Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Stone Roses fan
I can remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when I heard the Stone Roses were reforming and were to play 2 (Which later became 3) massive dates at Heaton Park in Manchester. This was a band I had spent all of my teenage years listening to, convinced that I had been born too late to see them perform live.

I bought my ticket for Heaton Park and also...
Published 6 months ago by Josh Deegan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Very little live footage on it just looks like an extended evening news special. This boring documentary is a let down
Boring documentary that should have only been broadcast on tv and not released. Why didnt the stone roses release a full disc of the heaton park gigs, not this miserly release that doesnt even show a full song from the gigs. A misleading release in my eyes with the bare minimum of music that they could get away with. Might as well have been one of those dodgy unofficial...
Published 1 month ago by Adrian C. Thomas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent anniversary present for my husband, 18 Nov 2013
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Arrived in perfect condition on time as I requested fast delivery. My husband was impressed by how many DVDs there was and has watched it many times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, 16 Nov 2013
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Amazing docu-film of the best band ever!!!
If you love the Roses, love that there's a reunion, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stone cladding, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
my favourite band showing some nice scenes especially their natural class when rehearsing. the producer highlights the natural emotions of the band members and fans in the right manner with no false make up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sr, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Brilliant.it captures the stone roses comeback superbly.a must buy for all roses fans.even extras are good.its class in a tin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Stone Roses, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Made of Stone is a fantastic look back over the history of one of the greatest bands of all time with quite possibly the best soundtrack to any movie ever created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stoned Out Of My Mind, 25 Oct 2013
By 
D. M. Taylor "Dunctay" (Greater Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
The steelbook packaging is very nice indeed collectors should get one now its worth the extra , you get 2 blu ray discs and a dvd of movie only. The movie is a joy to watch the directors love of the band seeps into every frame, there is no muck raking which im glad about but it would have been nice to cover the break up and the year or so without squire as they did carry on for sometime without him and renny , this would have added some balance though its fair to say this was a pretty low point for the band. The film is well crafted i would imagine even people not interested in the band would find something in this film, there is some great early stuff again lacking interviews with early members it does not ponder on these years the focus is the early band rehearsals and the small first gig of the reunited line up at warrington parr hall which is superb the sense of expectation is well handled and palpable in every frame , the real stars here being the gathering fans. Theres plenty of Manchester humour which fans of the band will recognise and detractors would call arrogant the interviews will have detractors squirming me i just laughed out loud at the boys not playing the game. The heaton park footage is superb but would have been nice to see more.
The extras i found somewhat disappointing (sorry shane) whats on there is quality though the overlap in commentery and various director interviews grates and the spike island footage worth the price of the whole package it got some bad press at the time but its clear to see the crowd loved it ..sadly i missed that day and its great to see any clips this is rare stuff i have never seen and was rumoured to exist for years. Qdos for including) but the glaring omissions are band interviews , yep funny interviews with fans are great and the full parr hall and heaton park , i suppose this keeps the myth alive and is more about my greed of wanting to experience the heaton park gig i experienced on my tv (its never gonna be the same but perhaps that day should remain something i relive in fond memories . Stunning work , flawed but what is not ..perfection has to be imperfect. One love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Love !, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
There doesn't need to be an expansive or particularly effusive review here . If you are a fan of The Stone Roses buy this. Simply put, you are watching one of the great bands of the latter part of the 20th century reformed and resurrected (sorry I just had to) in the 21st century . All this is documented by the "British Scorsese" and self confessed Roses fan Shane Meadows. It's filmed with a deft lightness of touch . You don't get ant real revelations about the inner workings of the band and even the most casual fan could probably fill in several of the gaps in their history that aren't mentioned here but the genius of Meadows is that he's let the music do the talking .

The heart of the film is the footage from the band rehearsals as the various band members twinkle and smile there way through smoldering versions of "Something's Burning" and "Don't Stop". Meadows takes you right into the centre of the room and crucially captures the interplay between the band-mates, a raised eyebrow here, a fumbled note there it's all beautifully subtle, you can feel the love there and you'll be watching smiling as the band fall into place. There's not a great deal in the way of drama, a post Amsterdam gig strop by Reni is glossed over as the fan in Meadows doesn't want to step on any toes preferring just to document it from the audiences's point of view . It doesn't really matter though as they make their way to their triumphant return with the Heaton park shows showing that this isn't just about the past but about the future as The Roses prove they are at the very height of their powers. Fools Gold is rolled ,caressed and teased as they toy with the groove making it at times like Can and Squire, Reni and Mani cheekily throw in the odd Chic or Beatles riff. As Ian Brown said at the press conference "this is a live resurrection", he wasn't kidding !!

Product Info :
The Steelbook edition contains the two bluray discs (2x BD50, one the film and one for a few extras) and slightly pointlessly the dvd of the film . Picture quality is generally superb whether in the rehearsals or at the various reformation gigs and the audio in 5.1DTS HD Master Audio is just sublime. The quality understandably drops when archive footage of say Top Of The Pops or the bands own little bits of home video are used but it certainly didn't spoil my enjoyment of the film . You get about 2hrs worth of extras as well as the audio commentary so I'd say it's value for money .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars made of stone;scratches the surface, 27 Oct 2013
By 
B. D. Collier "BC" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
When seminal Manchester band the Stone Roses hired 'This is England's' Shane Meadows to shoot the bands reformation in a new documentary you immediately think of all the lost footage, court cases & break-up tantrums Meadows would be able to bring out in this film & explore. Sadly what we get is a prolonged advert for the Heaton Park re-union gigs and the dizzy excitement of fans queuing up for wristbands for a free gig in Warrington. On the minimal occasions when Ian Brown or John Squire address the conflicts that led to the Roses acrimonious split you still feel that something is being held back-Reni is non-existent in the film except for his stage presence and this is later explained by the fact that he 'never wanted to be more famous'-the Silvertone legal dispute in clouded over, as is the problematic signing to Geffen and the recording of Second Coming-the most exciting footage is not the reformed Roses on stage but the early 'bleached blonde' gigs where Ian Brown looks to be channelling the influence of Manchester's other godlike son Morrissey. Mani seems to be the only member of the band who exudes confidence and utter fear at the reformation but takes everything in his stride. At times Made of Stone seems less documentary and more concert promotion-with all parties less than enthusiastic to uncover the past and look more into the future-Spike Island is hardly mentioned and it falls to the Roses fans to place their music into historical context & each fan exudes passion and love for the Roses and their music-more than the band seems to want to acknowledge. Don't come to Made of Stone expecting a Filth & the Fury warts & all docu-drama. Just appreciate how effortlessly the Roses came back & enjoy the new footage while they are still around...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy looking, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
My brother had this firmly on his wish list for Christmas. I know he is going to love it, nicely presented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yanks, don't bother, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Sorry American Roses pals, you'll have to wait for the US release as these blu-ray discs won't work on American players. And sadly it looks like the US release comes sans any bonus features. Ho hum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD)
19.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews