Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loud and Proud!!!, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Christopher Cooper "Cricko" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
This is album ROCKS! Make no mistake, cheap speakers will succumb to the onslaught - this is an album that celebrates the birth of British Heavy Metal! Like the eras when the British once ruled seas and skies, we have also ruled the world with Heavy Rock bands such as Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple and... Humble Pie.
A band that has been severally billed as the first British 'Supergroup', with four exceptional and gifted artists they conquered the stages and stadiums of the developed world with their fusion of blues, soul, rock and lots of volume. Greg Ridley, his pounding bass and Jerry Shirley assaulting the skins of his drum kit form a thundering rhythm for the guitars and vocals of the late, great SteveMarriott, one of the finest singers this country ever produced. Steve in turn provides an excellent foil for the vocals and lead guitar of Peter Frampton, who was only a teenager at the time of the groups' worldwide success.
Fans of Rock will love this simple, pounding yet melodic music which first hit the music shops as a vinyl double album in 1971. The sound quality on that release was fantastic given the technology available at the time, but fans have long wished for a remastered version of this and other 'Pie' albums.
Well here it is! Remastered yes - and how! This release has been expanded and sees a 4 disc boxed set comprising the 4 shows that Pie performed at the Fillmore East, New York on 18/19 August 1971. The original album was compiled from these 4 shows but this release presents all four concerts, each concert on a single disc.
The casual Humble Pie fan will probably not fully appreciate the `same' four concerts, although each set list has a slightly different running order. However, enthusiasts will love the subtle differences in performance (no pun intended...) and Steve Marriott devotees will love to hear his banter with the audiences and the phenomenal vocal performances he lays down on each track.
The remastering and production on the set is superb, the audience creates a real atmosphere of `being there' for the listener. Hard to believe that the original album was almost released without the audience in the mix - luckily this was rectified before unleashing the album to the world.

This is great music, played by great people and all fans who have the original vinyl squirreled away in their attics should buy this album immediately and play it very, very LOUD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just One More Slice......!, 19 Nov 2013
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
When the original 2 album vinyl set came out - I was one of the first in the queue to get my grubby hands onto a slice of one of the most explosive live sets recorded (to that point in time and possibly never bettered since!) proving, as if it needed, that Humble Pie were one of the greatest rock bands in the world and that the respective members were all way ahead of their time in terms of capabilities but, notwithstanding, were able to operate as one of the most cohesive units you'd ever clap ears on! And why? Simple - they enjoyed what they did and admired each others musical gift - and if you buy yourself this little slice of rock history, you'll soon hear for yourself across the 4 joyous recordings!
When this 4 CD set was first announced, I thought that it would make a great addition to my Humble Pie collection (as well as my music collection) but, my heart sank a little when the running orders were shown for the 4 discs and I was sat there thinking that, actually, maybe it wasn't going to be worth the money. BUT, I shelled out the dosh and received the boxed set replete with it's little potted history and am I disappointed - ABSOLUTELY NOT!
This 4 CD set rocks and I mean: ROCKS. The individual sets are all so very different (from the original release) with the banter, the solos, the singing even the timing so that by the time you get to the end of the set you are just left sitting with a silly grin on your face and the wish that you could go back in time and re-experience it all over again in the flesh (which I did on several occasions).
Marriott sings and plays in his own inimitable way (with and without a valid mic - it makes no difference!), Frampton plays those jazzy lines at a rate of knots and Ridley and Shirley are the rock steady platform from which the whole aural assault is launched. You may have heard these songs before but, when played like this with so much guts and drive, you too are going to be sucked into the maelstrom and spat out at the other side, weary but so very happy - and that's a promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW.....what a tasty mouthfull of vintage Pie!, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Keith J. Lambert "zephead5" (Lytham St Annes, Lancs, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
I've said a few times that I prefer the Winterland 1973 set to 'Rockin' but for any Pie fan and for those who are seeking an introduction to what this band were all about in a live environment, this is IT!!!!

Listening to the four sets (at high volume if you please), this box set is a perfect representation of a hungry Humble Pie selling their wares to a gobsmacked NYC audience in the finest of style.

The quality of the performances (Rock On!) and the sound of this set leave nothing to be desired; this is a hard working band portrayed in one of its finest hours. If you listen to the discs in order, it's like witnessing the mighty HP playing out the weekend and having an absolute ball (or gas!).

The sound quality is absolutely superb but if you already own the original vinyl, you shouldn't think twice about picking this up. What a job! Surely one of THE best releases of 2013 and the decade to boot.

Are you ready?!?!? Thanks to the guys from 'us fans' for making this possible and to Omnivore for creating such a terrific release.....Exquisite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece....revisited!!, 10 Jan 2014
By 
D. Hunter (Maldon, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
I've at the original album since I was at school. First on vinyl, then on CD. Was in 2 minds whether to buy this box set but I shouldn't have doubted it. To hear the different nuanced performance over the 4 show, which were distilled to make to original album. ABSOLUTELY BLOODY MARVELLOUS!!! Deserves more than 5 stars :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars posterity is all behind me now, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
I still have the original vinyl recording from 1971........and this box set is utterly magnificent. Why? Well, I've been listening to the "original" for 42 years, I know every note, every nuance and here we have the raw source material from which the "original" was cobbled together. And I do mean cobbled together. There's the bits of vocal that were silenced out on the "original" Rollin Stone, the cuts made to Guilded Splinters, the transfer of vocals & solo's from one song to another - all laid bare to show just how we were all ripped off with the original album - an entire career based upon a live album that was, essentially, a fake........ that's business for ya.

Which is exactly why this boxed is so valuable - even though the original release was a pastiche from these 4 shows, the actual music is blistering, the performances exhilarating. each show is a show within it's own right (not as stupid as that sounds!). I love the mistakes, the bum notes on solo's, the variances on Marriott's little tales that he tells, the whole politically incorrectness of it (it's rock n roll, and PC has no place in there) - THIS is what rock n roll is really about! Not the sterile rubbish we get nowadays where every night is a repeat of the previous night. THIS is a rock n roll band in full flight, including jamming, making errors & recovering from them so well that you don't even notice them. Remember, Jerry Shirley is barely 19 years old.... what a drummer. And the now deceased Greg Ridley - what a rhythmn section - forget all the other bands, those two men play together, and I do mean together. This is the hottest live act in the world - bar none and there has never really been anyone as good as these guys. As Alice Cooper said after Pie supported him one time "how the f*** am I supposed to follow that"!!

If you ever want to find out just how good the 70's era is, in terms of balls to the wall rock, this is the set to get. If you ever want to know how to approach playing covers, this is the band to heed. If you ever want to have the hair on your neck stand up, send shivers down your spine, make your hands sweat and just revel in what can only be described as a f***ing good time - THIS is the best you will ever hear.

There has never been another white male voice/character/front man quite like Marriott, there probably never will be, he was just unique and had cocaine not done its' dirty work on him, who knows how good things might have been? Frampton is, and always has been, a greatly under-rated guitarist. But when you put those four lads, in their prime, having a great time and just letting rip..... you have the finest rock n roll band in the land. Shouty, ballsy, let's party.

Buy it. In fact, buy it several times and earn yourself some good kharma by giving them away as freebies to all your rockin n rollin friends. It's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved the original album., 24 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Graham Hort "Alf" (Plymouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
I have always been a fan of Stevie Marriot.(I remember ice skating to Tin Soldier). I always feel his loss was a great tragedy but he left us a great legacy of music. Listening to these 4 albums I think they did pick out the best versions for the original album but it is really great to hear different versions of the songs we know so well. I play one album a day. It's like being at different concerts in my own home. A great addition to my collection. It really is a gas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Roney Lundell "the Roon" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
All four shows sounding like I was there!

I fully recommend this as there is nothing I would have done different if I was in charge of the production of this master piece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Performance' just got better!, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
I can't add much more than the other 19 five star rating have already done before me. But it can't get nothing less.
The re-mastering is superb and from the opening of disc 1 the sound came flying out of my speakers with such a punchy sound, especially the rhythm section...This needs to be heard loud to get the best from it. And such fun to listen to the different versions of the songs, especially 'Walk on gilded splinters'
Amazing to think this was all recorded 43 years ago. This is a beautifully packaged set of one of the greatest live albums of all time, but now even better and complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
I have one of the performances on vinyl and was blown away by the CD with all of them on!

Brilliant, absolutely brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty Pie, 14 Feb 2014
This review is from: Performance: Rockin' The Filmore - The Complete Recordings (Audio CD)
If you loved this CD as a double vinyl ablum first time around, you'll absolutely rock to this!! If you're a fan of classic British rock, even if you've not heard the Pie before, you love this. This remix and update by Frampton and Shirley with all the crowd input restored in full is an absolutely full on top notch live, in your face, recording.
Humble Pie were probably the first supergroup. A mix of late 60's pop stars Steve Marriot and Peter Frampton, the latter to later release, as a solo artist, probably the biggest selling live album of all time in Frampton Comes Alive. The Pie also had noted bass player Greg Ridley, from Spooky Tooth, and relatively unknown at the time, but powerhouse drummer, Jerry Shirley.
Whilst they produced studio albums, it was the live arena where Humble Pie made there name. Marriot and Frampton wanted to get away from being pop stars to being bona fide rockstars and the Pie propelled them into that status.
Noted as a live band, Rockin' the Filmore, really brings this home, where all band members shine and they are as tight as the proverbial duck's bum. Marriot stars as the ultimate front man whilst Framptons almost jazz like guitar fills ring through.
This update captures all 4 shows they did at the legendary Filmore East in NY,and it absolutely freaking rocks.
If you're a fan of classic 70's in your face rock .... just get it !!! As Marriot frequently says .... "Rock On!!" It's a gas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews