Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Entertainment
With the death of her father, the vengeful Katherine now owns the store. Recalling Moray back to the Paradise she remarks on seeing him, "It was a ridiculous notion to imagine I could marry a storekeeper and be at war with a shop girl". This, a year after being jilted by Moray for the lovely Denise, Katherine has married, picking someone who has the hallmarks of a...
Published 7 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but not quality.
I enjoyed this series - but it is the poor persons Mr Selfridge. Still - I was say this was better than Downtown Abbey.
Published 3 months ago by Disco Bear


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Entertainment, 16 Jan 2014
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
With the death of her father, the vengeful Katherine now owns the store. Recalling Moray back to the Paradise she remarks on seeing him, "It was a ridiculous notion to imagine I could marry a storekeeper and be at war with a shop girl". This, a year after being jilted by Moray for the lovely Denise, Katherine has married, picking someone who has the hallmarks of a money-grabbing scoundrel written all over him; penniless Tom Weston (Ben Daniels), an ex-soldier, philanderer and no doubt has a wolf-like agenda of his own. He comes with a young daughter, rapidly spoilt. A financier (Adrian Scarborough) and 'cor blimey' no nonsense cook Myrtle (Lisa Millett) have joined the cast.

The second series is pure theatrical drama (even with an impromptu musical hall performance by the staff), with lavish costumes, excellent acting and a top-notch script. The character interaction involves power struggles, jealousy, personal forays and disagreements with creative ideas being binned. The relationships between the protagonists are something of a roller coaster ride all adding to the entertainment and 'whose move is it next and where will it end up?'. Jonas, meanwhile, alternates from being the wise man to the stirrer. The brief appearances of Moray's friend Clemence Romanis, (Branka Katic), a racy feminist firecracker selling herself and her own firecrackers and putting Tom firmly in his place, livens the store's atmosphere.

This, as with the first series, has been enjoyable escapism with a strong visual and interpersonal emphasis. The acting and production team have been marvellous and although the ending was a bit rushed and convenient, the whole series has been a resounding success and for me compulsive viewing. Hopefully a third series will be commissioned as there is still plenty of fuel in the tank. Wonderful. English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite good enough, 18 Dec 2013
By 
S. A. Bollongino "Bookaholic" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Paradise series 2 is, in my view, not quite good enough. The story continues but it's no longer flowing along as in series 1. In particular the final episode has the speed of an express as it rattles and shakes along to get everyone sorted out and have 100% happy endings for each main character.

There are new characters to make sure all stereotypes are covered and I do mean ALL. Of the core crew Denise is not so likeable any longer, Clara is a shadow of her former self and Sam gets on your nerves. Arthur and Dudley along with Catherine are still brilliant in their roles. Moray is 50/50.

I loved series 1 and although series 2 is as crafted in terms of sets, costumes and music (absolutely worth 4 stars) the WOW factor is lacking. The storylines are disjointed and often touching the surface only, there's a lack of finesse, it's not quite good enough. Maybe this was rushed along to hit the screens before Christmas, there were problems with other commitments of some main characters which would also have had an effect.

If there is to be a series 3 and it could be done, then it should be given the time and care needed. If not then read Zola's book, if you love the Paradise then you will love the book even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save this series, 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
[...]

You will need to vote to keep it. BBC have cancelled series 3. I am heart broken, but have voted and sent my petition.
Colin
love this series. One last chance to keep it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy a grammar book, Mr. Gallagher, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Robert Amsel (Steelton, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I've enjoyed both series thus far. Still I would like to make the following observation. Writer/director Bill Gallagher needs to buy a grammar book and learn how to use subject pronouns and object pronouns correctly. His more educated characters would know that "between he and I" is unacceptable and why. Yet the series is dotted with consistently poor pronoun usage in nearly every episode.

Aside from that, the second series continues where the first left off. Moray has returned from Paris to run The Paradise with Denise's exceptional help. In fact, she consistently puts a lid on her own natural brilliance so as not to deflate Moray's chauvinistic ego. At the same time, Katherine Glendenning's father has died, and she has inherited The Paradise. Her hasty marriage on the rebound to a former soldier, Tom Weston, brings with it his young daughter, Flora, to brighten Katherine's life, while her husband's vile temper manages to darken it. Jonas returns to stir the cauldron of political intrigue as the major characters attempt to take permanent control of the department store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Such a wonderful series!! I find that the second series is better than the first ; not only in terms of plots but also for their complex portaits of ladies, a must see and a must buy!You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous and guilt free!, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Adore this program. I'm amazed, every week, at just how much they fit into an episode in terms of the plot. It certainly hasn't lost momentum, which is always a worry with a second series.

The costumes and sets are divine, the story-lines gripping and the acting is as charming as ever.

Perfect Sunday night telly, without the need for crude language or awkward, hide behind the sofa because you're watching with the parents, scenes.

Paradise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series. It gives an idea of how department ..., 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great series. It gives an idea of how department stores started, how people lived and reacted, how these stores slowly became popular among the higher classes after hesitations 'I don't want to see the butcher's wife wear the same dress as me'. A relaxing love story in the middle. Pettiness or errors on different parts. A very remote idea of the future decline of small shops. Remember, it was set in the Victorian era. Overall, a pleasant and informative storyline about an important period of commercial expansion and the development of fashion often influenced by France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved every minute of this series. The costumes and sets are amazing and sumptuous. The production values are incredibly high as you would expect from a major BBC production. Great, escapist viewing. Would make a fab Xmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Costume Drama with a difference, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Very good production. I watched it on TV and I'm not ready to see it again yet. Bought to send to friends abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 10 July 2014
By 
rachel (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the series, just disappointed there won't be a third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD]
The Paradise - Series 2 [DVD] by Emun Elliott (DVD - 2013)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews