Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal USB Fan.
VERDICT :
Buy It !
It gives a mild but effective 'breeze' if close enough.
It doesn't make much noise.
The quality and construction are good.
It works and it's worth the money.

USB FAN COMPARED TO A MAINS FAN :
As you'll probably know, the normal type of fan that you plug into a standard mains socket ( 240 volts ) is much more...
Published 1 month ago by Mister Macmerry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but noisy
I was after a small desktop usb powere fan but one that was quiet. this one is not very quiet, it is not very loud, but it is loud enough to be annoying. Therefore I have ended up not using it. But it was cheap so you get what you pay for I suppose. An ok fan that is powered via usb cable (cable is a decent length, about 1.5m, as some others are shorter). Average.
Published 3 months ago by P. Gagg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal USB Fan., 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
VERDICT :
Buy It !
It gives a mild but effective 'breeze' if close enough.
It doesn't make much noise.
The quality and construction are good.
It works and it's worth the money.

USB FAN COMPARED TO A MAINS FAN :
As you'll probably know, the normal type of fan that you plug into a standard mains socket ( 240 volts ) is much more powerful and effective than a 5 volt USB fan.
But if you can't plug into the mains, then this mini USB fan is a reasonable alternative.

AIR FLOW STRENGTH :
This Mini USB fan doesn't give the 'Cool and soft wind' or the ' Strong wind' that the blurb on the box claims. It will only give you a small amount of cool air. But small is better than nothing on a burning hot day. And in fact, it's quite effective.

TIP :
If you're restricted to using mini fans, two of them working together might give the amount of cool air you need. If you don't have enough USB sockets, a USB multi adapter would allow you to plug in 2 fans.

BRAND NAME :
Lileng 815. USB Mini Fan. Made in China.
That's according to the box it came in.

SELLER :
Bought from Laptop Kit UK - Fulfilled by Amazon.

COST :
10 including postage. ( purchased June 2014 ).

DELIVERY :
2 days after clicking, it landed on my door mat.
So, the stock is obviously stored in the UK rather than China.

QUALITY :
Very good quality.
Superior to the plastic versions, partly because it has metal blades.
Construction : Efficient design. No sharp edges. Strong enough to take some knocks.
Materials : Strong metal casing. Metal fan blades. Metal stand with 3 small plastic tubular 'feet'.

SIZE :
Dinky !
Height : 150 mm - About the length of an average hand.
Width : 150 mm - About the length of an average hand.
Depth : 80 mm - About half the length of an average hand.

CABLE LENGTH :
114 cm. ( 45 inches )

ON - OFF switch.

PLUG AND PLAY :
No software required.
Plug it into the USB socket on your PC or Laptop etc.
Flick the switch on the rear of the fan. That's it, cool air should flow !
( The fan uses 5 volts = the power of a USB socket )

WEIGHT :
Light enough to lift with one finger.

EFFECTIVENESS :
Optimal distance = 30 cm ( 1 foot ) from your face.
Reasonable effectiveness = 60 cm ( 2 feet ) from your face.
Even at distances greater than 60 cm you still get some kind of mild 'breeze'.

ADJUSTABLE :
Easily tilted on the swivel supports.

NOISE :
Generates a slight whine ; like a circling mosquito.
If you work with machinery or office equipment such as computers, phones and printers etc, you might not notice this whine. If you've got a Boss who whines all day, then you definitely wont notice the slight noise the fan makes.
The noise is present whether it's on wood ( eg a desk ) or a carpet or a chair.
If you place it on a hollow desk the noise might be exaggerated i.e. it might sound louder or possibly even rumble due to vibration.
With many fans, unwanted noise is created by warped or badly secured casing. Or by bent or squint blades.
The slight noise from this fan comes from the motor, not the casing or the blades.

WILL IT DANCE A JIG AROUND YOUR DESK ? :
No. It's well behaved and knows it's place. Its basic design, combined with the plastic tubular 'feet', mean it remains exactly where you plonked it.

PROGRESS REPORT :
If it becomes faulty or fails within one year, ( of June 2014 ) I'll update this review.

Hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the office, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is more robust than the plastic fans and i feel it gives our more air.
you can tilt it for the best results too

great for the office
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!!!!, 2 Nov 2013
After previously having 3 cheaper desk fans that all died within a few months, this sturdy product is perfect for my office desk. Lovely and quiet, nice and powerful...what more do you need? Can highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Retro Desk Fan, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very handy both at home and at work. It is just the right size for my desk
Very good quality. Not cheap looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it works, get it, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth the money, it is quite, small but produces enough air, people have asked where I purchased it and I have no hesitation in recommending this sturdy, quiet little fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight and portable, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sturdy little fan and very quiet, I originally bought this for home use only.
Simply purchasing a mains USB adapter means I will be able to use it at work and on holidays etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome little fan!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect for my desk in the office - unobtrusive, perfectly quiet and efficient. Very happy - would definitely recommend for purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect in every way, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eGadget Metal Retro Desk Fan for PC , Laptop , Netbook, Apple Macbook , iMac (PURPLE)
I bought this on a whim last week when we had a random day of incredible heat and was frustrated with wafting myself with a notepad at my desk at work.

After reading reviews I splashed out on this one (many people have said the cheaper plastic ones aren't as great) and really glad I did.

This arrived a few days later very well packaged. It is neat and gorgeous (I've had a lot of comments on how pretty the purple colour is - it even matches my tissue box and hand cream) and works surprisingly well for such a wee product.

Can't wait for another fluke heatwave so I can test it out properly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but noisy, 6 April 2014
By 
P. Gagg (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was after a small desktop usb powere fan but one that was quiet. this one is not very quiet, it is not very loud, but it is loud enough to be annoying. Therefore I have ended up not using it. But it was cheap so you get what you pay for I suppose. An ok fan that is powered via usb cable (cable is a decent length, about 1.5m, as some others are shorter). Average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I spend most of my working day in a large office with no aircon surrounded by sweaty middle aged men ( and an attractive young brunette ). It gets a little bit warm.

I've seen a few different USB fans and have never been impressed due to a complete lack of power. However, this product is absolutely brilliant. Power level is surprisingly good and delivers a cool stream of air. It feels pretty solid and has now been on constantly for a few days with no problems. At this price, it really is good value.

Should someone "borrow " this from my desk and not return it, I would not hesitate to buy another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews