Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good fuel bottle
The bottle is made form a robust plastic (*much* more robust than the one the meths comes in from the hardware store), I have both the 0.5L and the 1L and have had them in hard service with no complaints.

I read elsewhere people mentioning leaks from the top, I don't believe their experiencing a leak as such, the top retains a tiny amount of meths after you...
Published on 24 Sep 2010 by Ekij

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy but could be better
This container is very good for carrying meths, but the spout can splutter and get meths on your hands or dribble after use. Not quite as safe as it could be, but better than a plastic meths bottle as you buy it from the shop.
Published on 5 Jun 2010 by Fandango


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good fuel bottle, 24 Sep 2010
By 
Ekij (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
The bottle is made form a robust plastic (*much* more robust than the one the meths comes in from the hardware store), I have both the 0.5L and the 1L and have had them in hard service with no complaints.

I read elsewhere people mentioning leaks from the top, I don't believe their experiencing a leak as such, the top retains a tiny amount of meths after you close it that can subsequently come out onto your hands. It's best to shake this `big drip' out of the bottle after you use it (away from people or tents).
Other tips worth noting, if the bottle has been heated (by the sun) since it was filled be careful when opening it as the meths will have pressurised and may spit as the pressure equalises (this is also why you shouldn't fill above the marked line).
When re-filling the bottle, if the lid is hard to twist off do not be tempted to use a pen or similar object through the tie point of the lid to give mechanical advantage to force the lid off, I've seen a number of bottles with the tie point snapped off presumably from doing this. Loosen the lid by gentle tapping.

These should not be considered to be criticisms of an excellent product, just additional operating advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The safe way to transport fuel., 1 Aug 2009
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
This bottle is perfect for transporting and storing your liquid fuel.
It's very strong and I've yet to make it leak, despite trying hard.

The tap is very easy to operate and allows you to pour out fuel with a minimum of spills.

Will probably last a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to store your meths, 27 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
My previous aluminium bottle punctured and had to be replaced. This is much better with an excellent meths delivery system and it's lighter. I particularly like the fact that you can expel any pressure that might build up (e.g. in hot weather) by pressing the top down and that you never have to remove the lid unless you want to refill the bottle. As has already been said, make sure that after you use the bottle you shake out the drips after tightening the lid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good fuel bottle, 24 Sep 2010
By 
Ekij (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
The bottle is made form a robust plastic, I have both the 0.5L and the 1L and have had them in hard service for over a year with no complaints.

I read elsewhere people mentioning leaks from the top, I don't believe their experiencing a leak as such, the top retains a tiny amount of meths after you close it that can subsequently come out onto your hands. It's best to shake this `big drip' out of the bottle after you use it (away from people or tents).
Other tips worth noting, if the bottle has been heated (by the sun) since it was filled be careful when opening it as the meths will have pressurised and may spit as the pressure equalises (this is also why you shouldn't fill above the marked line).
When re-filling the bottle, if the lid is hard to twist off do not be tempted to use a pen or similar object through the tie point of the lid to give mechanical advantage to force the lid off, I've seen a number of bottles with the tie point snapped off presumably from doing this. Loosen the lid by gentle tapping.

These should not be considered to be criticisms of an excellent product, just additional operating advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trangia 1.0 fuel bottle, 3 April 2010
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
this is a very good item for camping, i got it to take on week end fishing trips to use with my petrol camping cooker, easy to use does not spill a drop with the valve thats on it, i have since got the 0.5 ltr one as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy and Safe, 14 Feb 2011
By 
Faffer "Gadget Addict" (Southern England, U K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
Excellent, sturdy fuel bottle that will fit neatly into my pack. Thick HDPE plastic bottle with metal collar around the neck; simple but effective valve mechanism. This particular one bears a sticker that says it is 'recommended kit' for the Duke of Edinburgh Award and that the DofE receives a royalty for every one sold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trangia Kit, 24 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
Trangia products have never let me or are Scout's down, we've used their combinations in all weathers. The fuel bottle is great and fuss free, maintainable and replaceable, not that we,ve had to do any of that. With the Scout Group we've been using them for years. Hope this helps. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
Must say this item is far better than any other bottle out there.
The safety device is great and although it's plastic, it will probably outlast some metal ones I've tried in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent storage vessel for liquid fuel, 31 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
This lightweight vessel is an excellent way t transport and pour highly flammable liquid fuel. Bought one for use with my a coleman unleaded stove and this provides a very easy and safe way of dispensing the unleaded fuel. Basically the safety value is screwed down to lock and then to pour you unscrew it and press down no fuss or mess. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Hiking with meths stoves., 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
0.5L is about the right size for going on a hike not being too heavy when full. I consider a safety valve is now a must on all fuel bottles. This one does have a drip or two left when the valve is released.
Please see the H&S indecent report about carrying fuel for stoves:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trangia Fuel Bottle
£10.00 - £20.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews