Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
Really rocks
Soulful a must have if you loved the original
Sound is really fresh and live.
This band truly could play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Rockin' - Unmissable!, 31 Jan 2014
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
Humble Pie reached some sort of peak here it seems. The band is tight, Frampton is amazing and so are Marriot, Ridley and Shirley. What a band! And the sound quality is just "wow" on the four discs. Can't praise it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
brings back all sorts of memories - excellent pressie for the husband who is humble pie mad! I'm one brilliant wife according to him lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A full-flavoured Pie-Feast to relish, 22 Dec 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
For a younger music fan unfamiliar with this classic, Humble Pie were an English rock band formed in 1969 by guitarist/singer Peter Frampton and front-man rhythm guitarist, keyboard and harmonica player Steve Marriott, who had an distinctively raucous vocal style perfect for hard rock. Joining them were the excellent Greg Ridley on bass and vocals, and young Jerry Shirley on drums.

The quartet experienced only modest success with their studio releases but was always an A-list act onstage, with a reputation for hard rock grooves which drove their audiences wild with enthusiasm. This 1971 live album sees the Pie at the top of their game: four back-to-back concerts at The Fillmore East in NYC as the middle-act of a triple bill (between openers Fanny and headliner Lee Michaels) each set time-constrained to just over an hour. The original 1971 double-album release culled songs selectively from the four performances and was a commercial breakthrough for the Pie, is widely regarded as a rock classic and by many as the best live-on-stage rock album ever released.

Now you can hear all four concert performances unedited, Eddie Kramer's original recordings lovingly restored by the two surviving band members Frampton and Shirley. Ashley Shepherd's remixes are crisp and beautifully sharp, and the remastering work by Bob Ludwig finally does full justice to these epic, muscular rock performances.

Pie fans who remember the original 1971 `Performance' vinyl double-album or who already have it in the collection but have not yet heard this October 2013 four-disk box set might still be asking themselves "Is it worth buying?"

The answer is a definite "Yes". The sound quality throughout is stunning, and the four complete performances are subtly - and sometimes more obviously - different, not only in overall tone but in the song mix: `Rolling Stone' features in only two of the concerts, and `Stone Cold Fever' in only one. Marriott's banter (complete with refreshingly unedited cockney-accented profanities) punctuates each performance, driven by the dynamic interaction with each night's unique audience. The captivating guitar-vocal interplay of Marriott and Frampton and the improvisational virtuosity of the whole band in the long sections (especially evident on `Walk on Gilded Splinters') give the performances depth; the quieter sections offer light and shade and make the jump-to-your-feet-and-dance hard rockers even more invigorating.

The presentation of Omnivore's new box set is superb. Housed in a robust hinged box decorated with the original 1971 artwork, a separate CD is devoted to each of the four performances. The 20-page booklet includes an intelligent and thoughtful essay by Tim Cohan, track-by-track sleeve notes and some fine photographs from the period.

One more thing: this music makes most sense when played very, very loud. It's not background easy-listening or dinner-party ambient. So buy it, crank up the volume and have a party to some of the greatest live rock music performances ever recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin our house constantly, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
Having seen Peter Frampton and Jerry Shirley at the Camden Roundhouse very happy memories flooded back so just had to get the album even tho I have the original. It is digitally remastered to the highest degree and does not disappoint. Steve Marriott, Greg Ridley, Peter and Jerry at their most excellent. Rock on P & J
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' the Fillmore, 28 Nov 2013
Finally one of the best rock n roll live albums in an extended version. I have been waiting for ages. I still play my vinylversion but this is the best Xmas gift ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin' In The Free World, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Peter L. Crisp (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
I remember all those years ago early 70's and towards the end of the 70's when live albums were i guess made as a last resort to
recharge their album sales. Think of The Who "Live At Leeds", Thin Lizzy "Live & Dangerous", Lynyrd Skynyrd "One More For/From The Road", Ten Years After "Recorded Live", UFO "Strangers In The Night" and i guess we can throw in 2 more Iron Maiden "Live After Death" and who can't forget Deep Purple "Made In Japan" which i understand is getting a complete overhaul as we speak. I just hope it's not a repeat of the Live In Japan box set in '93 we will have to wait and see. When i "herd" that Humble Pie's
"Performance" Rockin' The Fillmore was going to be a 4cd box set my initial reaction "my god". With all the live albums listed above is Humble Pie one of the finest? The quality, the sound, the production is simply stunning. Out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really had a gas...., 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
One of the greatest live albums of all time just got even greater. Now we can hear all four shows in their complete glory. This is what new archival releases should be - just a great job by the folks responsible for putting this project together.

If we can only get Deluxe Editions of all the early Pie albums, or the much rumored archival box set in the works, with tons of rare unreleased tracks, this Pie fan can die happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The dogs whatsits!!!, 20 Dec 2013
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
Waited a long long time for an updated release of this classic live rock album. Some say THE best live album ever released, not sure about that,but it certainly would be in my top five. I still have my original vinyl copy..............but the remixed sound on this release is really good. Great to have all the previously unreleased concerts in this package as well. If you like Humble Pie, or good old Rock music buy this you will not be disappointed. Had to source mine from Amazon.com as the first batch sold out very quickly, cheaper too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Release, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
I had the original album/CD and thought that was a great release. This version being 4CD's is now 4X better. The remastered sound is excellent and all the performances are top notch. Like others have said, having the same songs four times does not detract but enhances the experience because all the shows are exciting in their own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews