Customer Reviews


284 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


179 of 185 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative twists on British classics
To accompany the TV series of the Incredible Spice Men comes the tie-in book. Chefs Cyrus Todiwala and Tony Singh have travelled the country seeking out dishes that they could put their spicy twist on.

We all love our traditional British food and so the idea of being able to transform them with spices is something that immediately appealed to me so when I saw...
Published 16 months ago by Mrs. E. Preval

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars spice man
a very good book a mix of a story and food

a few twists and mixes i would never though would work

but do great book
Published 10 months ago by colin wilson


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

179 of 185 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative twists on British classics, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. E. Preval "mpreval" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To accompany the TV series of the Incredible Spice Men comes the tie-in book. Chefs Cyrus Todiwala and Tony Singh have travelled the country seeking out dishes that they could put their spicy twist on.

We all love our traditional British food and so the idea of being able to transform them with spices is something that immediately appealed to me so when I saw that such a book was coming out I was very pleased. Some people tend to look down on the British classics so if you're holding a dinner party it might be nice to wheel out a couple of the dishes from this book without telling them of the spices that have been put into them to transform them into dishes that would wow any dinner party.

The first thing I would say is that the book is beautiful to look at, the photos of the recipes jump off the page and just make you want to head to the kitchen and start cooking them. Whenever ever I purchase a cookbook where the main theme is spice I worry that the recipes will call for spices that can only be found in Asian supermarkets or large cities. Thankfully the two chefs have realised that making the recipes accessible to everybody is something that is important to people who want to produce lovely food without having to spend time sourcing difficult to find ingredients. Hence you will be able to find all of the spices used in the recipes in this book in the spice isle of any large supermarket.
The recipes themselves are incredibly varied with a whole host of familiar British classics given a twist by the addition of a couple of spices. The recipe instructions are easy to follow so nobody should have a problem reproducing the recipes featured. Of course, there are a few recipes that are more complicated but you would only expect this as there are always a number of recipes in every cookbook aimed at those looking to impress guests with their technique.

The book is divided into the following chapters:

Starters, snacks and a light bite or two
Fish and a bit of seafood
Chicken and poultry
Pork, lamb and beef and other meats
Vegetables, sides, salads and chutneys
Desserts and a few wee drinks

At the back of the book you also find pages on some simple spice mixes as well as some useful tips and techniques.

Below you will find a list of the recipes featured in this book listed by chapter. I hope this proves useful in helping you to come to a decision as to whether this is a book that you would like to own.

Starters, snacks and a light bite or two:
Spiced beetroot soup
Hot and sour soup with crispy fish
Gazpacho with a kick
Asparagus with lime and coriander hollandaise
Warm butternut scones with cheese
Mushroom madras blazer
Goat's cheese, red onion and caraway seed tart
Smoked haddock and mango tart
Spiced Singh gravalax
Smoked salmon with spiced beetroot salad
Hot and sticky prawns

Fish and a bit of seafood:
Haddock pancake with zingy salsa
Fish with a zing and a zang
Creamy cheddary grilled fish
Roast fish with spicy butter
Todiwala and Singh's spiced fish and chips
Creamy fish curry
Fish with Wild West beans
Dover sole with lime and ginger
Indian herb-crusted salmon
Salmon nicoise with Bombay aloo
Punjabi spiced salmon
Prawn pilaf
Stuffed king prawns
Crab and potato cake with mustard and cumin
Cockles with smoked paprika and coriander

Chicken and poultry:
Chicken liver parfait with ginger punch
Bombay coronation chicken
Tandoori-roasted chicken
Colonel Singh's spiced wings
Easy peasy chilli chicken
Pot roasted thighs with mushrooms and mash
Chicken breast made sexy
Roast maple and chilli chicken with polenta
Honey-roasted chicken with outstanding roasties
Ginger chicken escalopes
Turkey tikka

Pork, lamb and beef and other meats:
Salt and chilli ribs
Cabbage and ribs
Exceptional gammon with cider and cinnamon
Roast marinated pork
Pulled pork with cinnamon and clove
Loin of pork with dhal stuffing
McSingh's scotch pie
Bacon and spicy courgette
Cutlets of lamb, parsee-style
Nicely spicy lamb kheema
Shepard's pie with oomph and aah
Lamb stew with black pepper, coconut and clove
Meatball masala
Dad's beef kebabs
Splendidly spicy beef burger
Beef tikka with crushed black pepper

Vegetables, sides, salads and chutneys:
Todiwala and Singh's banging British breakfast
Duck egg with cumin and asparagus
Chilli cheese toast with spicy chutney
Kati kebab and parsley pesto
Korma pudding
Green mango and chilli salad
Mushy peas and tamarind
Spiced red cabbage
Green chilli mash
Cauliflower and chilli cheese
Peanut and mint slaw
Coriander coalishslaw
Ferdinando's roasted potatoes
Spiced Yorkshire pudding
Spiced pickled onions
Apple and pear chutney

Desserts and a few wee drinks:
Scottish cranachan with a wee twist
Bread and butter pudding with orange and cardamom
Apple crumble with star anise
Pear and honey tatin with allspice ice cream
Ginger queen of puddings
Treacle pudding with nutmeg, lemon and lime
Victoria sponge with fennel
Bombay-style cabinet pudding
Rioja cake with nutmeg figs and spiced cream
Rice pudding, parsee-style
Chocolate and cardamom mousse cake with homemade honeycomb
Singhs and the city
Spiced buttered rum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly brilliant book, 21 Aug 2013
This book is fantastic. I have tried four of the recipes in four days and they are amazing because they turn something quite simple into something really special. I did the Bombay mushrooms for my friends and they all thought I'd been having cookery lessons it was so much more interesting than my usual offerings.

The book is a great read, pictures beautiful and the recipes I've done so far were simple to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Spice Men (Kindle Edition)
Subtle to my God that's a bit warm, these recipes opened up the taste buds to our family and friends. Incredible just about covers it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Incredible Spice Men, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolute best buy for people who like using spices as these two Chefs recipes are easy to follow, and watching the way they interact on TV is simply wonderful.

I would buy any book by them !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cooking ideas, 9 Sep 2013
By 
J. Harris "0bookwworm" (cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent read, recipes good, have tried a few, variety of spices recommended easily obtainable at most supermarkets try it for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
only cooked two recipes so far both meet with all our approval looking forward to doing more soon.and really enjoy the series it comes from well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read as well as clear and 'must try' information about spices., 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived promptly and love it! I was on Amazon immediately after the first episode of theTV programme finished. A book I will refer to often when it comes to spicing up my food. Full of great tips and ideas. A winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful but could do with more veggie recipes, 17 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Incredible Spice Men (Kindle Edition)
Love the programme so I bought the book almost straight away and I haven't been disappointed. There are some great recipes in there almost all with beautiful pictures. The beetroot soup is subtle and delicious. I used the Yorkshire pudding recipe to make a spicy toad in the hole which was wonderful.

I have only two issues with the book. The first is that there are not many vegetarian main dishes. Most in that section are side dishes or accompaniments.

The other thing is that there are a couple of spice mixes from the programme that don't seem to be in the book: the 2:1 cinnamon and chilli mix that they put on vanilla ice cream (amazing!); and the 1:1:1 cinnamon, sugar and black pepper mix for strawberries (unbelievably good). If they're in the book, I can't find them.

But nevertheless, a sensational book, even on kindle for iPad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read. I like the pages devoted to the history of each spice. The tv format reminds me a lot of the Hairy Bikers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spices made easy, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bread and butter pudding to die for. Thoroughly recommend for spice novices - explanation and uses for spices extremely helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Incredible Spice Men
£8.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews