regular praying and singing of the Psalms is transformative. It changes the way we understand some of the deepest elements of who we are, or rather, who, when, and what we are: we are creatures of space, time, and matter, and though we take our normal understandings of these for granted... the Psalms will gently but firmly transform our understandings of all of them.'
This book is readable and accessible, thoughtful and helpful, and although relatively brief it would serve as a good stimulus to reconnect yourself or your church with the Psalms in ways old and new. Based on reflections originally delivered in 2012 at a conference in Grand Rapids, Michigan, this book occasionally feels like an accumulation of talks rather than a planned work, but maybe that is in keeping with its subject! If you are currently ploughing through volumes in his Christian Origins and the Question of God series then this book would provide light relief. If you are a regular user of his New Testament for Everyone series then this will be a good place to turn. A good book that has done me good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars N.T.Wright, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another great work by Tom Wright. This man brings a depth of understanding to his subject area which is so helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For the theologian, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not easy to read .Requires study and therefore probably better understood by those studying theology.
Final chapter was in terms which were much easier for the average individual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Island Girl (Hebrides, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delighted to have another book by (Prof) Tom Wright. Helps us step out of the here and now and enabling to us to glimpse our place in the Heaven and Earth complex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great books, 2 Nov 2013
By 
John Neale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is as always with NT Wright inspiring, challenging and encouraging. It is another book I would recommend strongly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why the psalms today, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Geoffrey Doye (east coker somerset england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book inspires Christians to look at the New Testament through the eyes of a reader of the Hebrew Bible and learn how Jesus and Paul spoke comprehendingly to their jewish audience, And by this understand what the Psalms can mean to usinthe 21st century. Well done Tom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews