Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faultless
I watched this film prepared to be assaulted by a Chickflick of unbearable sentimentality. In fact, it was one of the best films I've ever seen.
The story, briefly, is of the eponymous heroine. Born and brought up in a small American hick town, she has airs and graces above her station in life and, acting upon those airs, gets married to a man from a higher social...
Published on 26 May 2010 by J. Rottweiller Swinburne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor
What is an excellent film has been spoiled by this dvd. Yes it has been packaged and manufactured for Spanish viewers and the dubbed version on the disc is probably perfect, however the original English soundtrack starts to go out of synch about a third of the way into the movie and is a lot worse by the end of it which completely spoiled it for me.
Published on 5 Jan. 2013 by David Hart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faultless, 26 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched this film prepared to be assaulted by a Chickflick of unbearable sentimentality. In fact, it was one of the best films I've ever seen.
The story, briefly, is of the eponymous heroine. Born and brought up in a small American hick town, she has airs and graces above her station in life and, acting upon those airs, gets married to a man from a higher social echelon. However, the marriage is blighted by the fact that Stella, for all her airs of superiority to her humble background, has a streak of vulgarity which stops her rising to the social heights that she feel she was born to - she constantly embarrasses her husband by dropping social gaffes and inadvertently making a fool of herself and, by extension, him.
She becomes pregnant and gives birth to a daughter. However, even this is unable to save the marriage - they drift apart, he to a new career in New York, her to a blowsy life of disappointed ambition, financed by his payments to her - alimony in all but name.
Time passes and their daughter, whom Stella has kept and brought up alone, grows into a young woman who takes after her father - cultured, articulate and clearly designed for the finer things in life. Her efforts at social advancement are constantly (and excruciatingly) frustrated by her mother, until she goes to live with her father in New York. The child is torn between her desire for a better life - in the bosom of her father's adopted step-family, where she is truly happy - and her love for her mother. After a heart-rending climax, in which Stella nobly sacrifices her own happiness by engineering a situation which drives her daughter once and for all into the arms of her effective step-family, she is seen walking off alone, back into her bleak and lonely life, but happy that her daughter has now got a better life than she could ever give her.
It sounds like an early draft of "East Lynne", but it is a gripping and totally credible film. The acting from everyone is absolutely faultless, from Barbara Stanwyck herself (who is note-perfect as Stella - not suprisingly, perhaps, given her own real-life deprived and difficult upbringing), through Alan Hale as Stella's drunken would-be paramour, to Anne Shirley as the daughter (who you wish could be your own daughter, and who inexplicably gave up screen-acting in 1944, only seven years after making this film). The direction and production values are immaculate; not a word is wasted, not a scene poorly-lit or badly-directed. One can see why La Stanwyck was a Queen of the Screen, and how very good most "supporting" or "character" actors really were in those days.
Watch this for some wonderful, cringe-making and truly heart-rending entertainment - I promise you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stella Dallas - Barbara Stanwyck, 26 Dec. 2004
By 
Gwyneth Lewis (Aberdeen United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stella Dallas is a sad tale of a woman who wishes to get on in life but her working class background holds her back. However, the love she has for her only daughter is unrelenting until she finally realises the child will be best with the father. This is a heartbreaking moment and any mother will find it hard to hold back the tears.
I love this movie and cry from beginning to end!
Barbara Stanwyck is truly wonderful as the brash, no style, Stella!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent heart breaking film, 31 July 2013
i first saw this film with my mother when I was a child and we both cried our eyes out. Now that I am 29 I still continue to cry every time I see it. An excellent film and so heart breaking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barbara Stanwyck is Magnificent, 23 Nov. 2014
By 
Kathy Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stella Dallas [DVD] [1937] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
'A stirring drama to touch the heart and haunt the mind' - this is what it says on the DVD cover, and for once, the hype is absolutely true. Barbara Stanwyck is magnificent, and it's great that she is allowed to be herself as a relatively young actress, using her tough, New York accent to portray an equally tough and determined lady, who makes big mistakes in her family life, but puts it all right in the end. The story of a poor girl, who marries a well bred man, then proceeds to embarrass him with her vulgar ways, is not uncommon, but Stanwyck goes to the wire with the role, and is completely believable, bringing out the pathos of this basically warm, but utterly hopeless individual, who is ruining not only her decent husband's life, but her equally kind and clever young daughter's. Anne Shirley plays the nice, loyal, daughter in the old fashioned, slightly sugary way, but is so warm in the role that she gets away with it. Then there's Alan Hale, who turns vulgarity into an art form as Stanwyck's man on the side. The film is well directed, and the sad but satisfying ending is handled extremely well. A good DVD prints also helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the subtitles might be annoying for some, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stella Dallas (DVD)
I defy any woman who has been lucky enough to have a child, especially a daughter in relation to this film (NEVER take your child for granted-you would be shocked if you knew the stats for those who are unable to, and/or spend tens of thousands on unsuccessful IVF treatments), not to shed bucketloads of tears watching this. Yes, the subtitles might be annoying for some, and the dubbing isn't the best (this is a Spanish release), however the true essence of the film still shines through - no greater love hath a mother for the best she can do for her daughter regardless of the cost to herself.
No offence meant to Bette Midler, however in my opinion her re-make cannot even begin to touch this original.
Also, for another example of unselfish mother love (with a completely different type of daughter!), I would direct those who may be interested (as I think may have been mentioned by a previous reviewer) to the original film Mildred Pierce starring Joan Crawford. Again, no offence meant to Kate Winslet, however in my opinion her re-make cannot even begin to touch the original either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stella Dallas (DVD)
What is an excellent film has been spoiled by this dvd. Yes it has been packaged and manufactured for Spanish viewers and the dubbed version on the disc is probably perfect, however the original English soundtrack starts to go out of synch about a third of the way into the movie and is a lot worse by the end of it which completely spoiled it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stella Dallas (DVD)
Such a wonderful movie! I really enjoyed it, and it's so sad, what a mother won't do for her child!
Really good quality -can't do anything but to recommend it to everybody, and especially to a Stanwyck fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed with this dvd, 16 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stella Dallas (DVD)
So disappointed with this dvd. I love Stella with Bette Midler and wanted to see the original. It was not cheap and the acting is so ham and OTT.
I will not ever watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Classic, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This video arrived very quick and was packed really well. The quality was good for an old film. I would recommend it to any one who loves old movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stella Dallas (DVD)
great just the thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews