Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musical Diversion
As a fan of film and tv music in general, and of POIROT specifically, I was delighted to see that there was a long-overdue second album of wholly new music from the series, this time from some of the much later film-length episodes.
The music from one of those especially, The Clocks, really grabbed my attention during the broadcast and I am thrilled to find an eight...
Published 15 months ago by Michael Fillis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Collection of doubtful productions?
Bought this just for the sake of completeness; haven't viewed it yet. Not expecting much from it, as it contains just the left-overs of the books that others though unworthy of attention
Published 3 months ago by JG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musical Diversion, 17 Dec. 2013
By 
Michael Fillis "Fireflash" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Music from the TV Series (feat. Adieu Poirot by Amy Dickson) [Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
As a fan of film and tv music in general, and of POIROT specifically, I was delighted to see that there was a long-overdue second album of wholly new music from the series, this time from some of the much later film-length episodes.
The music from one of those especially, The Clocks, really grabbed my attention during the broadcast and I am thrilled to find an eight minute suite of it on this CD with its metronomic, ticking timepiece driving the drama.
Apart from the main theme, all the music is taken from just five scores: Mrs McGinty's Dead, Taken at the Flood, After the Funeral, The Mystery of the Blue Train and the aforementioned The Clocks. To my surprise, the original scores herein are composed, not by Christopher Gunning, but by two talented gentlemen called Stephen Mckeon and Christian Henson whose names were most likely invisibly small in the rapid and squashed closing credits of Poirot on ITV. I'm here now to sing their praises. This textural music reflects the darker tone of the latter Poirots; this may not be to everyone's taste, judging by some of the reviews of the first Gunning CD, but is mysterious and hypnotic by turns and makes for a contemplative listening experience. Rather than adhere to a single suite of music for each tale, the cues have mostly been broken into shorter cues and mixed up to ensure variety. They may not have the grand emotional punch of some of Gunning's work for the series, and the music for Taken at the Flood bears more than a passing resemblance to Bernard Herrmann's score for Fahrenheit 451 (Smoke and Mirrors is a lovely pastiche of the main theme - one might as well be 'inspired' by the best) but this is a worthy addition to the growing number of television soundtracks available at last to those who want them. The paltry sleeve notes make much of the fact that the soloist for the famous theme to Poirot, which tops and tails the CD, is Amy Dickson and yet gives no clue as to the identity or other work of the actual composers, which is a great shame and which they really do deserve. Recommended, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Fans of Poirot ..., 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Music from the TV Series (feat. Adieu Poirot by Amy Dickson) [Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
....or just good filmmusic. Simply wonderful, small booklet with informations. I would recommend this for all admirers of David Suchet playing Hercule Poirot, the world famous belgian detective created by Dame Agatha Christie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classical poirot, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Music from the TV Series (feat. Adieu Poirot by Amy Dickson) [Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
A beautiful collection of the very best music from a wide range of the poirot series. Classical easy listening. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another jewel from the UK, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Oliver KA "Oliver" (Karlsruhe, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Music from the TV Series (feat. Adieu Poirot by Amy Dickson) [Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
I am so happy that finally I do not have the Poirot movies only, but also the fantasctic music. It is simply lovely and enchanting. Switch it on, lie down and enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Music from the TV Series (feat. Adieu Poirot by Amy Dickson) [Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
My son loves Poirot and I got him this for Christmas. He loves listening to the songs as it reminds him what a great detective Poirot is. The cd arrived on time and well packed. I would recommend this to all Poirot fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Collection of doubtful productions?, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Music from the TV Series (feat. Adieu Poirot by Amy Dickson) [Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
Bought this just for the sake of completeness; haven't viewed it yet. Not expecting much from it, as it contains just the left-overs of the books that others though unworthy of attention
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Purchased a present for my wife who liked al Agatha Christie stories, 27 Sept. 2014
By 
R. Shaw "Audio Books" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Music from the TV Series (feat. Adieu Poirot by Amy Dickson) [Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
Purchased a present for my wife who liked al Agatha Christie stories, but this CD did not appeal to her, only listened to it once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Music from the TV Series (feat. Adieu Poirot by Amy Dickson) [Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
as always - cd arrived in suitable packaging at top quality for listening - hi fi system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Music from the TV Series (feat. Adieu Poirot by Amy Dickson) [Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poirot - Music from the TV Series (feat. Adieu Poirot by Amy Dickson) [Soundtrack] (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews