Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Stone Roses fan
I can remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when I heard the Stone Roses were reforming and were to play 2 (Which later became 3) massive dates at Heaton Park in Manchester. This was a band I had spent all of my teenage years listening to, convinced that I had been born too late to see them perform live.

I bought my ticket for Heaton Park and also...
Published 7 months ago by Josh Deegan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Very little live footage on it just looks like an extended evening news special. This boring documentary is a let down
Boring documentary that should have only been broadcast on tv and not released. Why didnt the stone roses release a full disc of the heaton park gigs, not this miserly release that doesnt even show a full song from the gigs. A misleading release in my eyes with the bare minimum of music that they could get away with. Might as well have been one of those dodgy unofficial...
Published 2 months ago by Adrian C. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Stone Roses fan, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Josh Deegan "Josh Deegan" (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I can remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when I heard the Stone Roses were reforming and were to play 2 (Which later became 3) massive dates at Heaton Park in Manchester. This was a band I had spent all of my teenage years listening to, convinced that I had been born too late to see them perform live.

I bought my ticket for Heaton Park and also saw them live at V Fest at Weston Park. Both times they blew me away.

I can also remember hearing about Shane Meadows plans to release a documentary which focused on the Roses. I am a big fan of Meadows work, particularly the This Is England series, and when I heard that he would be at the helm of a film about the Roses, I knew it would be nothing short of brilliant. And how right I was.

What this film does, is it captures the euphoria only a band like the Stone Roses can bring to a group of people. It celebrates their music, and focuses on just how much it means to their fans. This is definitely a film by a fan for the fans. Expect no revelations, as Meadows even mentions in the film that he refuses to dig dirt on the band. Highlights are the rehearsal footage, and the build up and performances from Warrington Parr Hall. Also, the final 15 minutes - a rousing rendition of Fools Gold - will leave you breathless. This steelbook edition includes bonus performances, and footage from Spike Island, which is worth the money alone.

A great watch for any Stone Roses fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Roses. Made of Stone., 1 Jan 2014
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I bought this for my husband for Christmas and he can't stop smiling and thanking me enough. I think I have made a 50 year old man very Happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank god for Meadows and the Roses!!!, 5 Oct 2013
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
This has to be one of the greatest moments in documentary cinema history. Meadows excels here and also surprises with a technical and emotional master class in filmmaking. A reunion all fans had given up hope on ever happening, not only happens but is captured by the greatest living british director. There is a god!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very little live footage on it just looks like an extended evening news special. This boring documentary is a let down, 29 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Boring documentary that should have only been broadcast on tv and not released. Why didnt the stone roses release a full disc of the heaton park gigs, not this miserly release that doesnt even show a full song from the gigs. A misleading release in my eyes with the bare minimum of music that they could get away with. Might as well have been one of those dodgy unofficial releases that is full of interviews with fans etc. A real let down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top film, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
excellent docu-movie very well filmed only wished i could've got a ticket for the concert if you loved the madchester era of music this is right uup your street
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best band ever, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Totally recommend it for any roses fan,bit more live footage would have been nice,maybe a second disc with an entire concert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Nov 2013
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Brilliant documentary on my all time favourite band. The steel book is a nice little bit of work, top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
A wonderful documentary which is simply a must see.

Meadows is a master of his craft and his love of the Roses shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the Good Old Days!, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
What can I say, other than get the box set.
Great behind the stage look with both Shane Meadows, the Band & the fans.
Plus the concerts & warm up shows , with all the feedback of the Roses & the fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nothing short of epic, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
superb documentary in every conceivable format :) having gone through the turmoil of losing them it was superb to have a keepsake
which shows the heartache we all felt and the amazing buzz when Mani did THAT RIFT !!! oooooh goosebumps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stone Roses: Made Of Stone Steelbook (Blu-ray + DVD)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews