Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than could have believed for the price!!!!
This product is great! Other reviewers have noted the instruction manuals and I agree, but gotta say - it's so easy to figure out yourself that it was not a problem for me. Loads of goodies included for strapping the camera to your head, arm, leg, car dashboard, bike / bike helmet, wall, snorkel, model plane / helicopter / boat / submarine , cat or dog. Another reviewer...
Published 15 months ago by Gareth

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The instructions are nothing more than a waste of paper
The instructions are nothing more than a waste of paper, the camera stopped working after just a few weeks, I sent it back and still haven't recieved a refund. If you've got any sense you won't have anything to do with this supplier!
Published 8 months ago by Rik


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than could have believed for the price!!!!, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAMSWAN Hd 1080p Sports Helmet Dv Dash Car Camera 12m H.264 Waterproof to 30m Underwater (Electronics)
This product is great! Other reviewers have noted the instruction manuals and I agree, but gotta say - it's so easy to figure out yourself that it was not a problem for me. Loads of goodies included for strapping the camera to your head, arm, leg, car dashboard, bike / bike helmet, wall, snorkel, model plane / helicopter / boat / submarine , cat or dog. Another reviewer mentioned having to use long nails or a tool to open the waterproof case - There is a lock which when slid up enables the case to be opened with ease. I purchased a 32gb data card for less than £20 from this site and a HDMI to 'mini' HDMI cable from this site for less than £2 that enables playback through a HD TV and the picture is truly incredible. With all video and photography light is key to good footage, and it's winter, so the color is not vivid - not the camera's fault (it's the weather!) but the footage I have taken is in my opinion really top HD quality. Looking forward to the summer when I can strap this camera to my mountain bike, and take it snorkeling (not at the same time). It's not BBC documentary quality so if you are loaded and have £32,000.00 you can get a much better camera. For everyone else - buy one of these, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good camera at a good price, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAMSWAN Hd 1080p Sports Helmet Dv Dash Car Camera 12m H.264 Waterproof to 30m Underwater (Electronics)
Bought this to use as a dash cam in my car.
Generally, I am very pleased with the result. The footage is very clear even when filming at night, and even when only using headlights there is enough light for a good picture of the road ahead. Licence plates on other cars can be read easily when cars are steady, such as when moving at the same speed or in traffic queues, although when moving past / overtaking letters tend to be blurred. Night-time colours less distinct, but the picture is crisp and clear. Sound is quite clear, you can hear conversations in the car. There is an option to turn off sound recording.
The exposure adjustment responds quickly to light/shade during the day.
Plenty of mounting fittings of different types, though not a very consistent set of bits. A somewhat bulky assembly when mounting on the windscreen using suction cup (included in kit). I think they could do better. I tried a fitting onto the top of the dash, this was less bulky but not so firm so there was a bit of vibration in the picture. I am still experimenting and may need to cannibalise the parts to make my own combination to get the best result.
The camera can be set to start recording when power (ignition) is turned on, and stop when turned off, so it can be installed and then forgotten until you want to transfer pictures.
I have set it to record 3-minute segments, this is pretty good as each segment overlaps, about 10 secs - very clever idea. Once the memory is full, starts to overwrite the earlier recordings. 3Min segment is around 355MB in HD. My card 4GB allows for around 10 segments = 30 mins before overwriting.
I have not used the waterproof case yet so cannot comment, though it looks good and strong with tight closure.
Out of about 1.5 hours of footage taken so far, there have been around six quite alarming incidents of people shooting lights, sharp manoeuvres in tight situations, aggressive driving, speeding etc. I have not posted anything to YouTube yet but sorely tempted!
I downloaded a short section of video with this review but the quality has been reduced by Amazon. To see better quality go to[...] for night-time footage and [...] for daytime (motorway) footage - and remember to select HD 1080 quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such quality for a small price, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAMSWAN Hd 1080p Sports Helmet Dv Dash Car Camera 12m H.264 Waterproof to 30m Underwater (Electronics)
I was looking for a go-pro equivalent (as I did not want to spend c £300) and saw this reviewed on techmoan.com. The usability is excellent, the menus are clear and the LCD screen works well both for viewing and lining up shots and for configuration. For the price I paid I did not expect much - a functional camera only, nothing special, but have been very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the camera and the shots it takes.

Pros:
- Price
- Full 1080HD video at good quality
- Sturdy case and lots of attachment options

Cons:
- I needed to purchase a separate helmet mount for skiing - the attachments provided could do it but it would be very high up and none of the stickers are curved.
- Inside the case, the camera can rattle, this is easily resolved by placing a couple of foam padding strips inside the case (there are a couple of youtube videos out there that show this)

The cons are so minor here and in my case were resolved purchasing a c £20 helmet mount to take any camera with a tripod mount that I still think that this is a 5* product, definitely recommended if you want a decent action camera and do not want to pay GoPro money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great camera packed with features and good battery life, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAMSWAN Hd 1080p Sports Helmet Dv Dash Car Camera 12m H.264 Waterproof to 30m Underwater (Electronics)
Forget about the price this is a quality camera.
Was very surprised at what was delivered for the price
great camera packed with features and good battery life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little camera, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAMSWAN Hd 1080p Sports Helmet Dv Dash Car Camera 12m H.264 Waterproof to 30m Underwater (Electronics)
Really liked the quility of the video I was going to buy a Go Pro but when I found this and saw the quilaity of it I choose it and it was not a bad choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The instructions are nothing more than a waste of paper, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAMSWAN Hd 1080p Sports Helmet Dv Dash Car Camera 12m H.264 Waterproof to 30m Underwater (Electronics)
The instructions are nothing more than a waste of paper, the camera stopped working after just a few weeks, I sent it back and still haven't recieved a refund. If you've got any sense you won't have anything to do with this supplier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value for money --- (if it works), 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAMSWAN Hd 1080p Sports Helmet Dv Dash Car Camera 12m H.264 Waterproof to 30m Underwater (Electronics)
I bought this camera to use on my Microlight aircraft - I think the basic go-pros are overpriced - and it worked brilliantly. The 140 degree lens gives excellent coverage and the image is very sharp with little vibration visible - BUT, I have to turn the sound off as the "up/down" switch above the hdmi port rattles and this covers up most of the sound. I've tried using sellotape to hold it still, but the "rattle" is inside. This rattle is also heard when used in the car (btw, you can turn the holding clip round so the camera is the right way up). I agree with the other reviewers that the mounts leave a lot to be desired - so "be prepared to modify" - the car mount especially allows a lot of vibration.
I'm returning this camera because of the rattle and have ordered another - it this has a rattle as well then I'm prepared to live with the sound off (only the engine noise is heard when flying, I'm not worried about the car).

All in all, worth the money, battery life appears to be good (Over an hours flight recorded so far), resolution is very good, wide angle lens is excellent, spare batteries are available (I liked the fact that the battery is removable), as are spare case shells.

Let downs, - the "rattle", the mounts, and the instructions, but definitely worth the £43 I paid - (eat your heart out go-pro)

Update, 27 June - Replacement arrived and test flown - sorry to report the rattle is still there, so it's "no sound" in future. I'm keeping the camera as, for the money, it's a little cracker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!Well worth the money, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
R. Smith "wach7256" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAMSWAN Hd 1080p Sports Helmet Dv Dash Car Camera 12m H.264 Waterproof to 30m Underwater (Electronics)
this is such an amazing little camera! i bought it to record myself kneeboarding / wakeboarding... and it works lol! the case it comes with is fully waterproof and it comes with all the mounting options u need for just about anything! my mate tested it on his motorbike on the way to work and the only issue was vibration above around 50mph due to the handlebar bracket mount, but the camera worked perfectly. the sound quality could be better, when its in the waterproof case you struggle to hear people talking at a normal level, but if you're intending on using it as a car cam, to record yourself on a bike or doing some outdoor sports which you want to edit some music over in the end anyway, this cameras perfect! the picture is awesome recording in full HD and is a perfect very low budget rival to the go pro. ive only used it twice so far, once when my mate used it and for around 5 hours on the water but so far its holding up. the battery lasted the full 5 hours on my day kneeboarding with a bit to spare so you cant really complain for under 50 quid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAMSWAN Hd 1080p Sports Helmet Dv Dash Car Camera 12m H.264 Waterproof to 30m Underwater (Electronics)
Its spot on for the cost picture is fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and affordable - not really for action stuff, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HAMSWAN Hd 1080p Sports Helmet Dv Dash Car Camera 12m H.264 Waterproof to 30m Underwater (Electronics)
Pretty good camera for the money but don't expect the go-pro performance..
Simple to use ,very intuitive and comes with a waterproof case and lots of good attachments for various things ( helmet / wall/ car dashboard..)
The main drawback is the lack of anti vibration built in and shaking is quite bad and if you use it as an action camera, you are going to have a lot of it !
The camera sensor is also not the best .. the quality should be 1080p but is let down by a poor sensor

I think this product is more suited for safety rather then action videos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews